We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$ 196
US$ 139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$ 185
US$ 157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$ 382
US$ 353
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$ 176
US$ 143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 168
US$ 138
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$ 312
US$ 278
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Avalon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$ 264
US$ 243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$ 305
US$ 248
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$ 343
US$ 283
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$ 266
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (4,228)
Filter reviews
4,228 results
Traveller rating
2,719
1,143
267
71
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,719
1,143
267
71
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barhaven rooftoptimes squarenew yorkcontinental breakfastrooms are smallbagelsdoor staffcupcakesour honeymoonbrick wallperfect locationconcierge servicerockefeller centerfantastic hotelbig applearound the corner
Filter
Updating list...
3,058 - 3,063 of 4,228 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2012

First time at this hotel. We visit New York regularly as a family every couple of years. The welcome when we arrived was absolutely top notch, unmatched by other hotels of the same calibre in our experience. The room was very well appointed and cleaned well. The staff were all very helpful. We had a couple of problems, with the air conditioning and safe repairs, and these were sorted out immediately, very impressed with the service. Again, compared to other hotels, very efficient. I don't normally bother with trip advisor as writing about a negative experience seems to be reliving it but this experience left very little to criticize. Well done in a city with plenty of competition!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thongs_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

Every bit of our stay was fantastic. From the welcoming at the door, to the cleanliness of the rooms. For the location I was surprised how quiet it was not to mention the very comfortable bed. The room was nicely appointed and cleaned very well. The staff are superb, the concierge James found me tickets to a long time sold out show and I'm grateful it was spectacular. The atmosphere is so welcoming. I will recommend this to all I know wanting to visit New York. And walking distance to spectacular sites and bells kitchen. So so happy to have stayed with The Sanctuary. Thanks again

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your visit to the Sanctuary Hotel.

James will be very happy to read about your comments in regards to the service he provided.

We hope to have you back soon, so that you can experience even more of what the Sanctuary has to offer.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

After looking at over 30 hotels on the computer, I picked the sanctuary. the location was great. Parking was directly across the street and cheaper than the other hotels had quoted in times square. the staff was outstanding. Everyone was pleasant and super helpful. hotel rooms were very modern and super clean. I would have to say that everything about this hotel was absolutely perfect except I prefer a bigger room (although, the layout of the room was great for its size). If you want a more personal experience from a staff that seems to genuinely care, this is the place. Being in a place like New York for the first time, it was nice not to have to have any stress over the hotel accomadations or parking. I will not even inquire of another location on a return trip unless they are sold out.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rossi n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you so much for writing such a great review about us.

I'm glad to know that you chose us out of 30 hotels for your first time in New York City. We feel very honored and are delighted that we left such a memorable impression on you.

We hope that you come back and visit us again soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

The Sanctuary Hotel is absolutely fantastic in every way...location, comfort, value, and most of all, customer service! From the minute we walked in the door, our STAR Manager, Jacob, took care of everything for us. We knew very little about NYC and he set us up for dinner and theater tickets and they were perfect choices. I would highly recommend the Sanctuary, as a matter of fact, I wouldn't even spend any time looking at other hotels in Times Square and book your reservation here and enjoy. We plan on coming back in the next few years and it is the ONLY place we will stay. Stay here and I promise you will love every minute of it!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Queen Deluxe and it was great...but I would think any room you stayed in would be awesome!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2012

Thank you for providing us with such great feedback.

Jacob will be so happy to know that he was able to make your stay that much more enjoyable.

We hope that your future visits with us will be just as good.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

No complains at all. Adequate size room, decent price, great roof top bar and very good breakfast. Excellent location and very polite and helpful staff. Soundproof at night, so good night sleep.
Parking across the street at a very decent rate. Great location

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLadNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay.

We hope to see you back soon so that you may experience even more of what the Sanctuary has to offer.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews