We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heart of the City” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moderne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Moderne Hotel
Ranked #99 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Waikoloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
265 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Heart of the City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Fantastic location, walk to Broadway, Times Square, Central Park, and subway.
Very clean, very comfortable beds (and Pillows!). Staff helpful and cheerful. Reasonable prices for this part of Manhattan. Room size also generous for this part of town.
And the 24/7 available coffee is wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muadib84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind words on our property and for taking the time to post them. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    897
    534
    145
    62
    46
See reviews for
291
762
97
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

This is a LONG overdue review of this hotel. This was an all around INCREDIBLE experience for my now husband and myself. One I'll remember forever because we stayed here the day we got engaged and the staff was SOOOOO good to us!

Earlier in the day we arrived to the hotel. They let us check in about 2 hours earlier than the check in time which was nice because we had driven from my husbands moms in western, NY and had been in the car for approx 6 hours. Parking is attached to the hotel so that was easy breezy.

The only "downer" for me is that the decor in the hallway on our floor was a little jarring on the eyes but we quickly adjusted to it. The bedrooms aren't the largest but as you can tell from the remodel pictures it has an upscale feel. AS another person posted...the view ..well isn't anything much... pretty much a fire escape..which for me was a little hard at first as I am a little clostraphobic..but I quickly adjusted. The bed was SOOOOO comfortable. Everything was very clean and well stocked. The decor was fantastic and lives up to the hotels name. Very modern, cool, sheik feel to it.

The hotel is in PRIME Manhattan real estate in my mind. Very close walk to central park, making times square, food, and shopping all very close.

When we had any questions at all the front desk was incredibly helpful. Later that night when we told them we just got engaged, they seemed genuinely excited for us. They offered to send us up a dessert and we thankfully declined. Only minutes later had a bell hop at our bedroom door with a free bottle of wine for us, compliments of the hotel to celebrate and thank us for celebrating such a special time with them. My fiance (husband now) had mentioned that we were going to be headed out to Far Rockaway the next day after our checkout and the young woman at the front desk had directions all printed up and told him about a local surf shop even. Nothing we had requested but something that she took upon herself to look up for us in case we needed it.

I meant to write this review so much sooner. So I'm about 7 months late here...but like I said, it was an unforgettable experience at a very fair price. We were treated so so well, and I would love to stay here again, perhaps for an anniversary---I know they wouldn't disappoint. :D

Room Tip: We had no special needs but with how friendly and helpful this staff was, Just ask and I'm sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arianna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,


Thank you so much for taking the time to post on our property - better late then never! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your trip an hope that you will stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We booked 2 Double rooms (for 2 couples) at the beginning of January 2012 for a trip at the end of March - we got a great deal online and then an even better one when we got there. Due to their availbility we were all upgraded to their junior suites and the rooms were amazing and very clean.
We were greeted by friendly receptionists, who were helpful and attentive to our needs.

The hotel is in a great location, you have a number of Diners and Japanese restaurants around you and shops about 2 mins walk away. It was also handy to have the subway station just down the road.
Although they don't have a restaurant so can't serve up breakfast the hotel puts out cakes, fresh fruit and hot drinks for free for all their guests from 7am in the morning.

My husband and I have visited New York 6 times and this is by far the best hotel we've stayed in and will not hesitate to return - The Moderne Hotel will be the first NYC hotel we pay a repeat visit to.

Thanks again for your hospitality.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovetravelling888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We are so happy to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your trip! We love our location as well - everything is within walking distance! We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post a review and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delran, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

My girlfriend and I recently spent a Friday night at the Moderne and had an extremely positive experience. The room was unique, tidy, and outfitted in a groovy Pop Art style, which was a refreshing break from blandness found in other chains.
The staff were very helpful and friendly and offered excellent suggestions for taking advantage of the area sites and places to dine. Even when our room keys suffered some 'glitches', the staff apologized and immediately helped with escorting to the room to ensure we were able to get in the door.
The location is within walking distance to area attractions and the subway. The rates are reasonable and parking was no hassle and discounted.

I strongly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post on our property. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your kind words. We look forward to seeing you again for a longer visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maracaibo, Venezuela
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

If you're going to New York for walking, eating, shopping and having fun, than this Hotel is an excellent choice.
It offers nice rooms, with excellent in-room facilities. No view, therefore no noise, so you can really relax and rest after a long New York day.
The staff is omnipresent, and always helpful. They're also well informed to help you choose the best play, restaurant or other guests needed information.

Room Tip: ask for lower floors but not the second... it has traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMahonAHG, Manager at Moderne Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post on our property! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and sincerely appreciate your kind words! We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#141 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,675 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#105 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#77 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel
Distrikt Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,771 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#45 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,442 reviews
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Cen...
#116 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moderne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moderne Hotel

Property: Moderne Hotel
Address: 243 W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#99 Family Hotel in New York City
#103 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,018 - ₹ 31,573
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Moderne Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Convenient midtown location on 55th street and Broadway - Hotel is decorated in ultra contemporary style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Moderne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderne Hotel New York City
Moderne New York City
Moderne Hotel Nyc
Hotel Moderne New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing