We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location but.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
Ranked #295 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 30 April 2012

The best thing of this hotel is its location. The staff is not very gratefull and sometimes rude. The breakfast is a normal continental breakfast and the breakfast room is veryyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy tiny for a lot of people.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jrr150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,031 - 1,035 of 2,596 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2012

Having the Herald Square Subway station less than a block from this hotel is the best selling point,as we used the subway exclusively to get around, and then to have a light breakfast included got us started each morning. Our room the first night was a 2 queen bed room as the king we requested was "leaking". It was small,but not unexpected. However the next 4 nights we were in our king room and had a lot of room,considering we were in New York. Very clean and the staff was professional and helpful. A tip: they have a shuttle to the airport for 33.00(LaQuardia)/pp. But our cab ride was less than 30.00 for both of us.

Room Tip: I would opt for a king size bed for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ozarktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The La Quinta Inn offers a great combination of location and price that is hard to beat in Manhattan. Just a couple of blocks from Penn Station, it is ideally located if you are arriving by train or attending an event at Madison Square Garden. I had reserved a queen room but was upgraded to a king at check in, so I had what is probably one of the larger rooms, and it was spacious by NY standards. Desk, closet, dresser, flat screen TV, bathroom with great counter space and a tub/shower combination. Decor is very standard-issue, and you won't confuse it with a luxury hotel, but the bed was comfortable and everything was clean. Complimentary breakfast offered doughnuts, bagels, croissants, yogurt, coffee, juice, cereal, apples and bananas. Definitely enough to get you going in the morning. All the staff that I encountered were friendly and helpful. One of the maintenance men even found my room key in the breakfast room and came out in the lobby to find me and give it to me. The only small complaint I have is that there was a very heavy fragrance throughout the halls and room.

Room Tip: This block of 32nd Street is lined with Korean restaurants. Or, if you want to pick up quick, fresh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bjs1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Found bug crawling in our bed, we took picture, called mgmt & a man came up to remove bug & he said, "well you're in NY"!! I said well we're traveling from out of state & not use to this. My nephew had bug bites & we took pic of that & showed to mgmt and she said we'll move you to another room. We also wanted to speak directly to hotel mgr but he, Victor, was not there. We were moved to another room but guess what, later that night, there was another BED BUG!!! Esther said well what do you want us to do?? Seriously, we then knew we needed to get out this nasty hotel. We checked around the area but everywhere else was full & had no choice but to stay our last night. But we threatened to post reviews & inform guest b.c. of their lack of concern & apology so we were told by Esther to "get out", she told us to checkout the hotel, this nasty incompetent lady was going to kick us out, two women & two kids. I said are you serious, she said you are threatening to tell guest about bed bugs.. I calmed down b/c we're in NY City with two kids & about to be kicked out in the streets of New York City!!!! Ludicrous & unacceptable from a so called house keeper manager who was in charge b/c Mgr Victor was not there.. The absolute worse experience in my traveling experience. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank VaChar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, Operations Associate at La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Dear VaChar,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry about your experience. Our housekeeping staff is trained to proactively look for signs of bed bugs. If there is any question, the pest control company is called and they come in immediately. When you reported the bug, our pest control company came in as soon as possible and discovered that the bug you thought was a bed bug was actually a tobacco beetle. When we checked your second room but there was nothing found there. Nevertheless, we are very sorry that there was a bug in your room and did offer you a discount for your inconvenience.
We hope you will give us another chance to host you for any future stays in New York City.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We stayed 2 nights, on the 7th floor at this hotel and were very pleased. Can't beat the location. Though rooms were small, it's a historic 1902 building and since we didn't spend much time inside, it wasn't a problem. More importantly ,the room was clean, the bed was very comfortable and we had free wifi and national calling. Breakfast was typical, but the quality of the bagels and pastries was definitely better than what one usually finds at La Quinta. If you are looking to enhance the breakfast, try Paris Baguette on the other side of the street. Many options to getting to the hotel from the airport, but the most economical, which takes an hour, is to take the airtrain from JFK, then subway to Penn Station and the hotel is about 2 blocks away,with a cost of $7.25.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rasa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#308 of 469 in New York City
1,644 reviews
Upper West Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York City Central Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York ...
#355 of 469 in New York City
215 reviews
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#332 of 469 in New York City
2,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hotel @ New York City
The Hotel @ New York City
#320 of 469 in New York City
1,645 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel at Times Square
The Hotel at Times Square
#285 of 469 in New York City
3,582 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#245 of 469 in New York City
2,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan

Address: 17 West 32nd St, New York City, NY 10001-3820
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in New York City
#190 Business Hotel in New York City
#196 Family Hotel in New York City
#196 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 8,401 - ₹ 23,380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Manhattan offers clean and elegant accommodations with free wireless Internet access, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Manhattan Hotel New York City
La Quinta Hotel Manhattan
La Quinta Manhattan
La Quinta New York City
New York City La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing