We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good budget hotel---reception man not friendly--unusual for USA”
Review of Abbey Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abbey Inn
Ranked #2 of 22 Hotels in Cedar City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Good budget hotel very clean and not in anyway tatty, breakfast excellent, I would have rated as excellent but for the man working at reception desk, on the occasions I spoke with him he was not friendly at all, for me this was a first as I have always found Americans exceptionally friendly/caring.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sango61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Thank you for taking a moment to review our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay but sorry that you did not find the front desk clerk to be very friendly. To us at the Abbey Inn, it is very important that our staff offer exceptional service and care to our guests. It looks like we have an opportunity to refocus our efforts. Thank you for staying with us at the Abbey Inn, and enjoy your travels. Come back and see us if you're ever in Southern Utah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (924)
There are newer reviews for Abbey Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

718 - 722 of 924 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

We were peasantly surprised when we stayed at the Abbey Inn the price was reasonable & it came with a cooked breakfast. We stayed here while visiting Bryce Canyon although it was quite a distance from the park it was more than worth it as the room was beautifully appointed. It was impeccably clean with 2 queen beds that were unbelievably comfortable. The pillows were also good quality. The rooms had a microwave , refigerator, air con, LCD TV , Wifi & a great shower.The staff were very friendly & helpful. Breakfast was very nice & included eggs, sausages,toast ,cereal, juice, oatmeal ,biscuits & fruit.It was handy to the highway & cafes & takeaways.I would highly recommend a stay at the Abbey Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stellamay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2012

Thank you for staying at the Abbey Inn, for extending an extra night, and for sharing your experience with others. Our goal is to have our guests feel as comfortable as they do at home. We are very glad that you enjoyed the various amenities of our hotel. Please come back and see us if you are ever in Southern Utah.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Stayed here just 1 night with the intention of exploring Cedar Breaks nearby. Unfortunately a rock slide closed the road around Cedar Breaks, so we explored the northern part of Zion on our way into Cedar City. I honestly booked this hotel for it's indoor pool as I wanted a nice place to relax and to split our trip between Zion and Bryce. Luckily, everything else about this hotel was just as nice. Very clean rooms with modern decorations...we relaxed for the entire evening in front of the TV as the bed was so comfortable. Service was nice, check-in & out were very quick, and the desk staff gave us plenty of suggestions on places to eat in town...and even gave us personal favorites as we tried to narrow down exactly what we wanted to eat. The breakfast was spot-on, plenty of options of things to eat, and staffed by very friendly and attentive women. Of course, the price was also incredibly cheap for all of these nice features, so, I would recommend this place to anyone coming through Cedar City.

I should also note that we are pretty casual travelers, but, this was our honeymoon trip and the Abbey Inn was the most comfortable place we stayed throughout our trip.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience at the Abbey Inn. We are so happy that you enjoyed the property, amenities, and staff. Hopefully, the rock slide will be cleared soon and traffic will be able to get up to Cedar Breaks through Hwy 14. Early spring is a great time to visit Southern Utah and the national parks because the area is free of crowds, the weather is warming up, and the prices, like you mentioned, are very competitive. We hope you will come back and see us when you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

What a great hotel, located near plenty of restaurants just off the freeway.
The staff were so helpful at check in making sure we had brochures and directions for dinner and attractions. The room was beautifully decorated and furnished and we had a great nights sleep.
Breakfast was a delight.it was in a house just beside the hotel where the hospitality was wonderful as was the breakfast.
If you're heading for cedar city don't stay anywhere else but the Abbey inn.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Practically2Perfect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thank you for your recommendation. We would love to have everyone stay only at the Abbey Inn! Thank you for mentioning our hard working staff. They are a key contribution to our guests' satisfaction and therefore the hotel's success. We hope that you will come back and see us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

nice hotel for the money ($69.00) also came with breakfast which was quite good can see off the I-15 freeway

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aks472
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stuckett, General Manager at Abbey Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Thank you for taking a moment to review our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We always try to make our rates competitive according to the season, and it looks like you stayed at a great time. No matter the season, we honor AAA, AARP, senior, and business discounts. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cedar City hotels
1.1 km away
Best Western Plus Cedar City
Best Western Plus Cedar City
#1 of 22 in Cedar City
394 reviews
1.1 km away
Best Western Town & Country Inn
3.1 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cedar City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Cedar City
3.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Cedar City
3.5 km away
SpringHill Suites Cedar City
SpringHill Suites Cedar City
#5 of 22 in Cedar City
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Inn

Address: 940 W 200 N, Cedar City, UT 84720-2304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Cedar City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Cedar City
#1 Family Hotel in Cedar City
#5 Business Hotel in Cedar City
Price Range: ₹ 6,103 - ₹ 10,472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Abbey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey Inn hotel located in Cedar City, Utah is conveniently located between Zion National Park and Cedar Breaks National monument. We proudly offer 83 new luxurious rooms & suites each complete with cable television with HD channels and free high-speed Internet access. Each morning we have a complimentary full hot breakfast buffet including scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, waffles, fresh fruit, biscuits and gravy, potatoes, and so much more. Additional amenities include an indoor swimming pool, spa, fully equipped exercise facility, 42 inch flat panel TV, Microwave, Fridge, Coffee Maker, and Iron/Ironing board. Our staff will go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Abbey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Cedar City
Abbey Inn Cedar City, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing