We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
Ranked #279 of 467 Hotels in New York City
VERMONT
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

room was nice...lobby small.....service good ...after check in...bellhops are your concerge....we went at new years....4 blocks from time square...walk to all.....we liked keens for mouton chops....we have no compaints....

Room Tip: keep your windows closed if you are in back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BOUCH8385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,429 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    600
    1,170
    387
    125
    147
See reviews for
588
898
186
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

DO NOT STAY HERE! The staff was rude and unhelpful. The people next door were screaming and slamming into the walls, and the front desk said that everything was fine bc they called up and was told there wasn't a problem. It was so bad that we almost called 911. The room phone didn't work and they said that it wasn't a hazaard and that they have many other hazaards in the hotel. The staff lied and said that we picked a room by the bar, being in our 50s, this was not a first choice, the music could be heard until after 1:30 am. The management was not helpful and we were forced to call head quarters. This was the worst experience we have ever had at a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linsey c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, Operations Associate at La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan, responded to this review, 18 January 2012
Dear linsey c,
Thank you for your review. We are surprised to hear about the rude, unhelpful staff at our hotel. We are sorry that you were unhappy with your stay and that the music from the bar and the people next to you kept you up so late. Our staff is trained to be as helpful and friendly as possible to ensure that all our guests are happy, we apologize that they were not and will look into the problem.
Thank you.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

LaQuinta Manhattan has a great location with a subway station right at the corner. Empire State building and Macy's are two blocks down walking distance. Times Square was one subway station away. The hotel had clean and spacious rooms for New York standards. Included was free breakfast which was a great start to the day. Also free Internet. Indoor parking across the street gives the hotel a discount of $27.00 per day. The staff was friendly and helpful. There were some funny smells in the lobby coming from Korean restaurants but besides that the hotel is a great value for your dollar!

Room Tip: rooms are quieter at the back side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TGAV742826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

When it comes to customer service, this hotel gets the thumb down from me. I stayed at this hotel from December 24, 2011- December 29, 2011. Every service from check-in to check-out was terrible. Although confirmed, there was no shuttle service from the airport to the hotel. Upon check-in, I found out that there were no fridge or microwave, which were promised at time of booking and the hotel did not make one accessible to the guest. Although breakfast was provided, guests were not allowed to take food to their rooms although there was not sufficient seating available at anytime and breakfast staff was rude and inefficient. Hotel employees were generally rude and not at all helpful. The rooms were too small and not very clean. The television was out for at least 3 of the 5 nights that we stayed and although promised that we would get a refund for the inconvenience, we did not receive it at time of check-out. The front desk clerk named (Tom) was rude to a family member trying to reach us at the hotel. In addition, we were advised that calls within the US were not free when the actually were. The employee working in the business centre was extremely rude. Front desk refused to assist with getting a cab to the airport although we check out at 5 am in the morning. Internet service was weak and there was always problems getting online. I seriously did not feel like I was a paying customer but as if someone was giving this vacation to me but the really did not want to give it. I will never stay at this hotel again and would not recommend it to my worse enemy.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Baronette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
applecorehotelsstaff, Operations Associate at La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan, responded to this review, 9 January 2012
Dear Baronette S.,
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry about your unfortunate experience. We provide microwaves and refrigerators on request, and they are available on a first come, first serve basis. We are sorry that you were not able to receive one. We are also sorry that you did not find sufficient seating in our breakfast room. We do not have any additional space to expand the room, but will try to work on a solution to this problem. We are also sorry that you found the rooms to be small. Though our rooms vary in size, most are typical of what you would find in other Manhattan hotels. Domestic phone calls are free in the hotel, and we are sorry that you were misinformed by our staff. Our staff is trained continually to be as friendly and helpful as possible. In fact, Tom has consistently received very high praise from our customers. Nevertheless, we will look into your complaints about the front desk staff and breakfast staff.
Again, we are truly sorry about your experience. We hope that you will give us another chance on your next trip to NYC.
Liz from Apple Core Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
65 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

I have stayed at three out five of the Applecore hotels in New York City and this is one of my favorites. It is perfectly situated on 32nd St between 5th and 6th avenue in Korea Town just steps from a subway station. It takes just a few minutes to get to Rockefeller Center, Times Square and anywhere else you might want to go. My cousin lives way up on the west side and it is easy for me to get to his neighborhood by subway. It is a tourist mecca because it's right around the corner from the Empire State building and Macy's is practically across the street, but even if you don't plan to do "touristy" stuff, it's exceptionally convenient.

If you think you can't afford to visit New York during the holidays, this is the place for you. It's not fancy and could definitely use some refurbishing, but if you simply want a clean, safe, convenient place to stay, La Quinta is a great. As others have said, the lobby is small and you can smell cooking odors from the restaurant next door, but there are many pros: Free computers downstairs, free breakfast (cereal, breads, fruit, and boiled eggs), free in-room safe, free wi-fi, etc. Also, there are a number of very inexpensive places to eat nearby - even late at night. Finally, if you're a woman traveling alone, this area feels very safe and comfortable.

They have new mattresses since I stayed here in 2009 and they're very comfortable (memory foam). Rooms also have flat screen TVs (not that you'll spend much time watching it with all there is to do nearby) with lots of channels.

This is not the Plaza, so if you are looking for a fancy, romantic place to stay, this isn't the place, but again, if you want to enjoy all that NYC has to offer during the holiday season, the La Quinta is very affordable.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street will be noisy due to traffic and lots of bars/restaurants nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rbr0wn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#315 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,624 reviews
Midtown
Ramada New York/Eastside
Ramada New York/Eastside
#298 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#305 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York City Central Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York ...
#392 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Midtown
Wolcott Hotel
Wolcott Hotel
#252 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,232 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel at Times Square
The Hotel at Times Square
#287 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan
Address: 17 West 32nd St, New York City, NY 10001-3820
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#195 Business Hotel in New York City
#201 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#202 Family Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,516 - ₹ 22,947
Hotel Class:3 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan 3*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Quinta Manhattan offers clean and elegant accommodations with free wireless Internet access, a fitness center, a 24-hour business center, complimentary continental breakfast, free calls within the US and a lot more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Manhattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Manhattan Hotel New York City
La Quinta Hotel Manhattan
La Quinta Manhattan
La Quinta New York City
New York City La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing