We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely book on-line for best pricing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Juniper Springs Resort
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed two nights here. It was the first time visiting Mammoth Lakes and going through the village, the hotel is at the very end of the street and looks very stately and impressive! (nice curb appeal) Checking in was simple and easy. I overheard the room rate given the man checking in earlier and I have to say I was very glad I used an on-line website as my rate was less! The underground parking is great and I was able to find parking close to the elevators. We had a one bedroom overlooking the front of the hotel, with a king size, plus a sofa bed. It was ample for the four of us. The kitchen was fully equipped with dishwasher, sink, (soap for dishwasher and handwashing was also available) microwave, electric oven, pots, pans, utensils, plates, bowls, cups and glasses, and even had cotton kitchen towels and paper towels. There is an eating area with full size table and four chairs. Also there was a coffee machine with reg and decaf packets of coffee, packets of cream, sugar, sugar substitute and a fully functioning refrigerator/freezer (with ice cube trays) large enough for week-long vacations. The Vons is only 5 minutes away in town. This was a definite plus! The bathroom had a hairdryer, Aveda shampoo, conditioner, soap and room underneath the sink to store toiletries for four women quite amply. Two televisions, one in the living room and one in the bedroom, with a balcony off the livingroom. The sofabed was as comfortable as sofabeds go, perhaps a little worn. Also, I think another person could have slept on the adjoining couch too as the room came with plenty of blankets. There was also a fireplace but we did not use it. Heaters were in the bedroom and kitchen, though no air conditioner. I was told a/c was not necessary and even in August it was comfortable w/o one. There are two ceiling fans which we used to get the air moving as it did get stuffy at night. My only complaint is with all the decorations on the walls! I mean, in August there were still two evergreen trees, stuffed animals (Christmas decor), hiking "gear", and even an old gondola seat at the foot of the kingsize bed and other unecessary decor throughout which took up alot of space and made moving around the rooms difficult! I hit my hip on the corner of the dressing table several times trying to get to my side of the bed. I am guessing these are timeshares that are rented out so perhaps these are the personal choices of the rental owners, but the space could have done without all that extra stuff. The staff were pleasant and cordial and ever helpful when it came to offering advise on what to see and do. There is also a free shuttle bus which brings you to town and I think it runs in the evening only. The driver was very kind and friendly. The resort has a small pool and a jacuzzi, too! I can imagine the resort is quite busy during the ski season as the location is excellent with the lifts on-site! Also, there are a few hiking trails behind the resort and of course the one which parallels the street. I saw a golf course nearby and the resort is surrounded by trees which lends a feeling of woodsy outdoors to the ambiance. All in all, a very comfortable place to stay, pleasant and helpful staff, convenient with the kitchen and the lifts, free shuttle bus to town and underground parking. The cons: no restaurant on-site except for a coffee "stand" and the room was cramped due to all the heavy decorating! We did try to use the ironing board but discovered it was broken. I called the front desk who said they would send someone up but that someone never showed up. Luckily it was no big deal. Also there is a resort fee which came to $20/day.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelerlm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augie2009, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2011

Thank you so much for taking your time to write such a wonderful and detailed review! We are happy that you enjoyed all of our features and amenities. You are correct in assuming that each condo is uniquely decorated by its corresponding owner. Next time you stay with us we would be happy to find a condo that offers more modest decorations. Please come back anytime. You would love all the additional amenities we offer during our snowy winters including our on-site restaurant and bar, rental facility, ticket office and lifts. Have a wonderful summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (899)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

634 - 638 of 899 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2011

My family stayed at Juniper Springs for a 3-night stay in Mammoth. The location is pretty convenient to both shopping and restaurants on Old Mammoth Road and Main St, as well as the Mammoth Lakes. The full kitchen was helpful for preparing breakfast for the kids and storing the trout we caught in the freezer. The room was what you'd expect: clean and with a good supply of towels. My kids (2 and 4) liked hanging out on the balcony. The only problem with the room was the lack of Air Conditioning. Summers are pretty hot and the rooms heat up quickly. Two fans were present in the closet and helped a little, but nothing beats good A/C. The evenings are cool, but the door to the balcony had no screen, so we didn't want to leave it open all night.

We were in the rear building, which had its own pool and spa, which was convenient. This pool seemed much less crowded than the main building's pool, so if you want to avoid potential crowds, request the other building. My kids spent every late afternoon in the pool and loved it.

I got the room for $100 a night on Priceline. We stayed at the Village last year at this time and the accomodations at Juniper Springs are comparable, but you are farther away from the restaurants and shops located right in the Village. There are no shops or restaurants on site. at Juniper Springs.

If you get a good rate and want to avoid the Village, this is a good choice.

Room Tip: The pool was less crowded at the rear building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank longnex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augie2009, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2011

Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback. I am happy that you enjoyed your vacation with us! I am glad that you were able to take advantage of our convenient location, well groomed atmosphere, pool area and competitive pricing. In order to experience the best possible service we can offer, please refer to 1-800-Mammoth when making your next reservation with us. Have an incredible summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

This was our first time to Mammoth Lakes and we stayed at Juniper Springs Resort. It was wonderful. We stayed in the 2 bedroom and with two teenagers it was great with 2 bathrooms. The kitchen and living room was like being at home. All the conveniences and just perfect. Had a wonderful time and the hot tubs were great late at night. Nice and warm and beautiful with the snowy mountains in the background. We will be back some day soon! Thanks for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Recommend the 2 bedroom if you have a family. Lot's of room and just perfect for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTravellers20105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juniperresortgm, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2011

We are so happy that you enjoyed your first visit to Mammoth! and thank you for the wonderful review of the resort! Here at Juniper Springs, we strive to create at atmosphere that makes you feel as comfortable as you do when you are at home. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Just completed our 5th visit to Mammoth Lakes. This visit we spent three nights at the Juniper Springs Resort in a one-bedroom condo. The unit (#423) was well appointed, and very clean. The bedroom had a king sized bed that was very comfortable, and the choice of sleeping pillows was good. The living room area had a comfortable sectional sofa, and the sofa bed was fine. The living area was a little short on space, especially when the sofa bed was open. The kitchen facilities were adequate, but we did not cook any meals. The bathroom was of a standard size, but the counter area around the sink was very small. There was underground parking (level 1) that had easy access to the resort's lobby. The only negative was not with the resort, but with the other guests that allowed their young children to scream or talk at the top of their lungs. Overall, the resort was very nice, a step up from the condos at the Summit and much better than the Quality Inn.

Room Tip: Go with a 2-bedroom unit for 3 or 4 adults for more room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Up4aTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juniperresortgm, General Manager at Juniper Springs Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our resort. We are glad that you enjoyed your time while staying here at Juniper Springs. Next time you are in Mammoth, it would be our pleasure to have you come stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

This hotel is very convenient as it is a ski in/ski out property. The rooms are clean and the location is great. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank jennrose17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
1.8 km away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
862 reviews
4.6 km away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,482 reviews
1.6 km away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#3 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
866 reviews
2.1 km away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
530 reviews
2.4 km away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Juniper Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Juniper Springs Resort

Address: 4000 Meridian Boulevard, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#2 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#8 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price Range: ₹ 9,484 - ₹ 36,830 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Juniper Springs Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Have the Mountains at your Front Door. Juniper Springs Lodge, Sunstone and Eagle Run make up Mammoth's premier ski-in/ski-out resort. Located at Eagle Lodge and Eagle Express chairlift, these studio to three bedroom condos and townhomes offer an alpine getaway that is ideal for families. Juniper Springs Resort was recently named one of Conde Nast Traveler's top 50 ski resort properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Juniper Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Juniper Springs Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Juniper Springs Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Juniper Springs Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing