We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't love the name,but the hotel is great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Ranked #4 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Lynn, MA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't love the name,but the hotel is great!”
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Recently stayed at this establishment for one night. We were very pleasantly surprised to find a very nice facility with well appointed, and decorated rooms. The street that the hotel is on has free street parking available in the usual New York fashion (you have to move your car twice during the week for one hour or so), and we were able to secure a place right outside the hotel - literally.

Lovely staff and an excellent espresso machine (Cimbali) at the buffet breakfast just topped it off. Would return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiffabits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,911
    577
    82
    19
    10
See reviews for
1,055
1,410
181
421
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (663)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rocky Hill, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Within half an hour of check-in I received a call from the General Manager at Hotel Giraffe informing me that my car had been involved in an accident while in their possession on the way to the parking garage. Their attitude - not our problem - take it up with the parking garage as if they had no liability or responsibility for what happened. Neither the hotel nor the garage has paid for the damages eventhough repair estimates were promply provided. While I recognize the fact that parking is an outsourced service - in this case Rapid Parking, Inc. - the hotel has not done anything to facilate resolution. I am extremely disappointed in the manner this matter has been handled and continues unresolved. If you are looking for arrogance and complete lack of customer care in matters like this, then The Hotel Giraffe should be your choice in hotels. Good luck!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gabe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelGiraffe, General Manager at Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Dear Gabe C,

We understand how upsetting an accident can be and we are sorry about that. It was a very unfortunate incident and thankfully no one was hurt, and the damage to the car was limited to some scratches and cosmetic damage.
For the record of the other readers, we feel that under the existing circumstances, we have cooperated fully and will continue to be as helpful as we can with this insurance claim.
The fact that the owner of the hotel personally called you should be a sign that we do indeed care and we are following up.
We understand that our efforts are not what you were hoping for and you would prefer we simply write you a check so you don’t have to wait through the insurance process, however the one thing we cannot do is take financial responsibility for an accident that was not our fault and accept liability which is clearly not ours.
The garage has accepted their liability and they have filed the claim. In fact we are not even a party to the incident, so as much as we want to help, we are limited in what we can do as this is between you as the owner of the car, the garage and the insurance companies. It is not possible for us as an outside party to give you money upfront and then expect the insurance company to pay us. As great as that sounds, that just isn’t how the real world operates. If we gave you any money it would be seen as an admission of liability and may allow the insurance company to walk away from their responsibility. Accidents do happen in life from time to time which is why there is insurance.
Anyone who has ever filed a claim can relate to how frustrating it can be waiting for payment. We certainly regret this incident which was beyond our control and we want to assure you that we do try very hard to do all that we can for you and all our guests, especially in rare incidents such as yours.
We hope that this issue will be resolved for you soon.

Sincerely,
Peter Velk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
122 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

we had a 4 floor room, with unfortunately too much street noise to leave the window open
queen size beds are quite small even compared to European standards.
rooms have all you need, anyway this is not a place to stay in your room.
Hotel and staff are great, no remarks whatsoever.
the lobby doesn't have a soul, even with the free cheese and wine it never becomes a place to sit and relax for longer than needed.
seems like a functional hotel with excellent quality for the price paid.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bernbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Standard, IA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

First timer? New to NYC? Need a great hotel with great Service? Go here!! Hotel Giraffe was a perfect stay… Stayed 4 Nights Sat 3-10-12 Wed-3/14/12. Awesome Weather. Awesome Room! Whether you’re doing the subway thing, the walking thing, the cab thing, or limo thing, This Place was awesome. We did all four! We (My wife and I) did a long weekend, and it was magnificent. We did 9/11 memorial (get tickets in advance [free]), David Letterman (get [also free] tickets in advance) Broadway show (Memphis*Awesome show drink n eat before you go). Subway stops on park ave are at 23rd street and 28th street…. So you gotta walk 2 blocks if you’re going uptown and 3 blocks if you’re headed downtown. I think subway is a 2 bucks a person per trip. We each put 20 bucks on a metro card each…. And my wife has 3 bucks on hers and mine I used up. Cabs are about 10-15 bucks up to the park, or down to 9/11. All areas are safe to walk. Hope the weather is good for you as it was for us. Our Room was on the 6th floor. King bed with 2 foot balcony. Facing park ave. was not too loud; if you do a lot of action… you’ll be tired. Breakfast was great (basic toast, bagels, muffins, fruit, oatmeal) Wine and Cheese is cool too, but we were usually out and about. Did it once for 10 mins…lol. Turn down service is AWESOME. Every time we went out for the night…. Came home to a softly lit clean room… we never touched the mini bar; I requested a fridge… bought water beer and snacks from the corner deli. I recommend this hotel, and I’ve never written a review before… but I read a million before I left…. Unless I find a wonderful deal I will stay here! It was Amazing! Check price with Hotel before you book at one of these sites!!! Enjoy!... Used Giraffe car service from Airport (LGA) 94.00....(great car, and they had a sign with my name at baggage claim)... took a cab back to LGA was like 30 bucks.

Room Tip: LOved being able to open balcony doors. High floors are quiet.... but i think everybody wants those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkel, the Netherlands
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Stayed here for the night on a business trip. Good service, nice room (especially for NY standards). The room is quit spacious, has a good bed and all necessary facilities. Stayed at the 9th floor with not too much noise of NY... The 5 'o clock appetizer is a nice bonus, free wine and snacks if you have the time for it. Breakfast is sufficient but compared to European standards a bit basic. Good hotel overall

Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Alexander_NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#2 of 468 in New York City
1,353 reviews
Midtown
Library Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#12 of 468 in New York City
3,551 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#13 of 468 in New York City
931 reviews
Midtown
The Towers at Lotte New York Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection

Property: Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection
Address: 365 Park Ave South, At 26th Street, New York City, NY 10016-8801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in New York City
#2 Family Hotel in New York City
#3 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#5 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 20,282 - ₹ 35,267
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Giraffe's elegant public spaces and award winning guestrooms create an immediate sense of effortless luxury and unparalleled comfort. Guests enjoy free WiFi and complimentary refreshments including the Library Hotel Collection's signature Continental Breakfast Buffet each morning and wine & cheese receptions every evening from 5PM-8PM, and coffee, tea, cookies and fruit around the clock served in the Grand Lobby. You can also customize your room to suit your needs with special features offered such as coffee/tea making facilities, featherbed mattress toppers or memory foam pillows to name just a few options. If we don't have the date, room or location you need, try our sister hotels, the Casablanca, Library Hotel or the Hotel Elysee all ranking among the top hotels in NYC by members of TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Giraffe by Library Hotel Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Giraffe Hotel New York City
Hotel Giraffe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing