We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location and friendly hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #88 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

I booked this hotel via a travel agent, it was a surprise 18th birthday present for my daughter who has always wanted to go to NY.I had emailed the hotel before we went to tell them it was a special occasion and they had upgraded our room and left a lovely birthday gift for her. We had a fantastic and busy time, came back exhausted but was worth it. The hotel was great, modern and friendly. The complimentary breakfast was such good value that you couldn't afford to miss it even though the American big breakfasts were beckoning. It just set you up for the rest of the day! So handy for everything, ESB next door literally, we went at Midnight after seeing Ghost which was fantastic, Times Square, 5Th ave, Macys etc etc and Penn St Metro at the end of the street for places a bit further- we used this also. Would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,820 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,006
    1,418
    281
    69
    46
See reviews for
674
1,999
135
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (677)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012 via mobile

Great hotel, in an excellent location. Free breakfast was a real bonus and the rooms / staff and facilities were all very good. Would stay here again.

Helpful?
Thank LYD_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

me and my mum stayed here for 4 nights, it was fantastic. We upgraded to a larger double room which was worth it.

The staff were friendly and very helpful, the roof top bar was fab...good cocktails.

We thought the complimentary breakfast was great. Would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our way home from honeymoon.

The location is on 35th street just off 5th and from the roof deck you can see The Empire State building which is nice.

We were on the last leg of our honeymoon and when we checked in they said they had no idea that we were and had they known they would have tried to give us a better room. The next day in our room we had a bottle of bubbly and a card to say congrats, so although our room was pretty small they did do a little something for us.

The breakfast is a self serve continental and we have been to these before and if your not down by 7am there is nothing left, imagine our surprise when we went down at 9.30am to have fresh coffee put out and lots and lots of food there still. It was the best self service we have seen.

There is a guy called Jeff who will help you with your tours etc and he is very very nice and very helpful although the only thing I would say is he did say we should get the shuttle back to JFK and we did which was a nightmare..........

We took a cab from JFK to get there that cost us $55 the shuttle cost $24 each! so much the same however the cab takes you right to JFK the shuttle however picked us up from the hotel and drove round the city for 1 and a half hours picking others up before we even left for the airport! Bad advice from Jeff on this one but apart from that he was great.

The rooms are small but if you are sitting in your room and not out and about then you have gone to the wrong city. The hotel is 2 mins walk from Empire State building and about 10 mins stroll from Times Square. Shopping on 34th street is right around the corner and there is lots of places to eat and drink close by.

One evening we took a couple of bottles of Corona (which we had bought from the local store) up to the roof deck and sat under the stars and the lights of Empire State building, it was great to sit back after a long day up there.

Would stay again in a heartbeat. A great little find!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NearlyThere2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beith, Ayrshire
Level Contributor
145 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

Stayed for 4 nights at the Metro, with 3 others. Shared a room with my daughter, unfortunately we were given a double room but could have been worse. The rooms are adequate, small but clean. I was slightly disappointed in the breakfast, there is no variety and it becomes rather boring after a few days. The staff on the front desk were helpful enough but found it strange that the doorman does not help you down the stairs with luggage. Overall a decent hotel in a superb location.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mosouthbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#104 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#106 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#111 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#175 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,823 reviews
Midtown
Archer Hotel New York
Archer Hotel New York
#18 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in New York City
#70 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#118 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,955 - ₹ 30,410
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing