We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
Ranked #291 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Holly Springs, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value and location”
Reviewed 1 March 2012

My wife and I stayed here 3 nights, February 18-20. King room, spacious, clean, and good hot shower with good pressure. Bed very comfortable, firm but with pillow-top. Breakfast buffet had good selection and was frequently replenished, even up to closing time. Staff was courteous and helpful. Subway entrance at corner, steps away. Herald Square two short blocks away, as is Empire State Building. Can't beat the location. Rate was reasonable, especially for NYC. We definitely will return, and we highly recommend the LQ Manhattan.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STEVEN F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    622
    1,211
    407
    132
    154
See reviews for
610
938
193
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

we stayed here only 1 night because of a bad experience at the Royal Park Hotel and Hostel, and we found them very clean , they even upgraded us to a king sized bed at no charge!
the location is perfect, the staff was friendly and overall it was a very nice place.
we will come back next time we are in NYC !

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashley r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We were very pleased with our stay. Front desk staff were very courteous and helpful. Did not run into any rudeness as other reviewers seem to have. Yes, they are undergoing some renovation I supposed to the front of the hotel, so there is scafolding out front, but it's the same way with half the buildings in NYC. Our room was clean, and larger than we expected. Room with 2 queens and plenty of room to move around in. Pretty much no view as we were on 3rd floor. Our room faced another building and rooftop equipment. But, how much time do you spend in there looking out the window? The only complaint we had was the slow elevators. Quite a wait sometimes and half the time by the time it got down to the 3rd floor, it was full. So, request a lower room floor and use the stairs, or a higher level floor so you can get an elevator before it's full. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kacunningham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, Operations Associate at La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear kacunningham,
Thank you for your kind review. We’re glad you found our staff friendly and the room to be comfortable. We are sorry about the slow elevators. Sometimes, especially during busy morning hours, they can get held up on each floor. We hope this did not inconvenience you.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon!
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We just got back from a three night stay at the La Quinta in NYC. Before we chose this hotel we read the reviews. We decided to take a chance on this hotel since most of the reviews were positive. We had a wonderful stay.

When we first arrived in the morning our room was not ready. It was very convenient to leave our bags with the concierge for the day. We did the same on the day of checkout.

The location of the hotel is two blocks away from Penn station which was very convenient for us. The subway station is also just at the corner. I liked the location of the hotel, I found it easy to get to anywhere we wanted to go.

When we arrived back at the hotel to check in I retrieved our bags while my husband got our keys. He announced to me that we were on the eleventh floor. I said to him, oh no I think you should ask for a lower floor, the reviews said how slow the elevators were. Well we kept our room and had no issues with the elevator at all.

We had a room in the front of the hotel on the scaffolding side. So yes we had no view but going up to the 14th floor bar to see the view of the Empire State building at night made up for it. Except for the garbage truck that passes every night at around 11:30PM, there really was little noise.

We had a room with two queen size beds. I really have no complaints about the room. The truth is we hardly spent anytime in the room so as long as it was clean, we were happy. This was our first time staying in the city. Just being able to come back to our room at some point during the day was a pleasure.

The only small complaint I have is that there was no hot water in the evenings to shower. But we learnt the trick of letting the water in the shower and the tap run for a few minutes and then we had hot water.

The breakfast in the hotel was very nice and there was quite an assortment to chose from. We ate one night at the Korean restaurant next door, Won Jo. We enjoyed the experience of the Korean BBQ. It was very tasty and very plentiful.

We would definately stay at this hotel again. It was a great value.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dabzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This hotel is listed as an amenities driven experience with a good value for the price. No where on the website was there mention of current renovations. The hotel is covered in scaffolding and dark steel mesh. The street is extremely loud with deliveries continuing through the night. The hotel allows smoking, so the non-smoking rooms are the only place you will escape the smell. The staircase allows the smell of smoke on every floor. I received a letter from the management when I checked in which boasted all the facility had to offer. The letter from the manager stating that the hotel was undergoing a "facelift" was posted in between the two elevators on the first floor. Finally, the manager was not available to speak with me about the problems I experienced and I was told that I would have to contact him on Monday at the earliest. I cancelled my 2nd stay there and had to spend vacation time looking for alternative arrangements. Luckily the Holiday Inn has just opened a new, quiet hotel about a block away for roughly $25 a night more. Well worth it!

Room Tip: Spoke with many, those who stayed in the back of the hotel didn't experience the noise that I di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank babs h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, Operations Associate at La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan, responded to this review, 29 February 2012
Dear babs h,
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. The Beaux-arts facade of the hotel is landmarked by the City of New York and in order to maintain the turn of the century details we did need to erect a scaffold. We are pleased to report that it will be coming off next week as the work has been done. We are truly sorry if this inconvenienced you. As far as street noise goes, I am sure you will agree that we cannot control what other establishments in the neighborhood do. The street is known for its 24 hour Korean restaurants and a bustling nightlife. We do apologize if you found that to be too noisy.
Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#322 of 466 in New York City
2,710 reviews
Upper West Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York City Central Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York ...
#372 of 466 in New York City
163 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#308 of 466 in New York City
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Hotel @ New York City
The Hotel @ New York City
#307 of 466 in New York City
1,610 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel at Times Square
The Hotel at Times Square
#288 of 466 in New York City
3,493 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#244 of 466 in New York City
2,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
Address: 17 West 32nd St, New York City, NY 10001-3820
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#193 Business Hotel in New York City
#199 Family Hotel in New York City
#199 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,884 - ₹ 23,112
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Manhattan offers clean and elegant accommodations with free wireless Internet access, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Manhattan Hotel New York City
La Quinta Hotel Manhattan
La Quinta Manhattan
La Quinta New York City
New York City La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing