We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Austria Hof Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Sierra Lodge(Mammoth Lakes)(Great Value!)
US$ 134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa(Mammoth Lakes)(Great Value!)
US$ 233
US$ 202
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mammoth Mountain Inn(Mammoth Lakes)(Great Value!)
US$ 169
US$ 136
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mammoth Creek Inn(Mammoth Lakes)(Great Value!)
US$ 173
US$ 141
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Juniper Springs Resort(Mammoth Lakes)(Great Value!)
US$ 238
US$ 214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 254
US$ 228
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Village Lodge(Mammoth Lakes)
US$ 265
US$ 214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpenhof Lodge(Mammoth Lakes)(Great Value!)
US$ 136
US$ 132
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel(Mammoth Lakes)(Great Value!)
US$ 219
US$ 184
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edelweiss Lodge(Mammoth Lakes)(Great Value!)
US$ 174
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (288)
Filter reviews
288 results
Traveller rating
60
97
64
31
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
97
64
31
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurthot tubthird flooroutdoor jacuzzioff seasondvd playerwalking distanceking roomcoffee potfree breakfastski lockersbit datedski tripfull kitchenslopeslodgefireplace
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 288 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I have two overriding memories of this hotel (yes, it's taken 6 months for me to review the last part of our grand tour!). 1) the fact that 20 or so stairs can make you totally breathless at 8200 ft up. 2) the bar. Well.. when I say the bar is memorable, what I mean is that we had a great time there... I think... Ms arad85 couldn't walk for a couple of days, but that's because she fell over going to bed...

This was the only place we had a mixup on rooms on our 3 week travels (we had booked a room with a jacuzzi but got one with 2 double beds). This was the only place we had to query the bill (it was obviously wrong, but still took 30 minutes to sort). It was also the only place we both had hangovers the size of a small Hippo.

Great time!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arad85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We spent three nights at the Austria Hof in November, 2011. We had one of the least expensive rooms and found it to be more than adequate and quite comfortable (we were there off season). We felt the table and chairs were very comfortable and enjoyed eating our continental breakfast there 2 out of the 3 mornings while enjoying the view. Our room was clean and the bed and linens and furnishings certainly fulfilled our needs. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We love the location. Though the restaurant was closed during our visit, we have eaten there on prior trips to Mammoth and have enjoyed it very much. We have never found it to be more expensive than any of the nicer restaurants in town. We look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RML924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We stayed over Thanksgiving and found out the hard way that their well advertised restaurant was closed. With most restaurants closed at the Village it was very disappointing to know they were closed until December. As for the continental breakfast it was served in the lobby were there was no proper area to eat. This was ridiculous considering they had an entire dinning area down stairs they could have easily set up. I went to sneak a peek at the jacuzzi in the day time and found a cesspool of dark thick murky water...yikes!
The Austria Hof should have more regard for their guests and spend the extra time to prepare a proper area for meals. No excuse on the false advertising and disgusting jacuzzi.

    • Service
Thank Fabian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We stayed here for two nights as part of our west coast tour and on our way to Las Vegas.
The hotel was a little tricky to find in the dark, they seem to have all the street lights dimmed in Mammoth lakes!
We parked up fine, although in peak season you may have trouble finding a spot, and the check in was friendly, unfortunately we got there late and the only room left was at the back with no view.
We paid a little more for a jacuzzi room, and the room was clean and the bed was very comfy.
The bathroom was a little worn in some areas and the jacuzzi wasn't actually that good.
There was no coffee machine or fridge, there was coffee making facilities in the lobby but the water was always cold in the pot, so couldn't have a cuppa at night time.
There was ment to free internet but it only worked once for about 5 mins whilst we were there which was a little annoying.
Breakfast was good, with boiled eggs, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereal and lovely home made cakes.

The hotel was very cute like you'd find in the Swiss alps and has a lovely view of the cable cars in the mountains.

Mammoth lakes its self is very pretty and made up of wooden log houses, but its very expensive.
We went to a supermarket and a box of cereal was $8 and a salad was $5, the locals cant do there shopping here surely! but we couldn't find any other supermarkets in the area.
We wanted to save our money for Vegas so didn't fancy paying a fortune in a restaurant so we ate at McDonalds and Subway, not grand I know but otherwise your looking at at least $60 for a meal.
The hotel did offer a 20% discount in their restaurant but that still made the cheapest dish $20.
Next time I think id rather stay in Yosemite and just one night in Mammoth lakes if I was traveling through the area due to the prices and feeling a bit board there with nothing to do at night, we also went horse riding at Reds Meadow whilst there which was about a 20 min drive away and although it was expensive was really enjoyable.

Room Tip: Get there early to get a good room with a view
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moomin21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We stayed one night out of season. The room was nicely decorated and clean and effort had clearly gone into preparation and presentation. The staff were friendly and helpful. The walls however were thin and we could hear next doors bathroom very clearly.

Location wise its probably 2 miles from the centre of town. If your not here to walk or cycle there is not much in the town for you out of season but I can imagine this would be a fun place when full of winter crowds for the ski season.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews