We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family lodging”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Juniper Springs Resort
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Truckee
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good family lodging”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

We recently spent a long weekend at Juniper Springs and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our one bedroom condo was reasonably sized and furnished. The unit was in good condition though clearly not new. The bed was comfortable, the sofa bed was not. The kitchen was adequately stocked and the bathroom was in decent condition, although the shower/bath could have used an overhaul. The ski locker and underground parking were extremely convenient and the check in/check out was very efficient. The greatest appeal of the property, however, is its ski-in/ski-out proximity to the Eagle Lodge next door, site of the Eagle chairlift, ski school, and lift ticket sales.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirk K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    264
    122
    55
    32
See reviews for
373
238
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chino Hills, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel before. The rooms are nice. The sofa-bed is extremely uncomfortable, though.

This time, though, we had to cancel the reservation since the roads that we needed to take to get from Yosemite Valley to Mammoth Lakes were closed due to snowfall. But unfortunately the hotel was entirely unwilling to help out and instead even said they would charge us a $50 cancellation fee ON TOP OF THE FULL PRICE FOR THE ROOM!!!! This is absolutely ridiculous! So, unless you are 150% sure that you will be able to make it there (broken car, sickness, delayed flights, road closures, earth quakes, you name it, taken into account), DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL! There will be NO help waiting for you.

Room Tip: Do NOT expect to sleep comfortably on the sofa bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Markus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juniperresortgm, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
It is rare that the main north/south highway is closed for very long, even in the winter months. Given the fresh snow, I am guessing you were disappointed you didn’t come as well. I hope that you will give us another chance when planning any trips to Mammoth in the future. Please feel free to contact me directly at 760-924-1102 so that we may accommodate your expectations and needs. Have a wonderful season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pasadena
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Arriving at juniper springs brought memories of a nighmarish experience at tamarack lodge..to my surprise, reception was accommodating and very polite. We were allow to go into our room early, and whe we found it too small we're allowed to go from room to room looking for the one that would best suit the family. Remember if u ask they will usually allow u to see the room.

Room 224 too small, clean it has one king, two twins two bath, the layout is cramped. Room 445 large same amenities larger layout.. Just as we were going to take it, a maid advised us of the 451 and 351. Beautiful, large, spacious layout. 451 was occupied but 351 had to be cleaned. We asks and were allowed to stay in the first room until 351 was ready about 2 hours.

Room 351 warm but cool at night. During the day, open door for 15 minutes and temp Is fine.

Downside: no Internet. We work and play and a good connection is extremely important. We have been here two days and the connectivity is terrible. Don't expect to use the wifi.

Skiing has been great. Bottom line, as experienced traveller we know that being polite, asking directly and not assuming that the front desk will always want or think to accommodate a traveller, we ask, we give our expectations and when things don't go well, we express our dislike clearly but appropriately and most of the time, it is handled at the staff level.

We have another two days, update u later..for now, great, place..

Room Tip: Ask..let front desk know u r willing to wait until room is clean.. The larger rooms are cleaned last...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msla_drsonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juniperresortgm, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. I am happy to hear that we were able to relocate you and your family to a more suitable condo. Your experiences related to the check-in process as well as the internet deficiencies will educate us moving forward as we strive to provide the highest quality services for all our guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redlands, California
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We are currently staying at the JS resort. There is an incredible amount of snow, so snowblowers and snow plows are going 24/7, yes at night. We are slope side and hear it through the night, yes this is to be expected at a ski resort so not a huge deal unless you have kids who can't sleep. Fortunately we didn't. Two major problems for us are the horrible internet, and the incredibly HOT rooms. I spoke to the front desk about both and was told; there is not enough bandwidth for the entire town of Mammoth, so if you wanted to work from here forget it, unless you do it mid day when everyone is out on the slopes. The problem with heat; even with heaters all turned to OFF, you still have to open windows (even at night), the desk clerk said that it is because the building is so well insulated and we are on the 4th floor so we get the heat from the units below. On to the good, our room is clean and well kept, no aged furniture or stuffy smells. We have nice beds (2 br) and comfy living room for the three of us, if there were more people along (condo sleeps 6) it would be tough to spread out and relax. Only a sofa and 2 person chair. Bathrooms are really big for such a tiny condo. Kitchen not well equipped. We DO almost all of our own cooking, I wished we would have had pan for baking cornbread, measuring cups and large serving bowls. ALso no saran wrap or foil provided. Pretty bare bones, but we are managing.

I would stay here again and recommend it to our friends because of the close location for skiing. Can walk to lifts. But I will also not take for granted that some of the basic kitchen stuff would be there.

Room Tip: Our upper floor room was HOT all the time. Maybe a lower floor unit would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdmcdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juniperresortgm, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
I really appreciate your feedback and I apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your vacation. We are actively seeking solutions to all of the problems that you addressed. Please feel free to contact the front desk directly in the future and we will ensure that your requests and needs are addressed before arrival. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

This was the second place we stayed at during our trip to Mammoth. The hotel is a very large complex with several different types of accommodations. We checked in at the large main building which is at the end of Meridian Blvd and can't be missed. Our room was situated in the large building behind the main building. To get there take the access road and pull up to a security access point to be able to activate the garage door. It was comforting to know the car was secure while we were there.

Our room was on the 2nd floor which is where the main large lobby was (free wifi access here). The lobby was very nice and also led to a large outdoor terrace looking out to the woods. Also on the same level was a medium sized outdoor pool with BBQ area. The room itself was nice and large with a separate bedroom. There was a kitchenette with nice appliances, utensils, and cookware. In the same large space was a metal/glass dining table with chairs, sofa bed, and TV console with flat screen TV. The bedroom came with a large king bed, a couple of night stands, and a TV console with flatscreen TV. The room also had a small step out balcony.

Now, just like the other hotel we stayed at, the room was unseasonably warm. We closed the shades to help keep out the sun and opened up all the windows, the balcony door, plus the front door to cool down the room because, again, like the other hotel there was no AC or fan. In the evening it was cool enough to finally close the doors and windows.

All in all we had a nice stay, but if we do go back we will try to do it during cooler temps.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beenaround73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
1.8 km away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
795 reviews
4.6 km away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,348 reviews
1.6 km away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
818 reviews
2.4 km away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
2.1 km away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Juniper Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juniper Springs Resort

Property: Juniper Springs Resort
Address: 4000 Meridian Boulevard, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#2 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#8 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,952 - ₹ 19,778
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Juniper Springs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have the Mountains at your Front Door. Juniper Springs Lodge, Sunstone and Eagle Run make up Mammoth's premier ski-in/ski-out resort. Located at Eagle Lodge and Eagle Express chairlift, these studio to three bedroom condos and townhomes offer an alpine getaway that is ideal for families. Juniper Springs Resort was recently named one of Conde Nast Traveler's top 50 ski resort properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Juniper Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juniper Springs Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Juniper Springs Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Juniper Springs Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing