We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Side YMCA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
West Side YMCA
Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed here for 10 days in 2008 with a friend. We chose this hostel because of the low prices and the good location. The room was very small, but clean enough. The showers in the hall were not in the best shape though. The staff seemed nice. It is also a safe place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    430
    399
    168
    142
See reviews for
108
223
357
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Stayed 2 nites,one room was average bit dirty and not too nice,got moved to another room the next nite which was much newer and nicer.

Good location ,cheap for new york

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chiefsullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

I Stayed at the West Side YMCA between 30th March and 3rd April 2012 with a friend. We had one of the non refurbished rooms. The staff on the front desk seemed pleasant and friendly.

The main thing that attracted us to stay here was the price. It was by far the cheapest place we could find available within walking distance of Manhattan, and we were expecting a hostel like experience and that is what we got.

We were in room 1174. The room had bunk beds, which were made of wood and very creaky. There was a table/desk which took up much of the space in the room, and then there was a (barely watchable due to picture quality) TV on the desk which took up most of the surface space - there was nowhere to put stuff in the room. The room was very warm (it was possibly next to a heating duct), the window did not open but there was a air conditioning unit which just about kept the temperature bearable. The most crazy thing about the room was that the light switch was motion activated. The first two nights this was not a problem - but then the third night whenever one of us rolled over in our sleep the light would come on waking us both up, which was very annoying. We stuck a leaflet over the sensor the last night to stop this from happening again. There is no maid service as such but they did come in and change the towels a couple of times during our stay.

The bathrooms on our floor were of the communal type. They were clean. For the men there were 3 toilets, 2 urinals, 4 sinks and 3 showers (of which one was broken throughout our visit). Many of the rooms on our floor seemed to be occupied by a largely male German college group which put a fair bit of pressure on the male bathroom. I never had to wait for a toilet or a sink but sometimes there would be people waiting for a shower. These waits could generally be avoided by going down a floor where an identical bathroom was available. There was also a large number of showers available in the fitness suite on the 3rd floor which I would have gone to had it been really busy. The shower curtains could have done with being a little bit bigger - they were not quite the width of the stall and you could see round the edges a bit and it was easy to inadvertently "expose" yourself to people waiting outside if you accidentally knocked the curtain! Take a plastic bag with you to put your things in whilst using the shower so they dont get wet!

Downstairs there was a cafe on the 1st floor which sold breakfasts and lunch, some internet PCs and Wifi. The third floor had a swimming pool, gym etc which are free to use for guests - if you want to go swimming take a swimming cap.

We got to the YMCA from Newark airport by public transport - used the New Jersey Transit train to get from the Airport to Penn Station and then the No1 Subway from Penn to Columbus Circle which is a short walk away. If you are going to use the Subway a fair bit to get around get the $29 7 day Metrocard, which would have worked out cheaper for us than the Pay and Go Metrocard we went for. If you plan on visiting the Statue of Liberty/Ellis Island during your visit I would strongly advise you to pre book on-line and get an early boat as we did - the queues looked horrendous later in the day.

After checking out on our last day we left out bags here for the day - $1 per bag. I would stay here again if I was visiting NYC - its affordable accommodation in a great location, especially ideal for people who do not plan to use the place for much more than washing and sleeping.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rtl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte NC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

This is a HOSTEL not a HOTEL!! Super convenient and safe upper west side NYC location! Easy to get to from LGA via Bus M60 to 125th St & M10 south to 63rd St. (Not so easy from JFK.) Our 13th floor room had a view of Central Park 1/2 block away from the Y. We even caught the sunrise over NYC/Central Pk from that window 4/5/12.
YMCA West Side is located 3 short blocks from Columbus Circle where there is a superb Whole Foods with a wide selection of prepared foods at reasonable prices. There is a dining area in the store as well as a small pub with local beers available on tap. Lincoln Center is two blocks away as well as convenient bus and subway stops. Times Square and Rock Center are a doable walk or an easy bus/subway ride away. And of course, Central Park is RIGHT THERE!
If you are looking for a HOTEL this is NOT a good choice for you. However, having stayed in several HOSTELS in the UK and Europe, this place ranks well ABOVE the AVG hostel. The only comparable downside is a lack of access to kitchen facilities BUT that keeps the bugs at bay, too.
Book your room on the top two renovated floors where it is a bit pricier but you have access to individual new CLEAN bathrooms - perhaps 12 on the long hall. Request a room away from school groups (they stayed on the 9th and 10th floors while we were there). Some of those groups were a bit rowdy at night but not scary – just teenagers away from home and in a foreign country. The only time the bathrooms were the least bit unclean was after maybe 10 people had showered in the morning. Plenty of HOT water and great water pressure in the showers, too. Try to shower before the 7 am rush or at night. Several reviewers noted taking your own disinfectant spray if you are squeamish (you can buy some at the corner Jaros store across the street). And always wear your rubber flipflops in the shower.
Even the renovated rooms are spartan & small – maybe 10 feet by 9 feet. We were out being tourists 12 hours a day so we were fine with a hot shower and quiet place to sleep. Our bunkbeds were adequate and stable. The mattresses in our room were plastic covered but only about 3 inches thick and VERY firm. I HIGHLY recommend buying an "egg crate" foam pad to sleep on - put it under the fitted sheet. It makes a huge difference in sleeping comfort. You can buy one at the Bed Bath & Beyond 2 blocks away on Broadway at 65th St. for less than $20. (Then leave it behind for the next person – it’s too bulky to pack unless you have a vacuum and can “space bag” it.) A Therm-A-Rest pad would work – if you want to bring your own. As far as bugs go, we did not see any in the building during our 4 night stay March 31-April 4, 2012.
The security is high in this location with cameras inside all halls and personnel on duty at all times that I was out in the halls. All but one staff member were friendly and helpful.
I personally would not take children younger than 10 years old to stay here because the rooms are so small.
The elevators are really fast and available at almost all times. I believe they are shared with other YMCA functions such as pool, fitness, and classrooms so we had to wait a couple of times. Great place to stay for a reasonable price. Cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: Book your room on the top two renovated floors (12 & 13) where it is a bit pricier but you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

1.) Twin mattress creaked (loudly) whenever I adjusted myself. Mattress thin enough to feel frame beneath.
2.) Maid disregarded Do Not Disturb sign - twice. Took my personal towels.
3.) Communal showers dirty. Reserve room with private bathroom if possible.
4.) Location is awesome.
5.) Staff friendly, helpful.
6.) Great exercise facilities.

I so appreciate my own bed and bathroom after my 5 day stay. Next visit, I would gladly pay a little more for better accomodations, even if a distance away.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karlcolbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York City Central Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York ...
#394 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#314 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,602 reviews
Midtown
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
#296 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#50 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Midtown
The Vanderbilt YMCA
The Vanderbilt YMCA
#21 of 166 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Upper West Side
Hostelling International - New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Side YMCA? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Side YMCA

Property: West Side YMCA
Address: 5 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023-7162
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 166 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,709 - ₹ 10,618
Hotel Class:2 star — West Side YMCA 2*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off Central Park West and steps from the Columbus Circle transit hub, our New York hostel guest rooms offer private Single and Bunk rooms that provide a home away from home for nearly 130,000 International and Domestic budget travelers each year. Our ideal location in NYC allows guests to enjoy the beauty of Central Park, the energy of Times Square and world famous cultural institutions including Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall and the Museum of Natural History. As a hotel guest of the West Side YMCA, you can enjoy FREE use of our 65,000 square foot Health and Wellness Facility - including two indoor swimming pools. We're easily accessible to all NYC public transportation - uptown, downtown, cross-town buses, and the 1,A,C,E,B,D,N subway lines.Guest Rooms Facilities Include Cable TV, Shared Bathrooms on each floor (some private facilities)Air-conditioning, Housekeeping - Clean Linens and Towels provided. Elevator BuildingAround the clock check-in24 hour securityFree WiFi in lobby areaSafe Deposit boxesNo Curfew ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your West Side YMCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Side Ymca Hotel New York City
Ymca New York
New York City Ymca
Ymca West Side New York
Ymca Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing