We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Michelangelo Hotel
Ranked #43 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2012

This was really great hotel for us. Very clean and fancy, at that time pretty good prices. The stuff was not the most hospitable, but other than that everything was great.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,584)
There are newer reviews for The Michelangelo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,382 - 2,386 of 3,584 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2012

I have stayed here a number of times because it is convenient to my office in Manhattan. I come back because it is familiar, close and fairly priced. The staff is ok, and the rooms are ok. The lounge/bar is small but comfortable. The lobby is starting to feel worn, and the rooms seem dated. Without an upgrade soon it will certainly begin to feel like it is past its prime.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BT1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I had read some reviews that the rooms were small, noisy, etc, but we had a fantastic room and the staff was most excellent. The front desk bumped us up to a nicer room without us asking, and it was gorgeous.big bathroom, private WC, marble. Comfy king bed, sitting area.

Some noise is expected in any city, but this was less than expected, and we were on fifth floor.

Great location. Quiet, safe, close to 30Rock, Times Sq, more! Great brewery restaurant a half block away called Heartland.

We will definitely go back again!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ScottEvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

For the past few years my husband and I have celebrated our Wedding Anniverary at The Michelangelo Hotel - 51st at the corner of 7th Avenue. If you wish to visit Carnegie Hall, Lincoln Center, Broadway theatre, fantastic restaurants, this hotel boasts a prime location. In addition, rather than feeling the hustle and bustle of 7th Avenue, immediately upon entering the beautiful, well-appointed lobby, one feels as if one might be in a lovely Italian City. The Itailan marble, sculptures, paintings....yes, it must be Italy! I travel to Italy as I lead my Weissman Teen Tour groups of students every summer and have stayed in Starhotels, of which the Michelangelo is a member, in several Italian destinations. Thus, when I learned that there was a Starhotel in NYC, I had to visit. I have been coming back ever since.

The service, although uneven at times, is generally very good and the Italian pastries and coffee served every morning is a wonderful Italian touch. The rooms that I have been in do need updating. They have been a bit dark-nothing that better lighting wouldn't take care of. Carpets need to be changed, TV's have been broken, but all in all, with a bit of sprucing up, this hotel has the potential to be magnificent.

Room Tip: More light facing the street-7th Ave
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ronales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

Everyone was very friendly,location was great. Lobby bar was great to relax and get away from the crowds.Room was clean and quiet!!! Bathroom had all the personal touches and great terry robe.Great place to stay..........

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LINNY001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#27 of 468 in New York City
2,392 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#39 of 468 in New York City
2,814 reviews
Midtown
The Bryant Park Hotel
The Bryant Park Hotel
#11 of 468 in New York City
3,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#23 of 468 in New York City
2,903 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Michelangelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Michelangelo Hotel

Address: 152 West 51st Street, between 6th and 7th Avenues, New York City, NY 10019-6813
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in New York City
#31 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#35 Business Hotel in New York City
#39 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 20,305 - ₹ 46,661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Michelangelo Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be our guest! You will be honored with all the attention and impeccable service you deserve. Experience a place that captures the imagination and attention of the world. So close to NY's Theatre District, Times Square's entertainment and corporate headquarters, proximity to Rockefeller Center--you are in the perfect corner of the city for all you wish to do. With meeting and personal event facilities, plan a perfect event with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Michelangelo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo Hotel New York City
Michelangelo New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing