We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fall time stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Austria Hof Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Austria Hof Lodge
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
120 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Fall time stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Stayed here with family as part of our Eastern Sierra road trip. I'm sure this is a nice place to stay during the winter as it has that Alpine chalet feel to it. It was sunny, crisp, and cool during our stay. We never visited Mammoth, which seems like at one point used to be a small town which has now grown up to be a very commercialized ski destination. That said the hotel was located within very close walking distance to a ski lift. It must be noted though that the biggest obstacle, especially for the elderly or physically challenged, is the good number of stairs leading up to the reception on the 2nd level. There is no elevator leading up to the reception lobby.

The lobby is very small and somehow it magically doubles as the continental breakfast area. Apparently the on-site restaurant is seasonal and opens for the high season. We checked in nice and quickly since it was raining when we got there. Once inside we noted that there was no elevator in there as well. Nothing but stairs up to the rooms. As a person still capable of going up those stairs and whose been to Europe a couple of times where this is common, this was not an issue. Again though, elderly or those with some sort of physical restriction should look at other lodging options. The room we stayed in was towards the back of the property which itself was kind of weird. We thought we had a balcony at the rear since there was a door leading to the back. However it appears that once upon a time there was a set of stairs back there, which are obviously no longer there. However the balcony turned out to be a passageway that linked all the rooms on the third floor and was being used as such. So even though there were no stairs back there we had people passing by and using the concrete nubs left over from the stairs to get back and forth from the parking lot. We left the rear door open when we first got there as the room was stuffy almost to the point of muggy since there was no fan or AC. The room had 2 queen beds, a small round table with a couple of chairs, and a wooden TV console with a big old school TV. The beds were quite comfy and the linens quite warm, which is why we slept with the window ever so slightly open. The bathroom was nice and clean and the towels and toiletries were of good quality.

There are probably better, pricier options around town but for the price we had a nice stay.

Room Tip: If possible try to avoid the rooms in the rear so as to not have to deal with people walking by your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beenaround73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    84
    58
    27
    29
See reviews for
64
108
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

I have two overriding memories of this hotel (yes, it's taken 6 months for me to review the last part of our grand tour!). 1) the fact that 20 or so stairs can make you totally breathless at 8200 ft up. 2) the bar. Well.. when I say the bar is memorable, what I mean is that we had a great time there... I think... Ms arad85 couldn't walk for a couple of days, but that's because she fell over going to bed...

This was the only place we had a mixup on rooms on our 3 week travels (we had booked a room with a jacuzzi but got one with 2 double beds). This was the only place we had to query the bill (it was obviously wrong, but still took 30 minutes to sort). It was also the only place we both had hangovers the size of a small Hippo.

Great time!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arad85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

We spent three nights at the Austria Hof in November, 2011. We had one of the least expensive rooms and found it to be more than adequate and quite comfortable (we were there off season). We felt the table and chairs were very comfortable and enjoyed eating our continental breakfast there 2 out of the 3 mornings while enjoying the view. Our room was clean and the bed and linens and furnishings certainly fulfilled our needs. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We love the location. Though the restaurant was closed during our visit, we have eaten there on prior trips to Mammoth and have enjoyed it very much. We have never found it to be more expensive than any of the nicer restaurants in town. We look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RML924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

We stayed over Thanksgiving and found out the hard way that their well advertised restaurant was closed. With most restaurants closed at the Village it was very disappointing to know they were closed until December. As for the continental breakfast it was served in the lobby were there was no proper area to eat. This was ridiculous considering they had an entire dinning area down stairs they could have easily set up. I went to sneak a peek at the jacuzzi in the day time and found a cesspool of dark thick murky water...yikes!
The Austria Hof should have more regard for their guests and spend the extra time to prepare a proper area for meals. No excuse on the false advertising and disgusting jacuzzi.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Mammoth Lakes hotels

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

We stayed here for two nights as part of our west coast tour and on our way to Las Vegas.
The hotel was a little tricky to find in the dark, they seem to have all the street lights dimmed in Mammoth lakes!
We parked up fine, although in peak season you may have trouble finding a spot, and the check in was friendly, unfortunately we got there late and the only room left was at the back with no view.
We paid a little more for a jacuzzi room, and the room was clean and the bed was very comfy.
The bathroom was a little worn in some areas and the jacuzzi wasn't actually that good.
There was no coffee machine or fridge, there was coffee making facilities in the lobby but the water was always cold in the pot, so couldn't have a cuppa at night time.
There was ment to free internet but it only worked once for about 5 mins whilst we were there which was a little annoying.
Breakfast was good, with boiled eggs, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal and lovely home made cakes.

The hotel was very cute like you'd find in the Swiss alps and has a lovely view of the cable cars in the mountains.

Mammoth lakes its self is very pretty and made up of wooden log houses, but its very expensive.
We went to a supermarket and a box of cereal was $8 and a salad was $5, the locals cant do there shopping here surely! but we couldn't find any other supermarkets in the area.
We wanted to save our money for Vegas so didn't fancy paying a fortune in a restaurant so we ate at McDonalds and Subway, not grand I know but otherwise your looking at at least $60 for a meal.
The hotel did offer a 20% discount in their restaurant but that still made the cheapest dish $20.
Next time I think id rather stay in Yosemite and just one night in Mammoth lakes if I was traveling through the area due to the prices and feeling a bit board there with nothing to do at night, we also went horse riding at Reds Meadow whilst there which was about a 20 min drive away and although it was expensive was really enjoyable.

Room Tip: Get there early to get a good room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moomin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
3.4 km away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
1.3 km away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
3.0 km away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
1.5 km away
Alpenhof Lodge
Alpenhof Lodge
#9 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
2.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Austria Hof Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Austria Hof Lodge

Property: Austria Hof Lodge
Address: 924 Canyon Boulevard, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,388 - ₹ 19,981
Hotel Class:3 star — Austria Hof Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Austria Hof Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austria Hof Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Austria Hof Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing