We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Missing the Algonquin” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
Ranked #174 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Missing the Algonquin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We travel to New York City many times during the year and always stay at the Algonquin. We have found the Algonquin to be our favorite hotel of all others that we have stayed. The lobby is a great extension of your room and you can relax there to have a drink or coffee in the morning. Perhaps the best quality of the hotel is the wonderful staff that always makes you feel at home. The hotel respects history and makes you feel part of the history of New York. We have stayed in other very nice hotels while the hotel is being renovated but none can come close to the Algonquin. Hurry back!

Room Tip: The suites are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthSBorland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    814
    643
    188
    103
    61
See reviews for
274
779
117
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

A weekend in New York at the Algonquin.

Wonderfully eccentric, steeped in NYC history, old-fashioned service and values, all refreshing to me but maybe an acquired taste.

Incredible location just off Times Square.

Rooms tiny, air-con noisy, lifts miniscule, New Yorker cartoon wallpaper wonderful, great cocktails just a collage of fascinating people in the lounge and lobby.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Nice atmosphere; closed for badly needed renovations; I hope the bathrooms and elevators are redone. Colors inside are dark. brighten the place up. Staff is plesant. Meals are overpriced.

Room Tip: close to times square, but overpriced. wait until after renovations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drmgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
137 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

This was my first trip to NYC for new years. Had a blast.

The hotel was very nice and the lobby area was beautifully decorated but.. Small rooms (okay it is time square) and the elevator took Forever!

The hotel was being closed for renevations the day we checked so. I would deff try them again and look forward to staying after the renovations are completed.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jasonf1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2012

Booked a package with their package service and it was a complete disaster. My transportation was overpriced (ask the hotel to book it directly), The lady who"helped" me was from new york guest and was so rude. they were charging a ticket delivery fee that was like $100.00 on top of the ticket price and i said, forget it ill just get them from your office. She was so rude about it and said that I couldnt do that.Her name was kelly kat something or other. I asked why booking a package was saving me money when i could have booked everything separately and she said it was"the service"It was just awful, the tickets were late and not even the right seating locations. I should have known after talking with kelly, she was a nightmare. Just save yourself money and problems by booking on your own. My husband and I were so mad but were pleased with the hotel itself

Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank louise h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#33 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,273 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#58 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,988 reviews
Midtown
Royalton New York Hotel
Royalton New York Hotel
#226 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
Cassa Hotel 45th Street New York
#107 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,881 reviews
Midtown
Renaissance New York Times Square Hotel
Renaissance New York Times Squar...
#166 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,206 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection

Property: The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection
Address: 59 W 44th St, Between Fifth & Sixth Ave, New York City, NY 10036-6613
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Green Hotel in New York City
#105 Family Hotel in New York City
#117 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#127 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#130 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,484 - ₹ 51,844
Hotel Class:4 star — The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection(R), is an AAA Four Diamond luxury hotel located just a block from the lights of Time Square and steps from Fifth Avenue shopping. We are one of the most distinct boutique hotels in the Midtown area thanks to our rich history and impeccable hospitality. The historic Algonquin Hotel provides the allure of New York City charm and has created a tradition of meticulous and prodigious service with more than a century of playing host to influential guests. Our guest rooms offer luxurious features and amenities, including complimentary wifi, 37-inch flat-panel TVs, backlit mirrors, iHome clock radios with an iPod docking station and Beekman 1802 bath amenities. Our Times Square hotel's dedicated staff will carefully note your individual requirements and preferences upon arrival to best attend to your needs and wishes while traveling. We also offer a prime location near the theater district on Broadway, fashionable NYC shopping destinations and endless attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your The Algonquin Hotel Times Square, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Algonquin Hotel New York City
Algonquin New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing