We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Metro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Metro
Ranked #85 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
North West England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, great location”
Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

Cant add much more than the past few reviews in terms of good things about this hotel. Great location, staff were excellent, hotel clean and tidy.

Yeah ok the breakfasts weren't 5 star gourmet food, but it's free and set me up nicely for a days walking. And why are people complaining about having to clean up after themselves. It was a case of picking up your plate and cup and putting it in a bin.

Room was great, cleaned every day. Roof terrace was nice to sit out on. The Metro grill attached was nice with a burger to die for.

We were honeymooning and one our arrival was a bottle of champagne on ice, and an upgraded room. This kind of attentiveness is what makes this hotel stand out from numerous chain hotels.

Would I stay again- without hesitation. The location was perfect for site seeing especially with the R train subway at the end of the street. Times Square is a ten minute walk, as are most of the theatres. Empire state building is two minutes away as us Macy's.

Any negative points? None. This ticked every box for us.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Darlojay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,110
    1,477
    293
    71
    48
See reviews for
716
2,110
140
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (707)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed for four nights with our two friends. When we arrived at 2pmone of the rooms was ready so we left everything in one room and retired to Brendan's opposite for lunch and a drink. We got into our room at 4pm. We had room 204 which suited us well. It was clean and comfortable.

Breakfast was complimentary and very enjoyable. Coffee available 24/7. I love coffee and really enjoyed this no matter what hour we drank it.

The Hotel is well placed for exploring and felt safe at all times. If you are looking for a comfortable base this is the Hotel for you

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CazDodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

The location was wonderful. We walked to all the shops on 5th Avenue, Times Square and many restaurants and bars. I think the rooms are larger than most in NYC. We had the two room suite and had 4 people.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Upgraded on arrival to give us a great sized room, with comfortable bed and decent shower room. Free continental breakfast was OK, but there was a scramble for seating unless you went very early or waited until the really keen tourists had hit the road after 9. bonus of free tea and coffee available 24/7.
Location convenient for Empire State building, 5th Avenue and Macy's and with subway at the end of the block it was easy to go further afield, although we found we walked and walked, taking in the views.
Would definitely return to this hotel on a future trip, even if just to be able to enjoy a late night drink on the roof terrace in the shadow of the Empire State building!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiptopJayBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Excellent staff who responded very well to our e-mails prior to visiting and didn't disappoint upon arrival at reception.
Our room choice was for an upgraded twin bedded room and although it was night time when we arrived the room was spacious and quiet. Although morning showed we were close to another building which we didn't mind since we were out all day but the room was dark during the day. The powerful shower was wonderful with lashings of hot water on demand and nice toiletries.
Free tea & coffee was real bonus and we looked forward to the breakfast which was just ok consisting of cereals /bagels/ toast etc, but the area for consuming this was poor and meant jostling to find somewhere to sit and often the table surfaces were dirty and no one seemed to be cleaning them other than a courtesy wipe.
We would definitely stay here again the staff were great and everything else was a good standard.

Room Tip: Didn't see any other rooms, ours was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalkingBry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#109 of 467 in New York City
708 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#43 of 467 in New York City
3,303 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#101 of 467 in New York City
1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#110 of 467 in New York City
636 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
#52 of 467 in New York City
4,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in New York City
#69 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#117 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,898 - ₹ 32,452
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing