We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,048)
Filter reviews
2,050 results
Traveller rating
1,492
320
134
62
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,492
320
134
62
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cafe boulud upper east side central park bar pleiades grand deluxe salon relais chateaux madison avenue rooftop garden new york room service in room dining luxury hotel favorite hotel bottle of champagne wonderful hotel turn down service rooms are large
Filter
Updating list...
676 - 681 of 2,050 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2015

This is a very posh hotel on the upper East Side. I have no idea how we were able to afford a night here, but I am so glad we did. The room was beautiful, the staff was really friendly, and the room was very quiet. NYC can be a loud city even overnight, but we didn't hear any of the street noise you might expect to hear in the city.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pridguard60763, Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the superb review, and I am delighted to hear you had such a wonderful experience at the Surrey. I am equally happy to hear that you would stay no where else other than the Surrey. I agree that our location offers a more composed alternative to Central Park East, with all the grandeur of Manhattan’s premier museums, galleries and designer boutiques. Our hotel offers residential luxury with sophisticated and thoughtful service to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Warm Regards,

Paul Ridguard
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2015 via mobile

The Surrey is without a doubt the most aesthetically pleasing hotel
I've ever seen. Soft grays and whites throughout create an intimate and elegant yet up to the moment feel. Every detail gorgeous. Immaculately clean. Staff is kind and helpful. Rooftop bar is a beautiful oasis but the service was less than I would've expected and it was outrageously expensive. Our Grand Deluxe Salon was spacious with a large sitting area and big comfy arm chairs. There were other families but I still felt a bit out of place with my 14 year old.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank fmrtaitai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pridguard60763, Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your generous feedback from your recent stay with us.

We were truly delighted that we exceeded your expectations from our unique design, tastefully appointed details in your accommodation, to the private enclave of our private roof garden, to our central location to the best of New York and most importantly, the gracious and professional service extended by our colleagues. I am sorry to hear that you felt somewhat out of place with your 14 year old and would like to improve upon that so please free to reach out to me directly so that we can improve upon that. I can be reached at 212-288-3700 ext 4100.

We were pleased that we exceeded your expectations overall and The Surrey was well worth it. We remain at your service and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Paul Ridguard
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2015

Very comfortable room; well laid out, very comfortable bed. Good bathlinen, bathrobes. Possibly the greatest water pressure since the Seinfeld shower head episode. And good location, on East 76th between Fifth and Madison, half a block from the Museum mile.
Rooftop terrace out of this world.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Tor_Bang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pridguard60763, Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your generous feedback from your recent stay with us.

We were truly delighted that we exceeded your expectations from our unique design, tastefully appointed details in your accommodation, to the private enclave of our private roof garden, to our central location to the best of New York and most importantly, the gracious and professional service extended by our colleagues.

We were pleased that we exceeded your expectations and The Surrey was well worth it. We remain at your service and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Paul Ridguard
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2015

A great hotel - yes because of location to central park, subway, shopping - but really because of the hotel. Excellent amenities, comfortable beds, good water pressure, etc. Best of all the people --- gracious--- a home away from home.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank 208maryss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pridguard60763, Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your generous feedback from your recent stay with us.

We were truly delighted that we exceeded your expectations from our unique design, tastefully appointed details in your accommodation, to the private enclave of our private roof garden, to our central location to the best of New York and most importantly, the gracious and professional service extended by our colleagues.

We were pleased that we exceeded your expectations and The Surrey was well worth it. We remain at your service and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Paul Ridguard
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2015 via mobile

One block from Central Park, 2 blocks from subway, & great restaurants near by. Inside my corner room there were lots of windows--with a nice view! No alleyway and grimy windows nearby. All the lovely perks of a 5 star hotel and a wonderful attentive staff. Always appreciate a turn downed bed after a long night out.

Don't miss the Surrey jewel of the rooftop garden. Pricey at night, but a great get-away for relaxation and room for kids to stretch their legs while adults chat in comfort. If you stay up there late, the view down Manhattan is gorgeous.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank Meg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pridguard60763, Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your generous feedback from your recent stay with us.

We were truly delighted that we exceeded your expectations from our unique design, tastefully appointed details in your accommodation, to the private enclave of our private roof garden, to our central location to the best of New York and most importantly, the gracious and professional service extended by our colleagues.

We were pleased that we exceeded your expectations and The Surrey was well worth it. We remain at your service and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Paul Ridguard
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews