We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location hotel”
Review of The Belvedere

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Belvedere
Ranked #208 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent location hotel”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We recently visited New York with our two daughters (24 & 19). All of us love the theatre and so we decided to stay at The Belvedere which is just off Times Square. It couldn't have been better placed. A stone's throw from the theatres, grey-line buses, bars and restaurants and a short walk to the subway and a only a 10 minute walk in the opposite direction to the piers to take a boat down to South St Seaport and the Statue of Liberty. It was a very easy walk to Central Park and in fact we walked to most of the main attractions. The hotel itself is not exactly chic and is a little out of date but the location more than makes up for it. The lifts are very small and you usually have to wait a while but the staff were courteous and there is a fabulous little restaurant almost next door which is very friendly. The bathrooms were adequate and although kept clean were not new but perfectly working. Our rooms had two extremely comfortable double beds in each and the benefit of a sink, fridge and microwave so we didn't always have to eat out which helped to keep the costs down a bit and there is a grocery store nearby. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Our room faced the front of the hotel, not sure if another angle would be quieter, we were on the 6t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank crumblina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,983
    2,348
    598
    207
    117
See reviews for
1,727
1,397
138
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (739)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Stayed here on a recent trip to New York. If you're wanting somewhere close to Times Square but just slightly off the beaten track and therefore near restaurants etc which aren't too expensive then this is the place to stay. Rooms are comfortable and staff are friendly. Subway stations aren't too far away to get you to the rest of the city or you can just walk everywhere as we did. If I'm going back to New York then I know where to stay......!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mareuil-Sur-Lay-Dissais, France
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Good and clean hotel near Times Square.
The room was very comfortable and very clean and so was the bathroom.
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trails60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

Most of my visits to New York find me in the less touristed parts of the city, or the boroughs, but for attending a recent conference at the AMA on Eighth and B'way, this seemed like the perfect spot. And it was. A short two blocks to the conference in one direction, and some great bars and restaurants in the other, on Ninth. The show I wanted to see, just happned to be on 48th as well. The staff was friendly enough, the room was clean and quiet, and the amenities were slightly above par. If you are hoping for a view, you'll need something on a higher floor. I was in the back, on 3, with just a view of the fire escapes of the apartment building on 49th. Not bad for a conference, when you are only in the room for a few days to sleep. But it is certainly not the skyline view that first-time tourists might crave. All in all, you can't beat this place for comfort, location, and certainly price.

Room Tip: Room 313 is next to the elevator. Maybe a little noise, but certainly convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rwckennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeville
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2012

This is a great hotel to book for the weekend. We had an executive double guest room. Great room for three ladies and our stuff, in addition to all the shopping we did. Great location, clean, quiet (we were on eighth floor). Booked thru Travelocity, great price in comparison to other hotels in the area. When we go back for another relaxing weekend, this will be where we stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#147 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,854 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#134 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,882 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Edison Times Square
Hotel Edison Times Square
#306 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 9,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Manhattan at Times Square Hotel
The Manhattan at Times Square Ho...
#292 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,989 reviews
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel New York City Times Square
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#342 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belvedere

Property: The Belvedere
Address: 319 West 48th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1331
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#165 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#168 Family Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,854 - ₹ 26,484
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Belvedere 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of New York City’s theater district, The Belvedere Hotel in Manhattan is a hidden jewel within walking distance of Broadway’s best theaters. Built during the 1920’s Art Deco period, The Belvedere Hotel impresses guests with its elegant ambiance and comfortable lodging accommodations, all complemented by a friendly and helpful staff. The Belvedere’s spacious rooms, earthy tones, and endless amenities provide a relaxing retreat from the bright lights of the big city.The Belvedere’s central location in midtown Manhattan offers easy access to the best the Big Apple has to offer, including Broadway shows, fine dining, unparalleled shopping, and historic landmarks. Whether you’re traveling to New York City for business or pleasure, this luxurious hotel has something for everyone. Its room service, dining options, fitness center, business center, and special offers will make your stay at The Belvedere a central part of what is sure to be an unforgettable visit to New York City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Belvedere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere New York City
Belvedere Hotel New York City
Belvedere Hotel Nyc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing