We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,093)
Filter reviews
2,093 results
Traveller rating
1,507
328
147
68
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,507
328
147
68
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cafe boulud upper east side central park bar pleiades grand deluxe salon relais chateaux madison avenue rooftop garden new york room service in room dining luxury hotel favorite hotel bottle of champagne turn down service wonderful hotel rooms are large
Filter
Updating list...
1,562 - 1,567 of 2,093 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I´ve just spent 6 nights with my sister at The Surrey. It's a beautiful hotel, with a lot of charm, and perfectly located if you like the Upper east side. The room was big, and confortable and very clean. Nevertheless, some of the staffers are quite rude (though other are incerible frendly) , and the food is extremelyyy expensive! But at the end, i surely will come back for another stay! Its like having your own pied-a-terre in the upper east side

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjose27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
New York
1926
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We spent two nights here in January 2012 in connecting rooms (a suite connected to a regular room) which was a great set up for our family. We had a spacious living room in between the two bedrooms. The hotel is pricey but it was a good value for the space and the location and quality. We had breakfast in the hotel one day and it was disappointing. A basic buffet and overpriced a la carte entrees in a room without atmosphere (in the AM). Drinks at the bar in the evening was much more pleasant. Go out for breakfast. There are lots of options nearby. The fitness center was not big but sufficient and clean. Of course, the location is outstanding. The service was very good overall.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I had a work event in NYC and thought it would be the perfect opportunity to bring my 7-year old daughter for her first trip to New York.

Our room was amazing - so plush, clean and well appointed. They had cookies and milk waiting for us when we arrived in our room. My daughter was in heaven!

I have stayed at all the top hotels in NY (Four Seasons and the Ritz Carlton most recently) and The Surrey is by far my favorite hotel! Small, intimate, the best location on the Upper East Side - it felt like our own apartment. The staff was amazing and greeted us by name. Also, we never heard anyone in the other rooms which is a huge plus.

We will sure be returning soon!!

Room tip: South facing room on upper floor is quiet
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hilrehder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Excellent hotel, very helpful and friendly staff. Set in a residential area on Upper East Side, so wear comfy shoes for half hour walk to mid-town shopping.

Date of stay: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anna_stupples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

we were in NYC to celebrate our engagement, and prior to our trip, surrey management has contacted me to ask how our trip can be made better. when we arrived -- champagne and delicious cake was waiting for us at our room! the surrey also has the most comfortable bed ever -- it's like sleeping on clouds.

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValerieM303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews