We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great (and quiet) place to stay!”
Review of Astor on the Park

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Astor on the Park
Ranked #393 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 18 January 2012

It's not often you find a peaceful place in Manhattan, certainly not one away from traffic noise, sirens and subway rumbles, but Astor on the park is peaceful, calm and serene.

The hotel faces the northwest corner of Central Park (as it's located directly on Central Park West), and even if you don't get a view of the park, you'll still get a quiet nights sleep.

The rooms were clean and well equipped; the shower was incredibly powerful, and the bath filled quickly (should you need one). The bathroom on the whole was incredibly clean and the main bedroom area was equally well maintained, with a comfortable bed, amazing pillows, a radiator, cupboard, drawers and 2 chairs. There was also a large amount of mirrors.

We arrived early for check-in, and the room wasn't quite ready (which we expected) but the maid rushed and got it ready next for us while we explored the area and got some snacks for the room. She didn't have to rush, but it was a nice touch and certainly welcome.

The concierge was incredibly helpful, as were the receptionist staff. The nearest subway was only 3 blocks away, and the walk takes you past a beautiful school building to a subway line that takes you right into the heart of manhattan in about 15 minutes and right down to the business district in the south in about 30 minutes if you need it (can be faster than a cab during the day). It cost $50 to get there in a taxi from JFK airport and you will need to change subway trains once to get to the airport if you want to travel by that method (if you are a regular to NY it is worth doing this way).

I would also recommend walking back through Central Park from Manhattan to the hotel, You can enter Central Park South from either the Times Warner mall (west side) or the Apple store (east side), and if you walk north (there are plenty of maps in the park if you fear you might get lost) you will experience all the lakes, squirrels, bridges and rock mounds that the park has to offer. You will also walk past the John Lennon tribute in Strawberry Fields (next to the Dakota building where he got shot).

Altogether a fantastic place to stay, quiet and out of the main buzz of the city, without being too far from the big sightseeing landmarks and shops. I would highly recommend a stay here, as the staff were so helpful, the rooms were comfortable, clean and well equipped, and the location was fantastic.

Room Tip: Rooms that face away from Central Park have worse views, but are extremely quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gareth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,519)
There are newer reviews for Astor on the Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

448 - 452 of 1,519 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 6 nights in June 2011. We chose it because it had decent reviews and also because it was cheap. There were some reviews on TA that did not paint it in a great picture but we bit the bullet and booked it anyway. I have absolutely no complaints about this hotel. It is not expensive so expect to get what you pay for, it is basic (no food/spa/gyms etc) and the bedrooms are not very spacious, however it is very clean with very helpful staff. It is located less than 2 mins walk from the subway at 109th st so getting down to lower Manhattan is very easy. This hotel is located on the upper west side so you are not in the heart of Manhattan, however do not let this fact alone make your decision. Across the road from the hotel is Central Park, where there are some fantastic walking tracks and green areas if you just want to sit back and relax. Also just a couple of blocks away is Columbia University and the surrounding neighbourhood. This is fantastic and there are some great little restaurants around. A little further away is Riverside Park which overlooks the Hudson. This hotel is a gem of a place and you get to see a bit of the real New York when you stay there. I'll definitely be booking back in here the next time I am going back to NYC.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sherryow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The first thing I would like to say is that we went in January when it was snowy and very cold..The Astor on the Park was so toasty. It was lovely and warm. The rooms are quite small but clean enough. What more do you need than somewhere just to put your head down...you're in the big city...get out there and see it! The AOTP is close to a subway station so you will never be without transport. We walked the full length of Central park one morning...it was lovely. Snow covered gardens. Dont be put off by the location way up in manhatten...as I said the subway was 2 mins walk away. We would definately stay here if we went NY again. There are plenty of deli's just round the corner too. Gorgeous bagels

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank K3RRY64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Our first trip to New York and we were overall pretty satisfied with our stay. The hotel is small, clean and has a TV. If visting NYC for a cheap place to rest your head then this is perfect. If you are looking for something comfortable to spend a lot of time in, you should keep looking.

Plus points: Two subway stops very close by. Right next to Central Park. A decent area and a nice walk towards Times Square along the Upper West Side with Strawberry Fields, The Dajota and Natural History museum all close by. The hotel itself is in a very quiet corner of Manhattan.

Negatives: External Air Conditioning Unit on each window can keep you awake during a heavy downpour with rain drops loudly hitting the metal. It was enough to wake me up on 2 nights. Female member of staff attempted to order us a Cab for the airport, which would have been more than the standard "Yellow" charge. They probably have a deal with Cab drivers over there and will order you one of theirs. Simply stand on the street and wait for a maximum of 5 mins to signal one. Even better, if you're confident with the subway, just use trains for Airport transfers. As the local Subway stops are "Local" services you can easily head out of town later at night to catch a connecting train, it is likely you will be taken to a place less affluent than central Manhattan.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the park will be much nicer
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DLogan2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

The location of this hotel is amazing. It is very close to subway stations and right across the street from Central Park. Staff at the front desk are friendly and the hotel is clean, however it is a little bit outdated. The room that we had was very small, basically just for sleeping in and that's it. If you need to move around in a room, the only place to do it here is in the bed. We were here during winter and it got quite cold in the room at night. The radiator made a lot of noise but did not heat that well.

You receive a room key and it has to be left at the front desk when you go out during the day. When we checked in we were assigned a room that already had someone else's belongings in it - we received the key that they left at the front desk when they left for the day. It could have been a one time mix up.

Overall, not bad if you are trying to save some money. The price is amazing for a room in New York City.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#382 of 468 in New York City
642 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#303 of 468 in New York City
1,319 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#317 of 468 in New York City
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Marrakech Hotel
Marrakech Hotel
#392 of 468 in New York City
1,615 reviews
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#414 of 468 in New York City
137 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City-Bro...
#430 of 468 in New York City
1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor on the Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor on the Park

Address: 465 Central Park West, New York City, NY 10025-3851
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #393 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 8,865 - ₹ 21,329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Astor on the Park 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Astor on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor Park New York
Astor Park Hotel New York
Astor Hotel New York
Astor On The Park Hotel
Hotel Astor Park New York
Astor New York
Astor Park Nyc
Astor New Park York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing