We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, basic room”
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wellington Hotel
Ranked #329 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 11 June 2012

The hotel is in a good location- so close to central Park and Times Square. We found check in to be very straight forward, the staff friendly and I was looking forward to seeing the room, assuming it would be as grand as the lobby. When we got to our room, it was basic, small and a bit worn, with no view from the window. The bathroom was also quite dated.
On the plus side the price was good for a centrally located hotel and the room sufficient for sleeping after long days.

We recommend Fluffy's Cafe close to the hotel for a good, reasonably priced breakfast!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CathyB21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (7,150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,306 - 3,310 of 7,150 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stayed at the hotel in a "deluxe double" the room was fairly average and the decor was quite dated. The "kitchen" area was unable to be used as the microwave was placed over the cooker. The location of the hotel cannot be faulted, to the right of the main entrance is a 5-10 minute walk to Central Park and to the left is a 5-10 minute walk to Times Square. The Park Cafe suited just adjacent to the lobby was excellent for breakfast and the staff at the hotel were really friendly. On departure check out was very fast and we made use of the hotels car service which was priced at $70 which is about the same as a cab, minus the crazy driver. All in all a fantastic hotel I would return to if i was ever to stay in the big apple once more.

Room Tip: Double deluxe rooms are quite spacious and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hollie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

If your looking for a great location with times square and central park in walking distance than this is the hotel for you. This hotel is clean comfortable and the subway is on your door step. The bell man take your bags to reception as soon as you get out of the taxi which was very helpful, check in was fast and efficient. We were able to store our bags when we check out for free, so we didn't have to carry them around with us.a couple of tips go to the takeaway vans for breakfast (pastries, bagels and tea/coffee) and walk to central park, it will cost about $10 instead of $35 for the same thing in the restaurants. Also if you want theatre tickets go to the ticket booths in time square at about 6pm on the day you want to go it will cost you half the price.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kirstiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I regularly visit New York and on my last trip stayed at the lovely Wellington Hotel for the first time.
What a lovely hotel this is, situated minutes from Times Square and Theatre District.
Our room was beautiful, immaculately clean, spacious and well appointed, a real home from home.
I cannot recommend New York highly enough as a City Break and the Wellington Hotel is a perfect hotel to choose.

Room Tip: It is worth paying a little extra and going for a Deluxe Room, they are like little flats with kitch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Stayed at The Wellington in New York at the start of May for a week. The location of this hotel is excellent a few blocks from Time Square and about a block from Central Park. However even better there is a subway right outside the hotel and if you buy a Metro ticket for a day or in our case a week - it's really good value - you have access to he whole of the New York Subway system on your doorstep.

On arrival we were allocated a room on the 4th floor overlooking a side street. The room itself was fine. a remodeled bathroom a good bed and nice quality linen and pillows and very clean. Unfortunately it's on a a very nosy street starting in the early hours, I think there is a rubbish depot across the street which starts to operate very early. We asked to move up to higher room and the front desk staff were very helpful and moved us to a much higher floor on the same street which was the same standard room but much much quieter. I couldn't fault the quality or the cleanness of this hotel.

The hotel is attached to a real New York type diner which was great for breakfast and a wonderfull bolt hole for dinner after a long hard days sightseeing - be warned the steaks are HUGE.

Overall I think the Wellington is a good quality hotel in an excellent location and by New York standards represents good value.

We had seven wonderful 7 nights here - where else could you be dinning and dancing in China town and Little Italy and return safely back in your hotel just by getting on the Subway.

Stay here and enjoy New York.

Room Tip: Get a Metro Card and use the Subway it is so close to the hotel and safe and you can use it to go an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank maradardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#275 of 471 in New York City
5,009 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#278 of 471 in New York City
11,950 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#353 of 471 in New York City
20,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#231 of 471 in New York City
5,038 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#356 of 471 in New York City
4,501 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#415 of 471 in New York City
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Address: 871 7th Avenue at W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #329 of 471 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 5,987 - ₹ 21,465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 618
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Nyc
Wellington New York City
Hotel Wellington New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing