We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location but make sure you are located a non smoking room!!”
Review of Wellington Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Wellington Hotel
Ranked #326 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent location but make sure you are located a non smoking room!!”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

This was mine and my boyfriends second time in the Wellington. We booked a last minute deal so got a week for £600 hotel and flight each which was great value.It is in an excellent location five minutes walk up the road to central park and five minutes down to times square. It only takes ten to walk across to 5th avenue and right next to the underground.the hotel itself is basic but what more do you need in a city that you spend most your time walking round. Our only negative experience this year was we were put in the left hand side of the hotel which seems to be the very run down end which is smoking rooms.the room felt dirty and everything smelt. As soon as we got in we requested to move to non smoking.although they could not do it until the next day they were very quick and sorting it out for us and we ended up with a lovely room with a view out onto 7th avenue. I would recommend when leavin the hotel you ask them to book you a car to the airport it is about 60 dollars with a tip included.cars at the airport will try and get 80 dollars from you so I would assume a regular taxi would do the same. The hotel use a company of black comfortable cars which makes the journey back to the airport very comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for non smoking on the right hand side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynsey N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

6,771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,248
    2,833
    1,704
    602
    384
See reviews for
1,723
2,423
335
332
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (980)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We have recently returned from a 3 night stay in New York. One word describes our trip - "wow". We had read about some of the negative comments on the Wellington Hotel and were a little concerned but we needn't have been. On checking in (which was quick and efficient) we were asked if we wanted to change from a double room to a two single bedded room - as it was mum and daughter we decided to change. We were on the 22nd floor, overlooking Times Square. The view was amazing. The room was clean, tidy and had everything you needed (flatscreen TV, clock, tissues, complimentary toiletries, iron and ironing board), although a kettle would have been nice, but we'd brought our own anyway. It was quite warm in the room but we just opened the window and kept it open even at night. We were that tired from sightseeing we had no trouble sleeping. It is noisy (all day and all night) but you're in New York, the city that never sleeps. If you want silence at night this is really not the place for you! The single beds (which were actually double beds) were extremely comfortable. The bathroom is small but you don't actually spend a great deal of time in a bathroom in New York. It had everything you needed, it all worked and it was clean

The lifts were fine (there are three of them) - yes, you sometimes had to wait a couple of minutes but so what? We were on the 22nd floor and didn't find it a problem. Make use of the safety deposit boxes at reception which are free of charge but $100 charge if you lose the key!

We found the staff very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We ate a couple of times at the diner next to the hotel. The food was excellent and very reasonably priced. Iced water was brought to you so you didn't need to order drinks if you were on a budget. The pancakes were delish!

TOP TIP - if you want tickets for a Broadway show don't buy them before you travel. Get them from the TKTS booth which sells show tickets for that evening at heavily discounted prices. MAJOR TOP TIP - don't bother with Times Square TKTS booth - get along to South Street Seaport TKTS booth (walking distance from the 9/11 memorial) - this opens at 11am (Times Square is later in the day) - we went there at 11.30am, there were no queues (we were the only ones there!) and we got tickets for Mary Poppins 50% off. We were seated in the second row from the front. On heading back to Times Square we waked past all the people queuing waiting for that one to open!! You can't afford to wait in a queue for several hours in New York, there's too much to see.

On the whole we loved it. It wasn't what we expected, it was better. We would have no hesitation in booking the Wellington Hotel again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RebeccaTwigg93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Have just returned from a five day trip to New York. Had read the reviews for this hotel and was a little concerned. But must say I was very impressed. I dont quite understand what these people expect. The hotel is not the Ritz but then you are not paying their rates. It is a budget hotel. More than comfortable and the location is ideal. All the main attractions are in easy walking district and there is a subway station outside the side exit. If you are going don't worry you will have a great time. PS/LS

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tsruhelpats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

To Summarise,
>Location-Very Good
>Service_Typical NYC--TIP/TIP/TIP/TIP----then still very brusque and no smiles
>Rooms_Looked out onto a yard which made me feel i was in the Bronx
>Air-con_Like a Jet Engine,NOISY and inefficient
>En Suite-Sat on the toilet i could rest my chin on the sink!
>Shower-coffin like
>No breakfast served
>Adjacent bar-ok-----don't like leaving my C/card behind the bar when i have a ta open
Do yourself a favour-spend a little more and stay someone else----you really only get what you pay for in NYC.
I,now always stay at the Plaza.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank northernroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

The hotel staff was very helpful and prompt in their assistance. The elevators were small and slow but served 27 floors. Our queen room looked like it was recently updated but was too HOT. We turned the unit to "cool" but it still put out warm air. We finally had to turn it off and kept a window open. The bathroom, while fixtures appeared new, was so tiny you could barely move around. We had trouble the 2nd night with a sluggish toilet. Not sure I would stay here again, although the location was very convenient, prices reasonable for NYC. A subway line was right outside the door, many restaurants nearby. Central Park just a few blocks to the north.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r23quilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 468 in New York City
11,081 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#346 of 468 in New York City
17,470 reviews
Midtown
Park Central Hotel New York
Park Central Hotel New York
#267 of 468 in New York City
4,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#231 of 468 in New York City
4,808 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#310 of 468 in New York City
9,321 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#153 of 468 in New York City
6,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Hotel

Property: Wellington Hotel
Address: 871 7th Avenue at W 55th St, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #326 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,566 - ₹ 26,620
Hotel Class:3 star — Wellington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 618
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wellington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel Nyc
Wellington New York City
Hotel Wellington New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing