We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday”
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wellington Hotel
Ranked #326 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 27 May 2012

just stayed at this hotel for 4 nights, hotel in good location, but did not think much of the room very small, other than location would not recommend

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suequigley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (6,975)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,195 - 3,199 of 6,976 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2012

I went on this spur of the moment trip with a friend who had already booked this hotel so I really didn't know what to expect. I know NY can be very expensive for a decent hotel and you really do get what you pay for. My room rate was acceptable and so was the room and hotel. It's a bit older but I found that charming. My room was clean and just fine. (my friend's room had dirty walls, wierd!) I was really worried about bed bugs but there were no problems here. The staff was pleasant. The thing that I really loved about this hotel was the location. I could easily walk to Times Square in about 10 minutes and it's right across the street from Carnegie Deli. (we had egg salad sandwiches at midnight) It's close enough to walk to hot spots and feel safe walking back at night. The hotel also arranged for us to have a private driver take us to the airport and a great price. If I was on a budget I'd stay here again. If you've never been to NY, I recommend doing your homework before you book any place to stay. Again, you get what you pay for and New York hotels are small for the price. (especially the bathrooms)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sheilla D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

My daughters and I shared a two room suite in this historic hotel, Midtown New York. The hotel is old, but clean well taken care of. The beds were great, linens soft and the staff was always cheerful and helpful. It was a perfect location close to Broadway, Subway and all of the sights we were interested in. The price is reasonable and I would recommend it. I would stay there again. Very convenient. A great value for the price.

Room Tip: They have suite with 2 double beds, however if you ask there are suites with a queen bed too :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Wellington in mid-March 2012. We've stayed in many kinds of places (from both YMCAs to other hotels) in midtown and this was our best experience yet. We got a great rate ($500 including tax for four nights) and check-in was efficient, both of which helped a lot. The Wellington is quite "old world" with shaky elevators and narrow hallways that you fear will lead to a room with tiny windows. Nothing of the sort; we had a good sized room (we got the standard double) with a much bigger than average window onto a silent (yes, you read that correctly) side street. Very large closet and renovated bathroom (that did have an odd habit of flushing itself once in a while, but never at night, thankfully). Excellent bed. Nice decor that won't offend anyone. We ate breakfast every day but one in the in-house coffeeshop which is very "Old Midtown." Never did eat in the restaurant. On the next corner is Ben Ash's which is overpriced and has some odd service fees, but across the street is the Carnegie Deli. Need I say more? The subway is right downstairs, Central Park is a few walkable blocks north & Moma is a few blocks east. Times Square was visible (but inaudible) from our room. We'll definitely go back!

Room Tip: As for "a room in the back," which really means a room on the side streets. If you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank XuXiakeColumbusOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We stayed at this hotel from 14/5 for a 5 day city break. Upon arrival the receptionist advised us they had overbooked and as a result had to move us to another hotel for 1 night. As we were only there for 4 nights this was a bit of an inconvenience. They did arrange for a bellhop to take our cases 3 blocks down to their sister hotel (Flatotel which was much more roomy) but we had problems getting them to come and get our luggage the following day. This did cause unneccessary stress as the following morning we just wanted to to get out and start our day, not hang around waiting for hotel rooms to be sorted out and luggage transferred.

Although the hotel itself was fairly nice and the room (68) quite nice, we had a view of an office block and the air con barely worked. As a result I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 68 has a poor view though sufficiently high that we were not disturbed by road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sprin23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#266 of 469 in New York City
4,803 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#352 of 469 in New York City
19,254 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 469 in New York City
11,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#141 of 469 in New York City
7,246 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#235 of 469 in New York City
4,949 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#127 of 469 in New York City
5,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Address: 871 7th Avenue at W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #326 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 7,201 - ₹ 27,246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 618
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Nyc
Wellington New York City
Hotel Wellington New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing