We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's the small things that make the difference” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Metro

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Metro
Ranked #84 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It's the small things that make the difference”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We had booked our room way in advance, I had asked for a room with a view, which we got - thank you for that. Although the room was smaller than we had hoped, we learned to appreciate the hotel, primarily due to its proximity to everything, excellent housekeeping and because we had a nice bathroom with complimentary toiletries. And last but definitely not least; the rooftop terrace - it's truly enjoyable and I can only imagine how amazing it must be during summertime, when it's nice and warm and the rooftop bar is open....

The breakfast buffet had like a million pastries and muffins, different sorts of bagels and toast and ..Philadelphia cream cheese and jam. And Butter, of course. I sort of missed other kinds of cold cuts, and found it quite strange that there were sooo many cakes to choose from and yet only two kinds of spread?!

Another thing which I found really odd and annoying was the empty fridge in our room. I desperately wanted some water the night upon arrival, but couldn't get any until we went to buy some the next morning. So if you arrive late, make sure you bring your own water ;o)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnaSofie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,091
    1,462
    292
    70
    47
See reviews for
710
2,085
138
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (697)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
200 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

I had a great two night stay at the Hotel Metro in March 2012. My room was rather large for NYC with two queen beds and a bathroom with walk in shower. Hotel was clean and well kept.

On the night I arrived the hotel offered a complimentary wine tasting with light snacks. The wines were good and the snacks more than adequate. The continental breakfast included in the rates was a bit more than expected and a good start to the day.

Wireless Internet access is available throughout the hotel and was reliable and rather fast. The doorman was very helpful with directions and general questions on NYC. The location was great for midtown appointments and access to Times Square and Madison Square Garden. There are a number of Korean restaurants very close to the hotel. There is an terrace on the top floor with seating and a great view of the city.

I'd stay at the hotel again when I need access to mid town.

Room Tip: The area garbage pickup is very early in the morning and very loud regardless of the floor you are o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DetailsByBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Hotel Metro for 3 nights. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a premier room which was nice and the room also had a waterfall shower. Room size was adequate. Breakfast was good, cereal, muffins, toast, bagels, cream cheese, butter, jam, apples, bananas and oranges was on offer. Really good location and handy for Empire State Building, Penn Station etc. Next time we are in New York we will stay here.

Room Tip: This hotel is on a busy road so ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanetteM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Metro in Septembr 2011 for 3 nights with a friend. The hotel is small and in a great location next to the empire state building and a 10 minute walk to Times Square. We had a slight problem with the room but after 20 minutes they gave us a nice room. The breakfast had a varity and the breakfats room was small but always somewhere to sit. The staff were friendly and had a luggage room for the last day after we had checked out.

Room Tip: High room = Better Views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mifnat777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

This is a great location in Midtown. The hotel is situated 2 mins from the Empire State Building, 2 mins from Macy's, 10 mins from Times Sq, Grand Central station and the Rockerfeller centre.

The breakfast at the hotel is ok, as you will see you don't get a breakfast hardly anywhere in NY hotels, it consists of pastries, bagels, cereal and tea/coffee/fruit juice and massive muffins.

The service at the hotel was good and make use of the concierge as he has lots of tips and advice on restaurants and tickets etc.

Really nice and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bobby3156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#45 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,271 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#96 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Midtown
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Square
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Herald Squa...
#104 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Midtown
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
Executive Hotel LeSoleil
#102 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Metro? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Metro

Property: Hotel Metro
Address: 45 W 35th St, New York City, NY 10001-2277
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Family Hotel in New York City
#70 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#118 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,707 - ₹ 33,704
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Metro is an independent boutique hotel in the heart of midtown Manhattan, one block from the Empire State Building and a 2 minute walk to Macy's. Times Square and Madison Square Garden and Grand Central Station are all within a 10 minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel New York City
Hotel Metro New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing