We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Oh come on now, it's not as bad as all that!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Side YMCA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
West Side YMCA
East Midlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Oh come on now, it's not as bad as all that!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I travel quite a bit. I've stayed in places with marble floors to the walk-in closets (The Seoul Plaza - a quite splendid hotel) and places of such horror and terror that closing your eyes at night seemed like an impossible dare (some flea pit near Kings Cross station in London, whose name I have thankfully blanked from my memory).
Although it is true to say say that the West Side Y is closer to flea pit than palace that's a simplistic and unfair comparison to make: let me tell you why.
1. The decor – to be fair the material make-up of the rooms is Spartan, and sometimes looks like it got into a street fight (and lost). But the rooms are always clean.
2. Yes, you share a bathroom. So for me that meant my students might walk in while I'm in the shower: if I can live with that thought you can live with the thought of a stranger seeing your derrière. Get over it, everyone is an adult and should be the same gender as you (unless you are doing something you shouldn't be). Unless you're very lucky you won't have anything they've not seen (and visa versa).
3. The other guests. My students told me they had read tales online of freakshows wandering the corridors – not so. Everyone I saw was decently clothed (except for a pair of my towel-clad students, which I apologize for), sober and well behaved. If strange things happened while you were there I'd look to your travelling companions not the hotel.
4. The staff – the staff are at least professional and best rather lovely. There is a scary lady at the lobby entrance, but this is NYC, it's in her job description. If you get poor service my advice is to run a check on your own manners: these guys are on lower wages than they are at The Plaza, their incentive to tolerate bad manners is lower; but treat them with courtesy and they respond in kind.
5. The food is OK for snacking purposes. I'd avoid it a part of a regular diet. Go to the La Parisienne Coffee House on 7th near the Park for an excellent breakfast, or the Brooklyn Diner (212 W 57th St) for lunch (Rootbeer Float – hhhhhhhm!).
6. The place has a great location and is crazy cheap for Manhattan.
I've never seen vermin there (and I've stayed there twice). I did see a roach next to the Empire State building, by the loby of a posh office block, it was huge. But never at the YMCA.
To sum up: It looks a bit rough, it's quiet enough to sleep in, the beds are clean and comfortable, the bathrooms are communal but fine,* and the location is awesome.

* Note: I'm going to qualify that statement. The bathrooms are fine if you take a little spray bottle of bleach. They are cleaned regularly, but the other guests are not always as careful while away as they would be in their own homes. I'd also recommend a set of sucker hooks, that way you can hang all your clothes up (but then what kind of traveller doesn't take sucker hooks with them?)

Room Tip: Go for the 12th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wandering_Bukanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    423
    391
    164
    137
See reviews for
106
218
351
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

You get what you pay for. This is certainly the case in this place. Staying in a room with a friend, we had prison style bunkbeds, a view of another building which backed on to the place and not a lot else.

But, it was very cheap and in a great location.

The shared bathrooms were acceptable, but on one occasion we did see a dead cockroach..not nice. I would recommend you to bring flip flops!

Room Tip: Paying the extra however much it is for an upgrade is probably worth it here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Its cheap, its close to everything, you get a decent bed and a good night sleep, with not so clean bathroom but its not that bad either. I always go back to the westside YMCA because its in a good location. 5-7 min. Walk to times square, 1 min. To central park, 3min. To subway so hey, if you're only there to sleep its a good value. And its not noisy which is a major plus in downtown NYC.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

As with everything in life you only get what you pay for and the West Side YMCA certainly lives up to that cliché. The rooms themselves were functional, you got a bunk bead, a tv (if it worked), a desk, lamp and alcove to store your luggage. The shared bathrooms are however inadequate for their purpose, 3 showers for an entire floor is disgraceful however you either get up early or travel to other floors to shower - both of which I did. One of the plus points is that the staff I dealt with were incredibly friendly and made you feel very welcome. The security staff were friendly as well and were more than happy to help. Security was incredibly strict which improved my perception of the hostel and made me feel safe staying there.
I would definitely stay here again, it's location is perfect and is excellent value for money. However I would certainly book an en-suite room.

Room Tip: If you're lucky you might get a view of central park by straining your neck out of the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ss003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stayed here over new year and in terms of quality you really do get what you pay for. The room was small, and the bed creaky. The shared bathrooms were truly awful, with a flimsy shower curtain separating you from the world.

The corridors have an air of foreboding that would be inspirational if you were Stephen King, but otherwise are just plain creepy!

Staff aren't up to much, pretty blunt and not interested in anything but the basics!

Having said all that, the location is second to none. 1 minute from Central Park, 10 minutes from Times Square. And at Christmas and New Year you really can't put a price on that!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RovingK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York City Central Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York ...
#394 of 463 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#320 of 463 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,346 reviews
Midtown
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
#283 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#61 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Midtown
The Vanderbilt YMCA
The Vanderbilt YMCA
#21 of 168 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Harlem
The Harlem YMCA
The Harlem YMCA
#24 of 168 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Side YMCA? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Side YMCA

Property: West Side YMCA
Address: 5 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 168 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,661 - ₹ 10,163
Hotel Class:2 star — West Side YMCA 2*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off Central Park West and steps from the Columbus Circle transit hub, our New York hostel guest rooms offer private Single and Bunk rooms that provide a home away from home for nearly 130,000 International and Domestic budget travelers each year. Our ideal location in NYC allows guests to enjoy the beauty of Central Park, the energy of Times Square and world famous cultural institutions including Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall and the Museum of Natural History. As a hotel guest of the West Side YMCA, you can enjoy FREE use of our 65,000 square foot Health and Wellness Facility - including two indoor swimming pools. We're easily accessible to all NYC public transportation - uptown, downtown, cross-town buses, and the 1,A,C,E,B,D,N subway lines.Guest Rooms Facilities Include Cable TV, Shared Bathrooms on each floor (some private facilities)Air-conditioning, Housekeeping - Clean Linens and Towels provided. Elevator BuildingAround the clock check-in24 hour securityFree WiFi in lobby areaSafe Deposit boxesNo Curfew ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your West Side YMCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Side Ymca Hotel New York City
Ymca New York
New York City Ymca
Ymca West Side New York
Ymca Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing