We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“NOISE” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Surrey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Surrey
Ranked #49 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“NOISE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

First night here was continually awaken by a barking dog. Finally fell asleep only to be waken again at 5:30 am. After much to do had to pack up and was moved to another room. Left for lunch and when we returned there were workman on scaffolds outside the room banging and banging. When I complained Guest Relations said there was nothing they could do about it, but "can we do anything else for you?" I said "how about finding me another hotel?"

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tom d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your candid feedback and for taking the time to speak with me.

I was truly disappointed that your stay with us did not exceed your expectations due to the noise pollution you experienced. I am so pleased that we had the opportunity to connect and that we were able to recover you during your stay.

We trust that these incidents have not marred your overall impression of us and are so pleased that you remain a loyal guest of The Surrey. Kindly please call on me directly when your travels next bring you to New York City so that I may personally take care of your arrangements. In the interim, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,306
    271
    88
    41
    30
See reviews for
345
791
115
279
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

My friends and I just spent an amazing weekend in NYC, based out of the Surrey. We all loved every aspect of the hotel - the decor was gorgeous without feeling stuffy, the service was genuinely incredible (loved our rooftop bartender and Peter especially!), and the location was perfect. Our room was very generously sized. It lacked a view, but we were forewarned by the front desk and chose it because it had 2 beds. The weekend was in celebration of our birthdays, and the hotel sent us a wonderful bottle of champagne - I cannot express how top-notch the service was! We especially loved the private rooftop terrace. It feels like the garden of a grand mansion, plus there are magnificent city views. Another plus was the location: easy to access UES shopping, Central Park and the 4, 5, 6 trains. I am already trying to plan a return visit ASAP!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TwoFishes22903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We were truly delighted that you were most impressed with our tastefully appointed décor, prime location and the breathtaking views seen from our unique Private Roof Garden.

We pride ourselves on providing our guests with a warm and genuine service delivery and I was proud to learn that our Roof Garden team member and Mr Petar Krstic, Assistant Director of Front Office were instrumental in creating a most memorable birthday celebration for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and in the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

My son and I stayed a week at the end of May and was very pleased with the room and hospitality of the staff. The room was spacious, had a high standard and the cleanliness was very good. The hotell also has two great cafes (rooftop and groundfloor) and a very good restaurant (groundfloor).

We will definitely stay here again :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We were truly delighted that we succeeded in creating a memorable experience for you and your son and that you have become a fan of The Surrey.

We were truly delighted that you were most impressed with our superior levels of service, quality of amenities, spacious and tastefully appointed guest accommodations. We agree that the award-winning libations and dining provided in Café Boulud, Bar Pleiades and the Roof Garden are worthy of special mention.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

The Surrey - amazing! Quiet upper east side - perfect location within footsteps of Central Park! The staff were so attentive to every detail of our stay. My husband and I have traveled to not only NYC many times, but all over the world and I have to say that the Surrey topped our list. Beautiful boutique hotel, luxuriously appointed rooms, and impeccable service. We definately look forward to staying at the Surrey again soon! Our thanks to the Surrey's staff by making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pfjensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to pay us such a tremendous compliment of being one of the best hotels in, not only New York, but the world.

We were truly delighted that we exceeded your expectations from the tastefully appointed details in your accommodation, to our prime location and most importantly, the impeccable, gracious, and warm service extended by our team members. Our unique design by famed interior architect, Lauren Rottet, is indeed one of our best attributes and we are pleased to have impressed such discerning guests as are you and your husband.

Your recommendation of The Surrey is very important to us and we thank you for your loyalty. We look forward to welcoming you home soon and in the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Just checked out of the hotel this morning and back in DC. First of all let me start off by saying that this is a Great Place and would I stay hear again...you bet. The hotel staff was very friendly from the moment we walked in from the time we exited the taxi and checked out and back into the taxi. The Concierge (Andrew I think his name was) was extremely helpful and provided great input that helped our visit. The location was great just down the street from central park with a great price (comparatively speaking to other higher class hotels in the area that is). The room was very nice and roomy much bigger and nicer than I expected and the shower was awesome. The only reason this hotel didn't get a 5 was the poor extremely poor service at the bar. The bartender was not very friendly which was okay everybody has their bad days. However, the waitress was absolutely horrible when we sat at one of the bar tables. Not only was she not friendly not once did she come over to see if we needed anything. In fact, we had to pull other employees over to order our appetizers and our drinks throughout the night (not once did she help us literally). Considering their were only two of us and our bill was just shy of 200 bills this is unacceptable (especially considering we only ordered appetizers and martinis). We did go up to the roof top bar and met the waitress working up there and she was absolutely awesome (I don't remember her name but she lives in Brooklyn). As I stated before everything else was fantastic and we will stay their again and soon. However, if this happens again we will not stay there again because there are too many other higher end places that don't miss a beat in any area.

Room Tip: I paid some extra money for the higher level room that just added much more to the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your most wonderful feedback from your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to learn that you enjoyed your visit and that our prime location, tastefully appointed and spacious guest accommodations, featuring our floor to ceiling Carrara marble bathrooms and Waterworks fixtures all exceeded your expectations. We pride ourselves on the gracious and warm service extended by our team members and we were incredibly proud to learn that Mr Andrew Mellor, Concierge and Ms Jasmina Bojic, Roof Garden Server were so successful in achieving this with you.

We were disappointed that your Bar Pleiades experience fell short. Rest assured we have shared your comments with Mr Dominique Paulin, General Manager of Café Boulud in order to ensure greater consistency of service delivery. Please accept our sincere apologies for the service lapse you experienced.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Please feel free to call on me personally to 646.358.3605 so that I may handle your reservations and ensure seamless beverage service in an effort to complete your Bar Pleiades experience. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#28 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#283 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#31 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#47 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Upper East Side
Loews Regency New York Hotel
Loews Regency New York Hotel
#30 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surrey? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surrey

Property: The Surrey
Address: 20 E. 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021-2643
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New York City
#12 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#12 Spa Hotel in New York City
#18 Green Hotel in New York City
#27 Family Hotel in New York City
#43 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 24,569 - ₹ 69,306
Hotel Class:5 star — The Surrey 5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The #1 hotel in New York City as voted by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler, The Surrey is a discreet escape on Manhattan's Upper East Side Steps from Central Park, world-class museums, and Madison Avenue shopping, the hotel features Cornelia Spa and Daniel Boulud's Michelin-starred Café Boulud. It is New York City's only Relais & Châteaux hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Surrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Suite Hotel
Surrey New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing