We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location - ideal for Yosemite.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Village Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Village Lodge
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Great location - ideal for Yosemite.”
Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed in a one bedroom condo for two nights and found the room to be really comfortable with all the amenities we expected. The Village Lodge complex comprises bars, restaurants and shops and everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful. The inn is well located for exploring Yosemite and the various lakes dotted around the area. There is also a gondola ride up Mammoth mountain that is worth a look if you find you have spare time. We ate dinner at the Smokehouse restaurant both nights and really enjoyed it. Try to get there before 9 pm and sit outside near the fire pit as the acoustics inside are not ideal for a relaxing meal.
The only downside about the stay was the free Internet was discontinued early on the morning of our stay. We had wanted to check on our next destination and look for points of interest along the way. When we approached the front desk manager about this at check out he said they were changing the code and unfortunately that was what had caused the cessation of service. He did eventually offer us the new code for the remainder of our stay so they did rectify the problem.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank andyn656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MammothMountain, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Thank you for your feedback and thank you for staying with us. We sincerely hope that you will visit us once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    261
    70
    37
    20
See reviews for
376
224
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We came to Mammoth Lakes on the way back from Yosemite to Las vegas. After roughing it hiking for a few days. The Mammoth Lodge was a treat. Nice big 2 bedroom suite. Staff very friendly and walk out the doors to a variety of restaurants and shops.

Seems to be more of a great winter ski destination. But we took the free trolly through town and got off and on at varies locations. Nice Perk to see the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8amy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MammothMountain, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and all the natural wonders of the Eastern Sierra. Thank you for your kind comments and we hope you have the opportunity to visit us during the winter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Stayed in a studio and an one-bedroom suite. Very clean, well stocked with kitchen supplies. Fireplaces are turned off for the summer (kinda bummed on that) and the room(s) has a portable A/C which sufficed.

Front desk staff, notably Michelle, were excellent considering they were short staffed. All other staff from maintenance to maids were friendly and accommodating when the need arised.

Both nights had rooms facing the outside of the establishment, so no problem with noise.

The following are improvements that could be made:
Elevators can be slow
Pool towels need to be renewed
There were only 16 poolside lounge chairs.

Would certainly recommend this place to others.

Note: Avoid Gomez's mexican restraunt in the courtyard. See my review.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scapegoat51b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MammothMountain, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Thank you for sharing your experiences, you suggestions for improvement are very important to us. We hope that you will make The Village Lodge your home base for future vacations with family and friends. Warn regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

The Room and bathroom are outdated, Beds not comfortable, incredible smell in the hall. Staff had very limited knowledge about the area, gave us wrong information about Yosemite. I would not recommend it to family or friends.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephentown, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

We stayed at The Village Lodge July 13-20. If you want to be at the center of things, this is the place to stay since it's closer to town and has a bunch of restaurants and shops. It was a great location for us to travel to our hiking destinations (Toulumne Meadows, Rock Creek, Lundy Canyon, Rainbow Falls/Devils Post Pile) HOWEVER, if you want to be on the quieter side of things in the summer, do not stay on the side that faces the pool if you'd like to have your windows open while you sleep. The pool itself shuts down around 10pm, however we found many folks congregated around the fire pits near the pool at night and they tended not to be quiet. There was a stand alone A/C unit in our suite, but I noticed that not every room had one (guess it depends on the owner having one installed?) Anyhow, housekeeping was great, the suite was well stocked with pots and pans, cooking utensils, plates, cups and eating utensils. We were very happy with our stay and the hiking was awesome!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MammothMountain, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We were very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and appreciate your kind comments regarding our hotel and employees. We look forward to seeing you again at The Village Lodge ~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
4.6 km away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,293 reviews
0.2 km away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,064 reviews
1.9 km away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#5 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
2.4 km away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
508 reviews
0.2 km away
Alpenhof Lodge
Alpenhof Lodge
#9 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Lodge

Property: The Village Lodge
Address: 1111 Forest Trail, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,087 - ₹ 45,092
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Village Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start and end your day in the heart of Mammoth. The Village's luxurious condos are literally atop all the fun. Stay here to be at the center of town, where there's gondola access to the slopes and loads of dining and shopping options. Rated one of Conde Nast Traveler's Top 50 Ski Resort Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing