We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“You should go!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Warike

El Warike
Ranked #131 of 492 Restaurants in Bradenton
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Grand Bend, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“You should go!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We tried this place based on the tripadvisor recommendations, and we weren't disappointed. Portions are enormous, service is genuinely friendly, and the flavors are authentic. Entrees can easily be shared. Don't judge a book by its cover...part of a dingy strip plaza but top-notch all the way.
You should try it if you're in the Bradenton area. You won't regret it.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank threeqsgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    18
    7
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Pierce, FL
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best "Hole in the Wall" Restaurant Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Ethnic foods are a passion for my wife and I so when we realized that El Warike was Peruvian and not just another Mexican restaurant, we were sold. Once we got there, the charm began. The restaurant is small but very nicely done. Authentic music playing overhead was a nice touch. As soon as you sit down, a plate or roasted large corn kernels is served with and excellent side sauce. Each meal we asked about was described in detail. We asked for recommdations and received some of the best food we have enjoyed in quite a while. Better than what we got on our trip to Annanmaria Island the next two days, I might add. Treat yourself to something new and delicious. Be adventurous. This one will not disappoint you. Closes earlier than some during the week.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandysman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlebury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
109 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Simply Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

We dined here last Friday night because of the reviews on TA. It was terrific. We hadn't ever tried Peruvian food (with the exception of the chimi sauce) and were very pleasantly surprised. The menu isn't extensive but the few dishes we tried were excellent. A couple of apps, the tamale, a grated potato stuffed with a spicy ground beef, and a fish dish (sea bass-like) and shrimp marinated in a chimichuri (sp?) sauce. All were terrific. Even the plantains were wonderful.
We also met the owners (chef and hostess / server) who were very, very nice people.
We will definitely return when we're in Bradenton next winter.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank seyhey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Augusta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Big disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

After reading the reviews, I was excited to try this restaurant. I Love all kinds of ethnic foods. The corvina civeche was chewy and under marinated. It was not eatable. The calamari was covered with marinated onions and was thus not crispy. My husband's grilled corvina was nicely grilled but the texture was not firm. This is the only time in my life that I left most of the food on my plate.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank judyN_Augusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Lovely little gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

Don't be put off by the exterior. The interior is much nicer, the owners and staff really want to please and are happy to discuss the cuisine and culture of Peru with you. The food was well prepared, served in a timely manner and quite good. It's been a while since we've been there but it is on our list of "must go backs".

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ImLindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Warike also viewed

Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
 
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
Bradenton, Southwest Gulf Coast
 

Been to El Warike? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing