We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,037)
Filter reviews
2,037 results
Traveller rating
1,484
318
134
60
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,484
318
134
60
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscafe bouludupper east sidecentral parkbar pleiadesgrand deluxe salonrelais chateauxmadison avenuerooftop gardennew yorkroom servicein room diningluxury hotelfavorite hotelbottle of champagnewonderful hotelturn down servicerooms are large
Filter
Updating list...
1,624 - 1,629 of 2,037 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2011

My family recently stayed at The Surrey after being evacuated during Hurricane Irene. They showed up at 6:30 in the morning with a car full of stuff and a cat. Not a picture that just any hotel would warm to. Melinda, Lorena and Pablo, took care of everything. My wife didn't expect to get into a room until check in time at 3:00, but because of the unusual circumstances(traveling with a cat) she asked for an early check in. She left to feed the kids and when she returned they had everything ready at 8am! They were extremely professional, but also very personable. It made all the difference in the world and the service just continued from there. They brought them everything they needed and really cared about their guests despite a skeleton staff due to the storm. Andrew was also extremely good at his job at the concierge desk. The Surrey is one of those places that is perfectly located for Madison Ave shopping, Central Park strolling, and Hurricane Evacuating. It is a lovely hotel that is unique and makes you feel as though you have stumbled onto a jewel. Chris Bauer

Room Tip: We had two rooms, a full bath and a powder room. Much more room than most NY hotels.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hobojungle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your heartfelt experience from your family’s recent stay with us. We were pleased to learn that we executed gracefully despite challenging circumstances with Hurricane Irene.

I have personally thanked our Guest Services colleagues, particularly Ms Melinda Manning, Guest Services Agent; Ms Lorena Ringoot, Chief Concierge; Mr Andrew Mellor, Concierge and Mr Pablo Castro, Bellman for their exemplary service delivery to you and your family.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future and in the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Just returned from a wonderful stay in New York that even Hurricane Irene could not spoil thanks to the wonderful team at The "New" Surrey. First, a word about our history with The Surrey, dating to the mid-'00's when we lived there for several weeks while on assignment in NYC. We loved our home-away-from-home: our enormous suite, the lovely neighborhood and the kind housekeeping staff who tended to us morning and evening. Despite the shabbiness of the increasingly threadbare, traditional decor, we just pretended that our Surrey suite was on loan to us by a beloved, elderly UES aunt and nested there happily. Naturally, we were dismayed when The Surrey closed for renovation and transformation into a chic, hip boutique hotel, having experienced the very mixed bag these establishments can be. Too often style substitutes for substance and service and the young staffs mistakenly think it's all about them, not their guests. Consequently, we have avoided The "New" Surrey for several years in favor of our fond memories of The "Old" Surrey.
Needless to say, we were thrilled beyond compare by the delightful surprise The "New" Surrey proved to be during our four-day stay over "Hurricane Irene Weekend". Altho' our Grand Deluxe Salon on the 8th floor was half the size of our old suite, having been created from only one of the rooms of the old one-bedroom suites, we loved it! Incomparable in decor and comfort, we fell in love with The Surrey all over again.
But, our most ardent praise goes to the wonderful, young staff at The "New" Surrey. Beautifully trained and completely committed to their guests' comfort and safety, they proved themselves beyond question during a stressful weekend when Hurricane Irene brought "The City That Never Sleeps" to a halt. Whether testing flashlights in guest rooms, providing umbrellas for the driving rain, ensuring that guests had breakfast and dinner at hand when many UES restaurants closed for the hurricane's duration or re-booking transportation in the aftermath, they performed with complete commitment and quiet assurance. They personified the phrase "Esprit de Corps", i.e., the capacity of a group to maintain belief in a goal, particularly in times of stress, and to pull together persistently and consistently in pursuit of a common purpose. Kudos to the management and staff of The Surrey!! We were deeply impressed and touched by the wonderful way all of you demonstrated a genuinely caring attitude despite many disruptions, reduced staff and long hours on the job. The Surrey is once again our home-away-from-home in NYC. Thank you for a wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamminjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2011

Dear Guest,

We were truly delighted to learn that you have made The Surrey your home away from home and that we continue to retain your loyalty. “Merci infiniment pour votre fidélité!”

Our colleagues are indeed an asset to us and I have shared your comments and personally thanked them for their outstanding service delivery throughout Hurricane Irene. We pride ourselves on being able to touch the heart and soul of each and every one of our guests and it is only with a dedicated and passionate team that we were able to have achieved this with you.

We were truly delighted that not even Hurricane Irene could spoil your visit and sincerely hope that Mother Nature is much kinder during your future travels to New York City. We look forwarding to welcoming you home soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

My husband spent hours in our room on conference calls and I never enjoyed NY more knowing I was coming back to The Surrey every night! Comfortable over-sized upholstered chairs face each other to allow a well-planned seating area, a big comfortable bed and a great bathroom --- what else does one need in a hotel room?

An added treat is outdoor penthouse patio with wifi -- a hidden gem in NY.

Lots of room service as this became a traveling office -- he thought it was much better than average despite the cost.

Only question is why does the bathroom having a sliding door?

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susie20817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your high praise and rewarding feedback from your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to learn that our spacious and tastefully appointed guestrooms and amenities, including our private Roof Garden, exceeded your expectations. We were truly delighted to see that you enjoyed the innovative culinary offerings of our in-room dining menu crafted by Café Boulud.

We hope that during your next visit, your husband has an opportunity to enjoy the city with you and we look forward to welcoming you home soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

My Husband and I stayed at this Hotel the week prior to Thanksgiving. He had business and we decided to add some fun days to the trip. We would get up early every morning and walk through Central Park since it was so close and then get our Starbucks. The rooms are spacious and the beds are extremely comfortable. Loved the beautiful Marble Bathrooms. The Surrey Hotel knows how to do it right!! I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 52packrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We were pleased to learn that you chose us for some rest and relaxation and that we excelled and surpassed your expectations.

We concur that our prime location to Central Park, tastefully appointed accommodations, bespoke Duxiana bedding and floor to ceiling Carrara marble all make for a most memorable and enjoyable experience.

We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Loved this place! Not a huge fan of modern interiors but this was really nicely done. Clean & beautiful, with great service. Perfect location! Could do without the huge pic of Kate Moss staring at me every time I used the elevator but no complaints & will definitely stay again next time we're in NYC. So glad we found it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbe62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skanagasingham, General Manager at The Surrey, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2011

Dear Guest,

We were truly delighted to learn that you have made The Surrey your new home and we have earned your love and loyalty.

We appreciate your comments on our perfect location and tastefully appointed décor. We pride ourselves in providing a superior level of service that is warm, gracious and attentive and are so proud that we successfully achieved this with you.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon. In the interim, we remain at your service.

Sincerely,


Shan Kanagasingham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews