We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First and for sure my last stay at this Courtyard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
Ranked #277 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I honestly did not care for this hotel from the minute I stepped in to the lobby. Mediocre hotel with basically no amenities. Only 1 elevator was working. Front desk agent was robotic - no smile, no willingness to answer questions or give recommendations. However the most upsetting part was the wireless internet connection...well, the absence of it!!! It simply did not work in our room (1107) and for this reason I would NEVER stay at this hotel again!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FairlingtonResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (936)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

606 - 610 of 936 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2012

Stayed for 2 weeks on a business trip. Essentially I would have been happy with the hotel except for the fact that they only had 1 out of 2 elevators working during my whole stay. This added an extra 10 mins waiting for the elevator in the morning. Not in keeping with NY's fast paced lifestyle.

Also, for 1 of the nights, both elevators were out! That meant steps up 31 floors for us.

Rooms: Decent - A little small but hey, this is NY.
Location: excellent. 5 mins Grand Central, 1 min Fufth Avenue and walking distance to Times Square and Central Park.
Wifi: Free wifi which is good.

Worth mentioning also the Salmon River restaurant downstairs is quite good especially if you want a quick meal after a long day at the office.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerantauDunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Stayed three nights. Everyone was extremely friendly. Front desk, maids, the man who cleaned the workout room, all were very, very nice. Room was adequate. Not posh by any means but nice. I would stay here again. Oh, and the hotel is well located.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnslitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I stayed at this property in 2004 for $139. It was well worth $139 a night for the location alone. I stayed there this week (March 2012) for $329. Yes, they had made improvements - new flat panel TVs, new beds and a new sink, but they have not done much else. I would have given this hotel a 1 star, but the Marriott service is good. The front desk and bell staff were of NYC caliber. They were helpful and curtious. However, the week I stayed, it was at least $100 over-priced and the value proposition was not there. If you can book for under $200, go for it. Otherwise, there are dozens of other properties for a muh better value.

Room Tip: Even an upgraded room left me with a 29th floor with a view of trash on other buildings. I am not s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tkeucla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen G, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2012

Thank you for your feedback concerning your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. Your feedback is a key to our success and for making improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

As was expected in midtown Manhattan, the room was tiny. Yet somehow we were able to squeeze in a family of four (two boys aged six and eight) and our respective suitcases. The room has the basics that you would expect from a Courtyard.

The location cannot be beat. Easy access to Fifth Avenue, midtown, Times Square, subway stations, etc. For a first time trip to New York where time in the hotel room is limited, this is a good option as a base to explore New York.

The amenities are limited, but there is a NY style grocery shop next door that covered the basics for food and snacks. Plenty of restaurants nearby covering all sorts of preferences. The hotel staff was incredibly nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CRHeel94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen G, Front Office Manager at Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2012

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are always looking for ways to improve and utilize our guest feedback in order to make changes. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#227 of 470 in New York City
1,470 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Midtown East
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Mid...
#145 of 470 in New York City
2,338 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Times Square West
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Tim...
#153 of 470 in New York City
1,135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Herald Square
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Her...
#114 of 470 in New York City
783 reviews
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#228 of 470 in New York City
1,228 reviews
Midtown
SpringHill Suites New York Midtown Manhattan/Fifth Avenue
SpringHill Suites New York Midto...
#146 of 470 in New York City
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue

Address: 3 E 40th St, New York City, NY 10016-0101
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#193 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 10,980 - ₹ 39,013 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfortable accommodations and a convenient location near exciting New York City attractions during your stay the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue. Renovated in 2013, our Fifth Avenue hotel with only seven rooms per floor offers an unbeatable location directly across from Bryant Park and within walking distance of Broadway shows and Times Square. Modern guest rooms offer complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, spacious marble bathrooms and LCD cable televisions. After an action-packed day of sightseeing, relax in our comfortable beds featuring luxurious linens, thick mattresses and fluffy pillows. Stay productive during your stay at our Fifth Avenue New York hotel with our full-service business center and spacious in-room work desks. During downtime, enjoy a brisk workout in our 24-hour state-of-the-art fitness center with a variety of cardiovascular equipment and free weights. Book your stay at the Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue today for an experience in the heart of NYC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Fifth Avenue Hotel New York City
Courtyard Fifth Avenue
Courtyard New York City
New York City Marriott
New York City Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing