We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Rooms, comfy beds, great hood”
Review of The Surrey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Surrey
Ranked #90 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I'm really torn between giving the Surrey 4 or 5 stars. The rooms are huge - especially for NYC and the bed & bedding amazing. The decor is cool from the lobby & bar up to the halls and rooms. Sitting area in the room has 2 big chairs and works well. There are plenty of counter spaces. The bathroom is really nice with a double sink (marble), which is helpful for those of us used to this. Our room had a large glass shower with both a rain show head and a 2nd mounted/hand held. Toiletries are very nice.

Upper East side is so lovely & you're right by the Met and great shopping. The Italian coffee shop/bakery (Sant Ambroeus) mentioned in other posts is FABULOUS! But, you're on the upper east in a truly European place, so you'll pay for the quality and specialty. It's worth it, but be ready, then just enjoy.

The staff was accommodating and we were given a late checkout on a weekday, just for the asking. We had a pretty basic room on the 7th floor and it was wonderful.

The few things that knock it down from 5 (maybe) - This is a beautifully renovated, cool hotel, but it is in an old building. While this makes it special, you can hear some street noise. It's not unreasonable, but you will probably here something every now and then, and a once we heard voices from the room next door - but only once. The place is wonderfully clean. I couldn't find a pen or pad of paper to make a note in the room. The shower was great and I rarely take baths, but kind of thought our room might have a tub. Check in/out was very courteous and helpful. They did try to discreetly upsell us to a suite without mentioning the extra $250 surcharge. Nothing happened, but it was one of those, soft offers with just a mention of "for a small fee." When we asked how much, he was immediately forth coming and didn't push when we said "no" so don't get the impression this is a sham, but just beware and ask.

We got a great price through www.lastminutetravel.com and for what we paid, this was an amazing NYC luxurious deal!

Evening turn down with bottled water and a madeline cookie was a nice touch.

Room Tip: higher rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nkdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,897)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,405 - 1,409 of 1,897 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

Just a few steps away from Central Park and 5th Avenue! The Surrey brings alive culture and sophistication with their classic modern European style! The staff was so welcoming, and gave friendly personal service. The breakfast in the hotels restaurant was fabulous! We travel a lot, in many states and countries, we Highly recommend the Th Surrey and consider it our "home" hotel when we visit NYC!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your high praise and recommendation from your recent stay with us. We were truly delighted that we succeeded in creating a memorable experience and that you have become a fan of The Surrey.

Our unique design by Lauren Rottet, award winning dining at Café Boulud, and prime location are indeed some of our best attributes. We were truly pleased that you found our service to be intuitive and personalized. I have personally thanked each and every colleague for their exceptional service delivery.

We look forward to welcoming back to your home away from home and in the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I used to travel to NYC often and always stayed at the Surrey before the remodel, but had not been back for several years so I was curious to see the 'new' Surrey. It is now a luxury hotel but still maintains the boutique feeling. The staff, including the manager, doormen, front desk, housekeeping, and even the maintenance man (we had a brief issue with adjusting the heating) were professional, friendly, attentive, but not overly so-just enough to let you know your patronage is appreciated.

Our room, was a corner room with lots of light and air (windows actually open). The huge king bed with crisp (million thread) cotton sheets and duvet with lush pillows were divine and comfy. The marble mosaic tiled bathroom with the beautiful glass enclosed shower was super nice. The coffee service in the lobby in the morning with bottled water and apples - a nice touch.

Most importantly, the hotel is quiet, secure, and spotless. The security features assures a carefree stay and after a long day out and about on the streets of NYC, a very comforting place to return to.

I could go on and on, suffice to say, I highly recommend the Surrey.

Room Tip: Corner room on upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your generous feedback and high recommendation from your recent stay with us.

We were truly delighted that we exceeded your expectations from the tastefully appointed details in your accommodation, to our central location and most importantly, the gracious and warm service extended by our colleagues. Our custom Duxiana bedding featuring sumptuous Sferra linen indeed provides a most relaxing sleep experience.

Your recommendation of The Surrey is very important to us and we thank you for your loyalty. We look forward to welcoming you home soon and in the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

What a nice little gem on the upper east side. We were so pleasantly surprised. Our stay at The Surrey far exceeded our expectations. The front desk could not have been nicer or more welcoming. The concierge(s) were knowledgeable and gave great recommendations. We felt very comfortable in our room. The rooms were spacious by NY standards and the shower (pressure) was the best I have found in any hotel.
The beds were comfortable (Duxiana mattresses), Pratesi sheets! The only caveat (but who can be perfect) were the pillows. The down pillows were not quite soft enough to my liking. I asked for another pillow, yet that was even stiffer, my fault for not being explicit and requesting a "mushier" pillow. I still was able to have a great nights sleep. I don't remember the last time I slept until 10 o'clock.
We ate one night at Cafe Bouloud, OMG, it was divine. The bar in the hotel has a nice assortment of drinks, but appetizers didn't thrill me. I did like the nice touch of the "nibbles" they provided with our cocktails.
I am a hotel snob. My last couple of trips to NYC we have stayed at The Trump. I happened upon a nice package at The Surrey and thought "why not." I am so glad I did. I say "Trump, you're fired, The Surrey, you're hired!" We will be seeing you again!
P.S. The hotel does allow pets, however, if you have a complaint, it won't be about a dog, but rather people. There were two dogs on our floor, and they were the perfect neighbors!
P.S.S. I am not a huge dog person.

Room Tip: If you are noise sensitive, stay in a room off of Madison Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvlbker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your rewarding feedback from your recent stay with us. We were pleased to learn that we exceeded your expectations and that you have become such a fan of our Upper East Side gem.

We were truly delighted that our spacious and tastefully appointed guest accommodations, featuring our bespoke Duxiana bedding were to your liking. Rest assured we are able to customize your sleep experience and provide pillows that are less firm to ensure that you have a most relaxing and memorable sleep experience.

We will most certainly share your comments with our Café Boulud team; they will be thrilled to learn that your culinary experience exceeded expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and we are thrilled that we will be your home away from home. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I stayed 2 nights atthis hotel on a business trip. Pleasant modern hotel, very welcoming staff. Room very comfortable with plenty of room. Loved the pillows, the shower and the art pieces through the hotel.
I recommend it 100%. Great location, close to nice stores, central park, etc.

Definitely coming back with my family soon.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us.

We were truly delighted that we exceeded your expectations from our close proximity to Central Park and the famed shopping on Madison Avenue, to our unique design and art collection, to the tastefully appointed details in your accommodation. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional levels of personalized and intuitive service and I was pleased to learn that our colleagues were able to make you feel warm and welcome.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family in the near future. Please feel free to call me personally at 646.358.3605 when your travels next bring you to New York City. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper East Side
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
The Carlyle, A Rosewood Hotel
#292 of 469 in New York City
802 reviews
Upper East Side
The Mark
The Mark
#30 of 469 in New York City
742 reviews
Upper East Side
Lowell Hotel
Lowell Hotel
#152 of 469 in New York City
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#50 of 469 in New York City
1,481 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Upper East Side
The Pierre, A Taj Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surrey? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surrey

Address: 20 East 76th Street, New York City, NY 10021-2643
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Upper East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New York City
#12 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#19 Spa Hotel in New York City
#24 Green Hotel in New York City
#27 Family Hotel in New York City
#74 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 28,471 - ₹ 64,695 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Surrey 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The #1 hotel in New York City as voted by the readers of Conde Nast Traveler and Travel + Leisure, The Surrey is a discreet escape on Manhattan's Upper East Side Steps from Central Park, world-class museums, and Madison Avenue shopping, the hotel features Cornelia Spa and Daniel Boulud's Michelin-starred Café Boulud. It is New York City's only Relais & Châteaux hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Surrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Hotel New York City
Surrey Suite Hotel
Surrey New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing