We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more than expected. ”
Review of Grapes and Hops

Grapes and Hops
Ranked #69 of 475 Restaurants in Ventura
Cuisines: Wine Bar
Restaurant details
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Dog friendly: the street sign indicating dog friendly, the covered patio dog friendly, and the staff dog friendly. Dog biscuits and water were offered to our dogs.

The menu is more than listed. We had paninis Wirth a salad, a beer, and a Sangria (fruity but not overly sweet). The locally made chocolate chocolate cheesecake was served with fruit and nuts (Proseco and red wine).

The staff is knowledgeable about pairings. Awesome happy hours!

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

We sat on the patio with a view of shoppers, doggies, drive-bys and people out for a Sunday stroll in this cute near beach community. Although they were out of some cheese and wine we were interested in ordering, we still enjoyed our meat, cheese and wine afternoon. Our English waitress was fun and made our afternoon better.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Beachtravelerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016

This was the loveliest evening on our recent road trip from SF to LA.
Friendly well informed service ... Great local wine , beers and eats. Stop in for an easy relaxing evening.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SueC106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

3.5
Overall, a decent place for wine. The wine & beer list was solid but not extensive. They offer cheese & charcuterie as well as paninis. Everything was reasonably priced.

When I asked our server/ bartender about the wines, he didn't really know & offered tastings instead. Tastings are great but I think for working at a wine & beer place, he should know something about the wines. He also took a while to get back to us to order food, so we ended up ordering with someone else.

We ordered 2 paninis which were good when we had them but I ended up getting sick that night from one of them. My honey did not get sick so maybe it was just me.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Claudia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2016 via mobile

I really needed a glass of wine after a long day of meetings so we drove by this place and sat on their outside patio. The wine was great! We had the dates stuffed with goat cheese and wrapped in prosciutto and the grilled sundried tomato & cheese sandwich. Both were good... and then an old man with a walker came by and started entertaining us with jokes. He looked like Mickey Rooney. He was so good he should be paid to walk up and down the street to entertain all! There were many other fun characters to watch but our little 'walker man' made our day! Yes, we would come back here again and again!

Date of visit: May 2016
Thank HoneylovesTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grapes and Hops also viewed

 

Been to Grapes and Hops? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing