We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,602)
Filter reviews
2,602 results
Traveller rating
1,396
931
172
56
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,396
931
172
56
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews upper west side museum of natural history central park amsterdam avenue nice martin new york columbia university attached restaurant great neighborhood subway line two blocks coffee maker wonderful hotel times square queen room hudson river business center
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 2,602 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Historic hotel has a welcoming, helpful staff. Great location in the upper west side, just a couple of blocks from Central Park. Very good breakfast spot at Nice Martin, located in the same building. Only reservation I have is it is time to redo most of the upholstered furniture, in the rooms and the lobby--getting a bit worn. Pull out bed in our suite is well beyond useful life--newer sofa beds are far more comfortable.

Stayed: November 2018
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Lucerne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We couldn’t be happier to hear that you appreciated our historical hotel on the Upper West Side, as well as breakfast at Nice Matin. It’s always a pleasure to know that our guests found our staff to be welcoming. We will pass along your concerns about our furniture, especially the pull out couch. We want all our guests to have a good night’s sleep. Thank you so much for taking time to leave us feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came to New York City to celebrate my Husbands 70th Birthday. We surprised him with his kids from all over the globe. My husband loves boutique hotels and the The Lucerne Hotel did not disappoint. The room was spacious and well-appointed, the bed was comfortable (the bday boy was upgraded), the amenities were amazing (toiletries, robes, slippers, umbrellas, etc.), the breakfast coupons where a plus, the location was perfect and the service was wonderful. I particularly want to thank Jemma and Kira at the front desk for keeping the surprise.

Stayed: November 2018
1  Thank kMoore001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This beautiful hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the city. We had a lovely stay here while visiting friends to watch their son run the NY marathon.
It was our second visit to the Lucerne and just as nice as we remembered from our previous stay. The staff are all courteous and helpful. Our room was spacious and well appointed with a very comfortable king-sized bed. And the restaurant right next door is excellent for breakfast. We will definitely be back!

Stayed: November 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank eczread
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewYorkHotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Lucerne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We’d like you to know that it means so very much to us that you continue return to The Lucerne Hotel. For that, we thank you. The Lucerne is a great place to stay, especially during marathon Sunday as the race finishes two blocks from our hotel. Our staff are a caring hardworking group and really go out of their way to make all of our guests feel at home. We couldn’t be happier that you were comfortable with your living space. Breakfast at Nice Matin is always a great way to start the day, their food is delicious! Thank you so much for your feedback and we really look forward to welcoming you back again next marathon Sunday, if not sooner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel was supposed to email me a receipt for my stay. They did not. I called three times already and emailed them once through their website. So far, more than a week later, no one has responded. Annoying.

I will ignore the fact that the room was located by a noisy vending machine and that I had to put a cushion to block the light coming from under the door.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sightseer01493859745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked two rooms for 2 nights each and paid close to $600/night for a room with 2 queen beds by the time “fees” and taxes were added.
Pros:
friendly welcoming and efficient check in and check out. Mattress comfortable.
Cons:
filthy cheap windows with clouded glass so could barely see out, dirty broken window shade. No soundproofing so traffic noise all night.
Outdated small bathroom with cracked floor tiles and chipped tub, lacking vanity mirror or towel racks so no place to hang towels (why bother with the note requesting guests to reuse them??).
Only one luggage rack, minuscule tiny closet with hanging rack so low clothes dragged on the floor.
$20/night facility fee added to the room rate is misleading since it is nothing more than a disguised price hike. You certainly don’t get anything for it that you wouldn’t already expect to come with a room costing this much. Standard hotel offerings like robe/slippers, milk for the coffee maker, fridge, etc. not provided.
Room was over heated, sheets were wrinkled and un ironed (given luxury pricing they could at least iron the darn sheets, but perhaps labor savings is more important to management than customer comfort!)
Beds were decorated with heavy damask quilt bedcovers and pillows which needed to be hauled away by the staff since there was no place to put them except on the floor.
Even the bedside light was inconvenient, you couldn’t reach the switch to turn it off without getting out of bed.
Cannot recommend at all, for this price, go elsewhere.

Stayed: November 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank aavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews