We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Fine Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lucerne Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Lucerne Hotel
Ranked #112 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Fine Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

I typically get to NYC once or twice a year. The Lucerne Hotel is becoming a favorite place to stay. It is situated in a great area, on West 79th street, between Broadway and Amsterdam. The neighborhood is vibrant and fun. There are many good restaurants and it is a block from the subway - line 1. It is a close walk to Central Park, Zabars, Lincoln Center and the Museum of Natural History. It is also a 10 minute subway ride (or pleasant 60 minute walk) to Columbia University. The rooms are very nice with comfortable bed, free internet, nice bathroom, flatscreen tv, and good design. There is a fitness center and restaurant. The staff has been very helpful and friendly each visit. A wonderful base for NYC.

Room Tip: Request a larger two bed room overlooking Amsterdam and 79th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beagle16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,243
    796
    136
    42
    33
See reviews for
724
643
131
324
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYS Capital Region
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

This was not our first choice, but the hotel we usually stay at in this part of town was not available to us. What a lucky break, as this place was wonderful! Everything about it is excellent, from the doorman taking your luggage right through the whole stay. Everyone was friendly and accommodating. The desk staff was professional, friendly and knowledgeable. The rooms were about the size you would expect for Manhattan, but were immaculate and comfortable. My room was up high, and extremely quiet, but not much oa view. My colleagues were on lower floors, facing the street, but they said their rooms were quiet, too. The hallways, elevators and lobby were immaculate. The heat/ac worked well and was very quiet. The doormen opened the doors each time you left and returned and always greeted you, which is something lost in most places. The area around the hotel is filled with great places to eat and shop, and is only minutes away from busses or subway, and taxi service is always available. You are also right near the Museum of Natural History/Hayden Planetarium, only a few minutes’ walk. All in all, this will now become our first choice for a hotel in this area.

Room Tip: The higher rooms are quieter, but if possible take a street side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thegormandizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westwood, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
250 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We visit New York every year or so and stay at the Lucerne Hotel. Having been going ever since our children were toddlers and we have always had a welcome reception by the staff. Since our last visit the rooms and hallways have been updated. The beds were very comfortable. Our room overlooked the corner of 78 and Amserdam and even though we were on the ninth floor could hear traffic in the early morning. Bathroom and rooms were very clean.

Every morning we got breakfast from the Fairway Market (around 75 and Broadway) which had an incredible selection of baked goods (my husband loved the almond crossiants) for breakfast. Rugalah from Zabars. We love the location just 2 blocks from the American Museum of Natural History and Central Park. Walking around the upper West Side is delightful. Went to Knitty City(across the street), Insomnia Cookies (across the street) Max GA (Broadway and 79) a store full of quirky toys that my 9 year old daughter loved, Celeste (small Italian restaurant on Amsterdam and 85th). Even walked to the Guggenheim.

Room Tip: We didn't ask for an upgrade and were given a deluxe double instead of a regular double. Lower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swansfromBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
145 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Everything I want in a business hotel. Large room (by NYC standards). Nicely decorated, great bathroom, quiet, competitively priced, good free internet, close to subway (Line 1 at 79th Street) This will be my NYC base when I am in town from now on.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the central light well are completely silent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Butterstoneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

What more could you ask for than a great LANDMARKED beautiful building on the upper west side! The staff always remembered me and my family by name. The Bell Staff in particular excel at what they do. Rooms can be a bit small but you get a great price. Another hotel in another part of the city would be much more. Pick wisely because if your looking to party then this is not the hotel for you. 1 block to the subway, a block from the American Museum of Natural History, and 2 blocks to Central Park. Great restaurants all around the hotel. Very happy we stayed at The Lucerne!!!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back and higher up are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#183 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,867 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#228 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,303 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#52 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
The Milburn Hotel
The Milburn Hotel
#199 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#247 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#303 of 477 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lucerne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lucerne Hotel

Property: The Lucerne Hotel
Address: 201 West 79th Street, New York City, NY 10024-6200
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Spa Hotel in New York City
#46 Family Hotel in New York City
#62 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#89 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#96 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,250 - ₹ 34,856
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lucerne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lucerne offers New York City visitors luxury accommodations in the heart of Manhattan's posh Upper West Side. The Lucerne's building is a treasured landmark built in 1904 that recently underwent a multi-million dollar renovation. The result is European-inspired architectural charm combined with sophisticated and modern accommodations. The Lucerne's guestrooms and suites represent the ultimate in comfort. Featuring full-size work desks, plush bedding, this luxury Manhattan hotel caters to your every need. Business and leisure travelers will appreciate The Lucerne's complimentary high-speed WiFi and printing services. It's no wonder then that The New York Times' review of The Lucerne proclaimed: "Service unrivalled." Enjoy breakfast, lunch, and dinner at the hotel's Nice Matin restaurant and sidewalk cafe, a popular destination beloved by both locals and tourists. Every Thursday evening, wind down with some wine during The Lucerne's complimentary wine hour, located in the hotel lobby. The Lucerne is just a short subway ride to Lincoln Center and walking distance of the American Museum of Natural History, The Children's Museum of Manhattan, Columbus Circle, Riverside Park, Central Park, and several fine restaurants, specialty boutiques, and cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your The Lucerne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucerne Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing