We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”
Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #100 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Spent two nights at hotel following a 22 night South American Cruise and prior to flying home to London. I used T.Advisor to research N Y hotels in advance of cruise and after much searching selected this Gem on grounds of budget, room size and facilities, access with much luggage, staff friendly and efficient, clean and provision of breakfast. My wife and I found that the hotel and staff even exceeded our expectations and I would return next time visiting NY. What a find and in such a central location we walked everywhere. So to the staff a great thank you for crowning the end our fab holiday and giving us wonderful memories of our stay in NY. Mike and Linda.

Room Tip: Queen on floor 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OctoberMike990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,400 - 2,404 of 4,272 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

Lovley hotel, plenty to see within walking distance, broadway , 5th avenue central park. Spacious rooms, qiuet ,very clean.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikiathome2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Cant add much more than the past few reviews in terms of good things about this hotel. Great location, staff were excellent, hotel clean and tidy.

Yeah ok the breakfasts weren't 5 star gourmet food, but it's free and set me up nicely for a days walking. And why are people complaining about having to clean up after themselves. It was a case of picking up your plate and cup and putting it in a bin.

Room was great, cleaned every day. Roof terrace was nice to sit out on. The Metro grill attached was nice with a burger to die for.

We were honeymooning and one our arrival was a bottle of champagne on ice, and an upgraded room. This kind of attentiveness is what makes this hotel stand out from numerous chain hotels.

Would I stay again- without hesitation. The location was perfect for site seeing especially with the R train subway at the end of the street. Times Square is a ten minute walk, as are most of the theatres. Empire state building is two minutes away as us Macy's.

Any negative points? None. This ticked every box for us.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Darlojay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed for four nights with our two friends. When we arrived at 2pmone of the rooms was ready so we left everything in one room and retired to Brendan's opposite for lunch and a drink. We got into our room at 4pm. We had room 204 which suited us well. It was clean and comfortable.

Breakfast was complimentary and very enjoyable. Coffee available 24/7. I love coffee and really enjoyed this no matter what hour we drank it.

The Hotel is well placed for exploring and felt safe at all times. If you are looking for a comfortable base this is the Hotel for you

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CazDodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

The location was wonderful. We walked to all the shops on 5th Avenue, Times Square and many restaurants and bars. I think the rooms are larger than most in NYC. We had the two room suite and had 4 people.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Best Western Premier Herald Square
Midtown
Hyatt Place New York Midtown South
Hyatt Place New York Midtown Sou...
#152 of 470 in New York City
2,023 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Empire State Bldg
Hampton Inn Manhattan-35th St/Em...
#164 of 470 in New York City
2,233 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#197 of 470 in New York City
1,212 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#32 of 470 in New York City
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#114 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 9,535 - ₹ 29,766 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing