We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cinnamon Bear Inn(Mammoth Lakes)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$ 192
US$ 186
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Village Lodge(Mammoth Lakes)
US$ 304
US$ 286
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Juniper Springs Resort(Mammoth Lakes)(Great Value!)
US$ 239
US$ 225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 350
US$ 325
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 244
US$ 215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarack Lodge and Resort(Mammoth Lakes)(Great Value!)
US$ 316
US$ 295
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mammoth Mountain Inn(Mammoth Lakes)(Great Value!)
US$ 225
US$ 204
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sierra Lodge(Mammoth Lakes)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Austria Hof Lodge(Mammoth Lakes)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (945)
Filter reviews
946 results
Traveller rating
398
372
94
41
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
398
372
94
41
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor poolgas stationmade to order eggswestern hotelscovered parkingfree breakfastfresh fruitbreakfast was excellentwould stay here againmiddle of townmain streetvery nice hotelnice roomone night staybeds were comfortablecoffee makerski area
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 946 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We have not stayed here for 18 years. Spring break and could not stay in our special condo so best western had one room left two double queens newly renovated all rooms sooo nice. our room , a small sofa corner nice new large tv keurigs in room good size frigerator ,microwave large swimming pools. new inside cafe called The resting nomad , free great breakfast buffet wed thru sunday .dinner also. i would stay here again on a 3 day ski trip outside carport parking. you can walk a few doors over to cutest coffee shop next chevron. u can walk all over from across the street if its not snowing alot i love mammoth been coming here summer or winter or and it magical

Room Tip: look online
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Roxie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyEC, Manager at Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Hello Roxie M,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again when you can't get into your special condo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Newly Remodeled Hotel in Mammoth lake. Very spacious rooms. The best fresh fruit breakfast ! Very friendly staff. Do nook further if you are looking at a hotel in Mammoth Lake. Will be back in next visit.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank VGT366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyEC, Manager at Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Hello VGT366
We appreciate your review and for letting others know to not look further. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

Center location, next to gas station, shops, restaurants with free parking. Rooms are newly remodeled, comfortable, no carpet, premium beds and linens. Rooms has fridge, micro, coffee maker with gourmet tea/coffee selection and bottled water. Hotel has nice sized indoor pool, small fitness center and spa. It would be nice to have a sauna for a ski resort town. Complimentary hot breakfast offered with made to order eggs and full breakfast bar. Would be nice to have espresso drinks, but next door there is a small gourmet Cafe. There is a hotel restaurant which offers 10% discount to hotel guests, however not much ambiance, no music, or great menu to speak of, so we dined at one of the best gourmet restaurant in Mammoth: Petra's restaurant just accross from the Village complex.

Lobby was under construction while we stayed. This hotel is a good value if you like comfortable rooms, however if you are looking for a great lobby with a fire place, or a nice bar and restaurant, you would be disappointed. However this hotel is close to all.

Room Tip: top floors has view.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorisz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyEC, Manager at Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Hello dorisz,
Thank you for your thorough review and for staying with us during your recent visit to Mammoth. We are working on the ambiance in the restaurant and hope for that space to become more of an experience soon. While I do personally like the food in The Resting Nomad, it is indeed different that that of Petra's which I agree is an awesome place to dine as well. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Reported problem with room heating system on 1st night of stay. Hotel’s response was to just switch it off. Heating would either blast high temp or nothing at all. Stayed with 3 young kids and the nights were awful (either far too hot or too cold). Forced to bring sleeping bags from car to keep kids warm as room too uncomfortable to sleep in with heating on. Ice on the windows in the morning and staff didn’t really care about the issue. Hotel given the opportunity to fix this but did nothing. Very unhappy.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank cd95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyEC, Manager at Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Hello Craig,
I'm sorry to be seeing here that you didn't really understand how we corrected the wall thermostat not regulating well so that you would have the temperature that you desired. On the two occasions that maintenance came to visit your room, they showed you that in order to control the rooms temperature you now had to use the controls on the unit itself instead of the wall thermostat. It sounds like you didn't understand this information and unfortunately didn't manage your rooms temperature during an extremely cold time here in the Eastern Sierra. I hate that you had this experience during your visit with us but appreciate that you chose us while you were here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed in a few in the US now, and they all seem of a similar standard.

Our room had been updated and was pretty nice. It had a good TV, with a few decent channels, although it was missing a few digital channels (no Discovery or Nat Geo for example).

The bed was modern but hard and seemed to have 1 dollar pillows accompanying it - these were small and lumpy.

The bathroom was large and in good order.

The room, as many of the cheaper hotels suffered with a paper-thin ceiling. Every morning we were woken with heavy ceiling noise from above.

Breakfast was very basic, but did.

The hot tub and pool area was pretty good with towels and changing area. The tub was hot and powerful and the pool was clean, however it was all let down by clumps of hair all over the floor. A basic daily clean could have fixed this - unfortunate.

It was well located for restaurants and bars but a good walk to the gondola. Not a walk I would undertake in snowboarding boots unless I had to, and never in ski boots.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank London_Scotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmilyEC, Manager at Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Hello
We appreciate you staying with us during your recent US visit. We appreciate your feedback and wanted to let you know that we do understand about the pillows and they are on our short list of next items to replace. I will also make sure to have housekeeping clean the floors surrounding the hot tub and pool daily instead of the bathrooms daily and the surrounds every other day. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews