We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Stench from the Harbor was Unbearable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
471 reviews
347 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 561 helpful votes
“The Stench from the Harbor was Unbearable”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

This is an old wing of a Sheraton Hotel converted to an HIE with a tiny unappealing lobby and rooms with balconies that are unusable because of the odor coming from nearby fetid water.

Our room had a bland decor, but it was a good size and it was comfortable enough.

In addition to the stink, another indignity is an impossible-to-understand $10 fee for parking when parking a the nearby Santa Barbara downtown HIE is $9.

We would not have stayed except that our flight was delayed and we arrived late in the evening tired from a long day of travel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wonderfulworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear Wonderfulworld,
I apologize that your unexpected stayover at our property was uncomfortable for you. The property was the suite wing of the resort by us, which is why we have such a wonderful location overlooking the Harbor. Thank you for telling about your experience here. The occasional off shore wind can happen. We are planning to expand and redo, so come and visit again. We will wow you. Happy Traveling, Catherine Stevens, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    128
    45
    28
    14
See reviews for
67
114
27
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We loved our room. Full kitchen, Harbor view, separate sitting area. Only downfall, printer wasnt working in lobby.

Room Tip: Harbor front suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ITravel4Business_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear ITravel4Business,
Thank you for telling us you had a pleasant stay in Ventura. It is always so nice when we have made someone comfortable and happy. I am sorry the printer wasn't working. We have conquered the issue and it is in full operation. Happy Traveling! Catherine Stevens, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I've stayed at this hotel about 5 times. The only thing that keeps me going back is access to the harbor and beach and the stunning harbor view.

The rooms look clean but don't necessarily feel clean (50% of the time)
Beds are very very firm
The bathrooms have a window that is basically a hole with a fan/filter metal looking thing covering it. In the winter it is freezing. I never feel like I have privacy while in that bathroom
The fridge is typically smelly
The lobby is non existent for the most part

The front desk staff is really ....really.... really....POORLY TRAINED
The check-in process is neutral on a good day. A warm greeting and a helpful attitude is mostly non-existent.
e.g. We noticed that a guest prior to us had open the bottled water in the room (a $2.50 charge) drank some of it and put the hotel price tag back on it. When I took it to the front desk to let them know what happened the staff at the front desk stopped just short of accusing me of drinking the water. It was very uncomfortable to stand there while they "speculated" on what they should do about this very suspicious situation.

On a positive note- the housekeeping staff is good to go!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine S, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
Dear LC,
Thank you for your review. It is very distressing to us that you have had unpleasant stays at our property. I have already spoken to staff in regard to your comments. We are always trying to achieve the best standard and it appears we failed you. Thank you for taking the time to tell us. We have a wonderful location and are in the planning stages of a beautiful expansion. I know you will like it. Next time you are with us, please let me know. Catherine Stevens, Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berthoud, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

First we weren't greeted courteously by the clerk, actually we weren't greeted at all. "What's your last name?" Handed us 2 keys and a parking slip. No suggestion on where to park or where the room was, just went back to doing nothing. Found the room - Booked a king online and were given a queen with the worst odor. Wouldn't change our room or send air freshener. Kept insisting it was a king. A very bad experience. By far the worst interaction with a hotel I have ever had.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura, CA
Level Contributor
265 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

WHile the house was being tented for termites we needed a place to stay with our two dogs and the Holiday Inn Express fit the bill. Not too far from the 101 freeway, right on the yacht harbor and they had suites. The hotel used to be part of the Four Points Sheraton at one time but the buildings are separated by a road. Very small lobby with very friednly staff. We choose a suite and landed one on the first floor facing the harbor. Walking into the suite you enter a newly tiled hallway. On the left is a nice kitchenette with a cook top, small fridge, coffee maker and microwave. Plenty of pots and pans, dishes etc if you wanted to cook. On the right is a large closet and the bathroom. Bathroom is huge with large jacuzzi tub, full shower and nice sink area with a vanity with a small seat for the ladies. Walking further down the hall you enter a large room with vaulted ceiling. Huge king bed, dresser with 32 inch flat screen, desk. At the end of the room there is floor to ceiling windows in a vee bay window type set up. Scrren allow looking out but passers by cannot see in. The carpet in the main room appears new. Everything was very clean and tidy. This was a very big room and comfortable for all of us. The Holiday Inn Expresses usually do not have a restaurant but this one works with the Sheraton to offer a full menu for room service. We were also offfered a two for one drink or dessert coupon for the Sheraton restaurant.

Parking is plenty but they do charge $10 a night which is a little unusual for Ventura. The offer a full breakfast of eggs, bacon biscuits and an interesting pancake machine makes fresh pancakes. The cinnamon rolls were also goo and they had coffee, juice etc.

All in all this was a very nice hotel in a wonderful area of Ventura. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CWS55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James B, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ventura hotels
4.6 km away
Crowne Plaza Ventura Beach
2.9 km away
Ventura Beach Marriott
Ventura Beach Marriott
#5 of 23 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
4.5 km away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Ventura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Ventura Harbor
2.7 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 23 in Ventura
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
3.8 km away
Wyndham Garden Ventura Pierpont Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor
Address: 1080 Navigator Dr, Ventura, CA 93001-4365
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Ventura
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Ventura
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,856 - ₹ 14,867
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly designed Holiday Inn Express Hotels & Suites Ventura Harbor. Once you visit you'll dream of coming back! Rejuvenate yourself on our breathtaking coastline views, attentive staff with an 'at your service' attitude & wide array of amenities for your comfort and enjoyment. Nestled between Majestic Mountain Ranges and the Sparkling Blue Pacific Ocean we are the destination you have been searching for! We are located at 1080 Navigator Drive Ventura, CA 93001. Just an hour up the coast from Los Angeles, (halfway between Malibu & Santa Barbara). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ventura Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Ventura Harbor
Ventura Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Ventura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing