We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, a bit old, fast service”
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wellington Hotel
Ranked #320 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good location, a bit old, fast service”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We stayed here last summer for 2 nights during our first NYC visit. Location is great in Midtown and subway is right downstairs, making it easy to go around the city. Very close to Central park south gate and Times Square. Surrounding area is quite nice, with a lot of food options around. I remember there's a good deli next door and a good Greek restaurant which we tried.
The room is spacious which can fit 3 of us in 2 full beds, yet it's a bit old and not much view at all. We liked the no fuss service here; the front desk allowed us for an early check in, which was awesome so we had more time in the morning to travel around. Overall it's a good stay, although I'll try another hotel the next time I'm in NYC.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yofi_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,236
    2,815
    1,692
    598
    381
See reviews for
1,705
2,410
335
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (975)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

This was our first time to New York and It couldn't have been better :) we arrived at the Wellington and checked in after a long flight to find we were in what could only be described as a box room..... this was ment to be a double with on suite.... You couldn't swing a cat even if you wanted too. Any way we decided to make the most of it so we showered, freshened up ready to explore this vibrant city. On reaching reception we decided to see if there were any other more suitable room available (we were prepared to pay as an upgrade) as we couldn't spend 5 days in the box room even just for sleeping! To our surprise they had spare rooms and we were shown to this and without hesitation we moved our things this room was double the size with family size bathroom etc. Two very happy customers.... Best of all we were not charged any extra..... Great American hospitality :) we had breakfast included which was nice although the choice was quite limiting and by day 4 I'd had enough of pancakes..... That said it is a great hotel in a perfect location to times square central park and the subway and when we return to New York would stay at the Wellington again. :)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nay14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

After reading a lot of these reviews on here, I was reluctant to go to this hotel on my first visit to New York. I'm 18 and visited with a friend, the hotel topped a great trip off!

I stayed on the 8th floor with a double/double suite, all of the rooms were large and clean, the bathroom was probably the only problem as it was a little small and cramped but its not as if you spend a great deal of time in there.

I think the value for money for what I got was quite good over there on a busy Easter weekend, so if money is a slight obstacle for you though I would definitely recommend this one which is about 200 USD a night.

Staff were friendly and courteous. I would go back

Room Tip: I requested a room with a view and high up, and also asked for an upgrade and got a suite so its wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sevsnape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wall Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

"Smoking room needs work-as always in a smoking room-big suite for the price!" Good location-got a suite for total $700 for 2 days-on bookit---room was big-actually 2 rooms. Bad rugs-heating but the place is acceptable compared to the price of their regular small room.

Room Tip: Suite had 2 beds and the one in the rear had no noise-great for NYC---Took a subway -2 blocks away d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gheim11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Stayed in corner room high up on 20th floor with a great double aspect view of 7th Ave and Times Square. Yes it is an old hotel but compared to the modern hotels in the locality it does have character. Room reasonably quiet, clean and adequate for our needs. Old radiator occasionally made some strange noises during the night and difficult to turn heating off fully, but windows easily opened. Situated beside Carnegie Hall and a couple of blocks away from Central Park and Times Square. We did not eat at hotel but the coffee shop always looked busy. No end of cafes and fast food take aways close by. Staff especially concierge cheerful and helpful. Booked all inclusive flight, transfers and hotel with Expedia...good value for a short break in NYC>

Room Tip: Ask for room 7th ave side. I think our room was in south block, corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 24Cox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#271 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,959 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#341 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16,966 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#226 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#149 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,850 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#305 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9,212 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#268 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Property: Wellington Hotel
Address: 871 7th Avenue at W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #320 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,696 - ₹ 25,275
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 618
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Nyc
Wellington New York City
Hotel Wellington New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing