We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Rip-off daily resort fee, very noisy, over-priced” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Village Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Village Lodge
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Rip-off daily resort fee, very noisy, over-priced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

WARNING to ALL visitors to Mammoth that stay at one of their "Mammoth Lodging Properties" (Mammoth Mountain Inn, etc), they have a "hidden" $20-$25 daily "resort fee" that is a scam. You cannot opt out of this fee, and you get nothing for it. They do this on purpose because a lot of people to carefully check. If it was INCLUDED in just the regular daily fee, I bed 50-75% would NOT stay there. Management at these properties will make excuses that you get free local calls (um, EVERYONE has a cell phone people!) or workout room. Who wants to work out after skiing all day in the winter? The "package deals" (lift and lodging) are often WAY more expensive than if you just stayed at another motel/hotel in town and paid lift ticket separately. This place is very noisy, drunks, screaming kids, delivery trucks, snow plows scraping by, bad parking.

Room Tip: Don't stay here period. Noisy drunks, screaming kids, noisy traffic, noisy snow plows, noisy de...
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank SkiSandLLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

751 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    255
    69
    37
    20
See reviews for
363
219
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

This is a review of our experience of trying to book this hotel from Australia. I generally prefer to deal directly with the hotel when booking, rather than going through a booking agency. I have googled everything I can think of to try to find the hotel's website and have looked at all the hotel booking sites - this hotel does not appear to have its own website and I'm not able to find even an email address or phone number so that I can contact them with questions prior to booking. All of the booking sites seem to be only offering non-refundable options (ie lose first night's accommodation fee regardless of when you cancel!) but there is contradictory information on these sites (eg they will say "free cancellation" then something different in the fine print). A bit frustrating and I think we're going to have to book elsewhere for this reason. So - can't review the hotel itself, unfortunately - just this one component of it.

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank OzSwaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cucamonga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2011

We (2 adults and 3 children) stayed at a 2 bedroom condo at this village before Thanksgiving (was snowing on the day of arrival). The condo was on the 5th floor and not bothered by any noise. It was very spacious, clean, and well furnished and had a well equipped full kitchen. The decor, although not luxurious, but up to date with granite counters. We had a part view of the village and pool from our balcony. The kids enjoyed playing the snow at the village. The underground parking was easy to access. The condo was worth ~$250/night for it's location and size. However, the only downside was that the gondola to the ski mountain was not open yet, so we had to drive and pay for more parking (gondola was scheduled to open in Dec). The stay was comfortable and felt like home. We would like to return again, but winter season rate is too high.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RanchoTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

We visited for one night, in the offseason (AUG) so the service was a bit inferior, w/ trainees handling check-in/out, and the a/c in the room not quite up to the task however this place is amazing. It must be magical in the winter time. I would revisit.

Room Tip: Anything with easy access to the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alxc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augie2009, General Manager at The Village Lodge, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
Thank you for taking your time to comment on your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you feel like you experience with our staff was inferior. We are currently working on improving our training techniques and work hard to encourage our employees to show the same level of service year-round, not just during our busy season. We look forward to welcoming you back this winter when you will surely experience a magical vacation. Please call us directly prior to booking your reservation, so I may personally oversee your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosby Ravensworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

We had a 1 night stopover - the drive was awful, we'd heavy rain which made the roads slippy when we arrived we were given rooms which were good standard - although the beds were not comfy at all - despite the 'special mattress'. The hotel was hosting Octoberfest - so the atmosphere was great- the sun shone and the room and bed was OK for a 1 night stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ridgy121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
4.6 km away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
0.3 km away
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
#2 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
1.9 km away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#4 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS High Sierra Hotel
2.4 km away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#9 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.3 km away
Alpenhof Lodge
Alpenhof Lodge
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Lodge

Property: The Village Lodge
Address: 1111 Forest Trail, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,684 - ₹ 49,168
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Village Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 276
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start and end your day in the heart of Mammoth. The Village's luxurious condos are literally atop all the fun. Stay here to be at the center of town, where there's gondola access to the slopes and loads of dining and shopping options. Rated one of Conde Nast Traveler's Top 50 Ski Resort Properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Village Hotel Mammoth Lakes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing