We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NO VIEW and Cigarette Smell” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Manhattan Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Manhattan Club
Ranked #190 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“NO VIEW and Cigarette Smell”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

The only thing this place has is location.
I would not stay here again. The suites have been smoked in, so if you don't appreciate cigarette smell I would pass on this place. The desk clerk moved us once upon a late arrival but it seemed to be a problem . I definitely did not feel comfortable asking again. At 1:00 am in the morning after flying from California we were tired and ready to unpack and get on with our first trip to NewYork. To top it off you have no views in these rooms! Not a place to enjoy. It was good for showering and sleeping. There was dust pile up behind the night stand and what appeared to be mold in the second bathroom. I cannot stress enough it's not always about location. So glad we were not enticed into their timeshare presentation. Cigarette smell and no views. Enough said.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandLCarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
It's disappointing that your accommodations were not as you had hoped. Our team is always eager to address any concerns that may arise during your stay and would have been happy to help you find the perfect room or take care of any housekeeping issues in an effort to create an exceptional experience for you. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    523
    519
    131
    61
    68
See reviews for
471
418
33
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

We needed a hotel room with a separate sleeping area from the living room as well as a kitchen. We got all that at the Manhatten Club in New York City. There were no actual cooking units, like a stove, oven or toaster, because of fire restrictions in Manhatten, but it had a microwave, small fridge, sink, dishes, cutlery and a table with 4 chairs around it. The separate bedroom with a king size bed was very large and clean. My husband thought the bed was a little too hard but we all slept like babies because the room had great darkening shades and curtains. We hardly heard any noise from the street level either but we were on the 17th floor, so that might have had something to do with it. Our daughter slept in the livingroom on the sofabed which was a little thin mattress, but she was happy enough to sleep there.
The hotel/condo was in such a great place. Only two short blocks from Central Park, two long blocks to famous 5th Ave shopping--think, Tiffany's, Saks, Gucci, Louis Vuitton, etc., Starbucks was around the corner and one of the best places to eat in NYC was also around the corner; Carnegie Deli-but be forewarned- they only accept cash for payment at Carnegie Deli.
There is no pool in the hotel but who has time for swimming when there is so much else to do in NYC.
We stayed for 4 nights and would do it again.
Even though this is a timeshare/condo ownership type accomodation we were never once approached about ownership and didn't have to wear any kind of wristband showing whether we were owners or not.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlene99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
It was such a pleasure having your family stay with us for those four nights and we're delighted you all slept so soundly. NYC is filled with exciting places to see and things to do from shopping on Fifth Avenue to visiting Central Park where you can see the animals at Central Park Zoo, tour a castle, catch a performance of Shakespeare in the Park or just relax on the green lawn. We would love to welcome you back again to The Manhattan Club the next time you are visiting and we hope it's soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerville, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Our room was complimentary upgraded to a deluxe suite on the 18th floor. It had 2 bathrooms, a living room, king size bed, and a kitchen with a table and chairs. Very clean, very comfortable. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yobo11284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
We also wish you could have stayed longer, but you can always return for another visit! Thank you so much for your review of The Manhattan Club. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in late May.
This was my second time at the club.
Location is superb - Close to Central Park, upscale shopping, and nice restaurants.
Staff are friendly and courteous.
Room was a nice size and clean. Bed was very comfortable. The microwave and fridge are helpful.
The elevators were slower than normal, but maybe because of full capacity.
We had a nice meal in Cityhouse, suprisingly it was fairly quiet.
The fitness centre on the 26th floor is clean and has modern treadmills.
We were satisfied and happy with our stay, and would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arsenal11730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
We were delighted to have had to opportunity to welcome you back to The Manhattan Club on your recent trip to NYC. Our convenient mid-town location makes getting around the city and seeing the sites a breeze; we were happy to learn how much you enjoyed it. Your review is greatly appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mobile, AL
Level Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights at the Manhattan Club in what the refer to as a Metro suite. It was much larger than a typical MYC room with a sitting area, queen bed, flat screen TV. WIFi was free. The fitness center looked great (though I never used it) The lounge on the 26th floor was nice but not overly used. The people were friendly and helpful. We walked to almost all our meals and only rode the sub way to visit the WTC site and to go to Brooklyn to see family. One block to subway, one block to Carnegie Hall, 3 blocks to Center Park, an easy stroll to time square. Excellent choice. We will stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sbamaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManhattanClub, Public Relations Manager at The Manhattan Club, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Our goal at The Manhattan Club is to not only provide our guests with top notch customer service but also to create a comfortable atmosphere within our suites and a selection of in-room amenities that makes them feel at home. We are thrilled you enjoyed your accommodations and your trip to NYC. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#81 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#99 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Midtown
Dream Midtown
Dream Midtown
#220 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#155 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#263 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,214 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Central Park South-Midtown West
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Centr...
#200 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manhattan Club? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manhattan Club

Property: The Manhattan Club
Address: 200 West 56th Street, New York City, NY 10019-4300
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#132 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#132 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#174 Family Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,969 - ₹ 37,893
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manhattan Club 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can enjoy true quality at affordable rates in the heart of midtown Manhattan. Luxury suites with European style kitchenettes, concierge services and valet parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Manhattan Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Suites
Manhattan Club Hotel New York City
Manhattan Club Nyc
Manhatten Club

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing