We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Ranked #122 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montreal
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very good stay”
Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

Very clean. Got an upgrade because out room wasn't ready when we got there. Loved that it wasn't in a too busy neighborhood. Liked it so much that i'm going back there this year.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingsisters29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DREPAUL, General Manager at Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Dear travellingsisters29,
Thank you for your recent stay and excellent review. We appreciate your comments on the cleanliness of our hotel and the quiet, but convenient Murray Hill neighborhood.
We enjoyed having you as our guests and cannot wait to welcome you back.
Sincerely
George Drepaul CHA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,407
    1,669
    358
    132
    85
See reviews for
1,453
1,445
211
571
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (759)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Spent a week in April at the Affina Shelbourne & it was fantastic & would recommend it. Had an excellent size room with bathroom & kitchenette. Beds were very comfortable & the pillow selection was great. Staff were friendly & helpful. Would recommend Scottys for breakfast, best value in town. The Laundrymat a couple of doors down from the hotel offers a great wash & fold service! Look forward to coming back to New York & staying at the Affina Shelbourne again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank angnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

The Affinia Shelburne was fantastic. . We recently stayed there for a week and would recommend it to anyone looking for central, clean, well-priced accommodation. The hotel is a short 5 minute walk to Grand Central Station, and because we wanted to explore all over Manhattan, this was really convenient. The beds and pillows are extremely comfortable, and we slept really well. We stayed in the cheapest room, but it was still a good sized and didn’t feel too cramped. The only small issues were in the bathroom, there was a bit of mould in the tile grout that needed a good scrubbing. We also got a free bottle of wine with our room, and when we requested it, it took over an hour to be delivered, and then came without a cork screw, so we had to wait again for them to bring that up. The aircon didn’t work, and we heard our neighbour having an argument with staff who explained they only turn it on once it reaches a certain temperature range. It was warm in our rooms, but we just opened the window as a solution and this seemed to work. These small issues are the only thing stopping me from giving this hotel 5 stars.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AandHSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenbrae, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I had a difficult time finding a hotel that could accommodate a family of five people without having to buy two rooms. Fortunately, I ended up being referred to Affinia Shelburne. We had a 1-bedroom suite which was perfect. The bedroom had two double beds and the living room had a very comfortable fold-out couch. It even had a small kitchenette with a refrigerator so we could keep cereal, snacks, etc. in the room for the kids. Location was great. Near mid-town as well as Grand Central Station for easy acces to the subway. I will definitely stay here again and recommend it for large families.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JBJ101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

My wife and I were visiting New York for a week and were simply looking for somewhere to sleep between bouts of exploring the city.

After a delay on the train were didn't check in until 1am the day after our reservation - however when it became apparent that our train was significantly delayed I called and there was no difficulty in arranging for them to hold our reservation (despite the fact that we didn't actually arrive on the day that we had booked in). When we did arrive, they were most sympathetic to our late arrival (and apparent exhaustion) and were very quick in handling check-in and showing us to our room.

The room was clean, and certainly large enough for the two of us. The bed was comfortable, the pillows suitably fluffy, towels fresh and all in all a convenient place to stay.

Free wi-fi in the foyer was also convenient when booking tickets online or just passing the time while enjoying a coffee (Coffee acquired from the coffee shop two doors from the Hotel was quite nice).

It is a reasonable walk from the Hotel to the tourist sites however I have no complaints as I was well aware of the distances involved when I booked the room.

The only potentially negative observation that I would make is that at peak times there was a significant wait for the lifts. Unavoidable I'm sure, but inconvenient if you have left something in your room and need to go back. (Having not stayed in New York before I am unsure if this is normal, however I expect it is).

That said, I would have no hesitation in staying at the Affinia Shelburne again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mr_Grey81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
Dumont NYC–an Affinia hotel
#94 of 467 in New York City
4,765 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#136 of 467 in New York City
1,205 reviews
Chelsea
Stewart Hotel
Stewart Hotel
#206 of 467 in New York City
4,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
Distrikt Hotel Times Square
#52 of 467 in New York City
4,824 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#137 of 467 in New York City
4,778 reviews
Midtown
The Tuscany - A St Giles Signature Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel

Property: Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Address: 303 Lexington Ave, New York City, NY 10016-3165
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in New York City
#28 Green Hotel in New York City
#55 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#60 Family Hotel in New York City
#98 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#101 Business Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,318 - ₹ 30,515
Hotel Class:4 star — Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warm. Inviting. Social. Just right for a relaxed city stay. You love action-packed places. But some privacy when you need it. You want a happy medium, an opportunity to be social in a cool environment. Enter the Shelburne NYC, with its warm-toned interior design and homey common areas. Tucked into laid-back Murray Hill, a few blocks from Grand Central Station, it's just right for guests who like to pop down on the train for New York nights with a relaxed vibe. Come kick back, check out the views-and go up to the rooftop while you're at it. Join us nightly for a glass of red or white at our Wine Hour, located in the lobby from 5-6 p.M. · Daily Wine Hour during Social Sips from 5-6PM · Wireless Internet access for all of your devices · 10% off at Celebrity Chef Geoffrey Zakarian’s The National Bar & Dining Rooms · In-room gourmet coffee and tea offerings · Unlimited package handling and storage prior to and during your stay · Business services, including printing · Local and domestic long distance calls · 24/7 access to our state-of-the-art fitness centers · Access to Affinia bikes (where applicable) · Concierge services *Must be redeemed daily, credit may not be rolled over **Fee is exclusive of service gratuities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Affinia Shelburne Hotel New York City
Sol Melia New York City
Shelburne Murray Hill Hotel
Affinia Shelburne New York City
Shelbourne Hotel New York
Shelbourne Hotel Nyc
Shelburne Murray Hill New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing