We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'OK' is probably the best word for this place”
Review of West Side YMCA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
West Side YMCA
London
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“'OK' is probably the best word for this place”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

You get what you pay for. This is certainly the case in this place. Staying in a room with a friend, we had prison style bunkbeds, a view of another building which backed on to the place and not a lot else.

But, it was very cheap and in a great location.

The shared bathrooms were acceptable, but on one occasion we did see a dead cockroach..not nice. I would recommend you to bring flip flops!

Room Tip: Paying the extra however much it is for an upgrade is probably worth it here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    441
    410
    177
    149
See reviews for
113
228
370
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Its cheap, its close to everything, you get a decent bed and a good night sleep, with not so clean bathroom but its not that bad either. I always go back to the westside YMCA because its in a good location. 5-7 min. Walk to times square, 1 min. To central park, 3min. To subway so hey, if you're only there to sleep its a good value. And its not noisy which is a major plus in downtown NYC.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

As with everything in life you only get what you pay for and the West Side YMCA certainly lives up to that cliché. The rooms themselves were functional, you got a bunk bead, a tv (if it worked), a desk, lamp and alcove to store your luggage. The shared bathrooms are however inadequate for their purpose, 3 showers for an entire floor is disgraceful however you either get up early or travel to other floors to shower - both of which I did. One of the plus points is that the staff I dealt with were incredibly friendly and made you feel very welcome. The security staff were friendly as well and were more than happy to help. Security was incredibly strict which improved my perception of the hostel and made me feel safe staying there.
I would definitely stay here again, it's location is perfect and is excellent value for money. However I would certainly book an en-suite room.

Room Tip: If you're lucky you might get a view of central park by straining your neck out of the window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ss003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stayed here over new year and in terms of quality you really do get what you pay for. The room was small, and the bed creaky. The shared bathrooms were truly awful, with a flimsy shower curtain separating you from the world.

The corridors have an air of foreboding that would be inspirational if you were Stephen King, but otherwise are just plain creepy!

Staff aren't up to much, pretty blunt and not interested in anything but the basics!

Having said all that, the location is second to none. 1 minute from Central Park, 10 minutes from Times Square. And at Christmas and New Year you really can't put a price on that!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RovingK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these New York City hotels

England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Having read the reviews on here before i left i did not expect to be staying in very good accommodation. I shall start with the service. The people in the ymca were not very polite and were quite blunt. The cleaners looked dodgy. As for the facilities, where do i start! The bunk beds were not stable at all and me and the my room mate had to take the bed apart in fear that the bed could not take two 14 stone men. I also had several stains on my pillow, which was not too pleasant. The tv made funny noises all the time when it was turned off but other than that the rooms were fine...
My worst problem were the bathrooms! The toilets had too much water in them therefore there was a 'splash back' whenever you went to the toilet. On one of my visits there i found a cockroach in the far toilet on the 9th floor! The showers were fine but the fact there was only 3 to share with a whole floor was not very pleasant.
Overall despite the location suitability i found the place vile and would have happily payed a higher price for somewhere less closer to the the many site of the city!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York City Central Park
La Quinta Inn & Suites New York ...
#360 of 467 in New York City
182 reviews
Upper West Side
Empire Hotel
Empire Hotel
#340 of 467 in New York City
6,094 reviews
Midtown
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
6 Columbus - A SIXTY Hotel
#307 of 467 in New York City
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Trump International Hotel and Tower New York
Trump International Hotel and To...
#107 of 467 in New York City
1,268 reviews
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#54 of 467 in New York City
1,459 reviews
Midtown
The Vanderbilt YMCA
The Vanderbilt YMCA
#19 of 164 in New York City
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Side YMCA? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Side YMCA

Property: West Side YMCA
Address: 5 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023-7162
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 164 Speciality Lodging in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,648 - ₹ 11,616
Hotel Class:2 star — West Side YMCA 2*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off Central Park West and steps from the Columbus Circle transit hub, our New York hostel guest rooms offer private Single and Bunk rooms that provide a home away from home for nearly 130,000 International and Domestic budget travelers each year. Our ideal location in NYC allows guests to enjoy the beauty of Central Park, the energy of Times Square and world famous cultural institutions including Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall and the Museum of Natural History. As a hotel guest of the West Side YMCA, you can enjoy FREE use of our 65,000 square foot Health and Wellness Facility - including two indoor swimming pools. We're easily accessible to all NYC public transportation - uptown, downtown, cross-town buses, and the 1,A,C,E,B,D,N subway lines.Guest Rooms Facilities Include Cable TV, Shared Bathrooms on each floor (some private facilities)Air-conditioning, Housekeeping - Clean Linens and Towels provided. Elevator BuildingAround the clock check-in 24 hour security Free WiFi in lobby area Safe Deposit boxes No Curfew ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your West Side YMCA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Side Ymca Hotel New York City
Ymca New York
New York City Ymca
Ymca West Side New York
Ymca Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing