We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“first class stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #364 of 467 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersBronze level
newcastle upon tyne, uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“first class stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

stayed for a week june 2011 first class stay, room size average for New York but well equipped, comfortable beds with good clean linens, nice and clean bathroom well equipped with hair dryer etc, small fridge, safe, and flat screen tv, air con worked well not to noisey, overall happy with room. The hotel itself was well presented, nice bar and welcoming staff, doormen in particular were always poilite and happy to pass the time of day, work permitting. Overall a very nice stay and would recommend its consideration.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanddancer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    698
    804
    375
    184
    120
See reviews for
321
765
145
527
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

I stayed for two nights and was kept awake by the loud noise of a generator of some sort outside my room window. The hotel was being used for filming and that seemed to be the priority of the management and not the guests unable to easily use the lobby and dining areas. Also, taken aback that luggage had to be carried down a flight of stairs on arrival without assistance. Certainly, not recommended for the frail and anyone requiring a peaceful night's sleep.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tilak S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenCullen9, Manager at Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Tilak S -

Thank you for your feedback! I regret that you were impacted by the filming of “Smash” at the hotel last week. I’m interested to learn more about the issue of noise outside your guest room window and would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you as well as offering you a verbal apology for your disappointment in your stay at the Carlton. Please contact me at scullen@carltonhotelny.com and we will schedule a time to speak. I do hope to hear from you!

Many thanks,
Stephen Cullen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We went to new york for our wedding anniversary and chose to stay here. We were so pleased we had because it really was lovely. The lobby was very impressive and our room was perfect. We booked days out through the concierge team who were consistently helpful. Housekeeping were friendly and kept our room immaculate. The location was just right. We were close to several subway stations which made getting around new york very easy. We'll definitely choose to stay here on our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaniW1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Lovely art-deco hotel in a great location. We were near the Empire States building, 5th Ave and Broadway. Our room was furnished to a high-spec and bathroom was well supplied with Molton Brown products etc. The bar was really funky, with cool live music and good selection of drinks but it was quiet on Saturday and Sunday nights. Breakfast was really good, we ate there twice and got a seat on the balcony each morning. A friend recommended this hotel and I would recommend it to others. A great base for a wonderful trip to NYC. Loved it!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy-Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bennington, VT
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

I've stayed here a number of times and I can tell you all rooms at the Carlton are not equal...some nicer or less nice than others. Most rooms are small, but not unusual for NYC. The lobby is impressive and much nicer than most rooms you'll see. Some rooms need update and rehab. The prices very so much at this hotel... there are times you can get a good deal, which is why I end up staying there. The local is central in a quiet area, which appeals to many people.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lodiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#151 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
Manhattan
The Redbury New York
The Redbury New York
#297 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Midtown
The Lexington New York City, Autograph Collection
The Lexington New York City, Aut...
#289 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#48 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#121 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,244 reviews
Manhattan
The Marcel at Gramercy
The Marcel at Gramercy
#159 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 88 Madison Avenue, New York City, NY 10016
Region: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Green Hotel in New York City
#193 Family Hotel in New York City
#210 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#212 Business Hotel in New York City
#228 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,169 - ₹ 33,061
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A midtown Manhattan luxury boutique hotel located near the Empire State Building, Union Square and other New York City attractions. Offers vacation packages and special offers, as well as meeting and event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel, Autograph Collection Hotel New York City
Carlton Madison Avenue
Carlton On Madison Avenue Hotel
New York Carlton
Carlton Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing