We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,037)
Filter reviews
2,038 results
Traveller rating
1,485
318
134
60
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,485
318
134
60
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscafe bouludupper east sidecentral parkbar pleiadesgrand deluxe salonrelais chateauxmadison avenuerooftop gardennew yorkroom servicein room diningluxury hotelfavorite hotelbottle of champagnewonderful hotelturn down servicerooms are large
Filter
Updating list...
1,517 - 1,522 of 2,038 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2012

The Surrey is certainly one of NY's finest hotels. We were extremely impressed with the service, especially the doormen, the front desk, and the concierge - exceptional, friendly, and helpful.

The rooms are spacious, luxurious, with fantastic beds and bedding. The property is just gorgeous and harkens back to an era of power and glamour.

For a perfect New York stay with minutes walk to Central Park and access to the Upper East Side's best - we highly recommend this hotel.

Of one note, despite the fantastic adjoining restaurant, we found the room service to be slow with a disappointing array of choices despite the extremely high additional service fee.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuckeyeMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your high praise from your recent stay with us. We were pleased to learn that you have become such a fan of our service and tastefully appointed décor.

We pride ourselves on providing exceptional levels of personalized service and we are delighted that our team members were successful in achieving this with you.

I have shared your constructive feedback with Mr Raymond Goulbourne, Food and Beverage Manager in respect to your In-Room Dining experience. Rest assured that we are working diligently to improve our consistency in the timeliness of delivery.

We truly appreciate such a glowing review and look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

The Surrey was a surprise. I had stayed at the Surrey at several years ago and it needed a renovation. This stay was a pure delight, from the quality of the room finishes, to the staff and the ambience. I just love how it is a stroll to Central Park and Madison Ave and the little cafes and eateries on Lexington Ave. I had hoped to share the experience of the Surrey with my wife, but circumstances meant she couldn't come, but it was still a great stay and I would highly recommend it for visitors to NYC.

Room Tip: Higher is better.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us.

We were pleased to learn that our Upper East Side location with close proximity to Central Park as well as our newly renovated, inspiring design and décor exceeded your expectations.

We sincerely hope we may welcome you back with your wife and in the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We chose the Surrey for our four-night visit to Manhattan in March, and were glad we did. Our choice was based on reading dozens of reviews, tips on "trevelers room preferences", and on the bad experience during our last trip in 2004 when we chose a mid-level hotel in the East 50s. After three nights in a noisy, overheated room with no temperature controls, sleep deprivation ruined our visit and made us decide not to return to the city any time soon.
Reading reviews made clear that location matters, that we would have to look at luxury as well as mid-range hotels, and that even then there were no guaranteed of a quiet night's sleep.Fortunately, after a room change, we found a quiet, comfortable room. No noise from inside or outside, excellent bed, handy temperature control. Other reviewers often note the Surrey's skillful and friendly service, upscale ambience, spotless rooms, luxury bedding, and excellent location. We agree with them. A few even mention good sleep and provide tips for finding the quietest rooms. We particularly appreciate these last because they focus on what we find important and because we found them at the Surrey.

Room Tip: Rooms facing 75th Street or Fifth Avenue are quieter.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelenthusiast070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your compliment of being “a find in Manhattan.”

We were truly pleased to learn that you chose us based on previous positive reviews and were not disappointed from our tastefully appointed décor, to our sumptuous bedding to the ease of navigation of our temperature controls and genuine and friendly service delivery.

Thank you for trusting the word of mouth provided by our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon; and in the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

One of the best in NYC, very clean and large rooms ,quiet neighborhood setting.
Staff is very helpful, close to bus lines and grocery stores 2,3 blocks walk small resterants
near by.

Room Tip: Buy a metrocard for bus and subway travel
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDTMET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us.

We were pleased that our prime location, spacious guestrooms and intuitive service all attributed to a memorable and enjoyable experience.

We appreciate your word of mouth influence and look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

A welcome retreat in NYC. Away from the midtown crowds, and close to the Met, Frick, Whitney, Central Park and the general luxury of the Upper East Side. Overall, a nice boutique (Relais) hotel with all the charm, attentive service, and comforts that one should expect. Clean and hip decor-- part Art Deco, part modern 50's, artistic and chic. No stressed out business types that I could see Spacious rooms, view of Madison Ave passing beneath us, marbled bathroom, great shower. Missed the coffee in the lobby somehow, but decent breakfast place around the corner, and missing shampoo, but we survived. In sum, in from CT for the evening and will definitely do it again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beenthereNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.

We were truly delighted that we exceeded your expectations with our close proximity to Museum Mile, the award-winning dining at Café Boulud and the tastefully appointed details in your accommodation. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional levels of personalized service and were humbled that we achieved this with you.

We regret that you missed our complimentary coffee service in the lobby. Please know that Café Boulud as well as our 24 hour In-Room Dining are both options for consideration in the future. I have also addressed the consistent replenishment of guest amenities with Mrs Marioara Sfera, Director of Housekeeping to prevent future such repeat occurrences.

We sincerely appreciate your high praise and recognition and look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews