We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Nearby Hotels
US$ 354
US$ 126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
US$ 170
US$ 140
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness centre
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 164/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 160
US$ 149
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 161
US$ 127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 159/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 255
US$ 228
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The New Yorker a Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$ 168
US$ 137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 160/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 253
US$ 219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$ 200
US$ 152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
US$ 163
US$ 103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 55% below average rates

The price you found is 55% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 228/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 646
US$ 564
Taj Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,254)
Filter reviews
4,254 results
Traveller rating
2,733
1,153
269
71
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,733
1,153
269
71
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barhaven rooftoptimes squarenew yorkcontinental breakfastrooms are smallbagelsdoor staffcupcakesour honeymoonbig applefantastic locationbrick wallconcierge servicerockefeller centercentral parkaround the corner
Filter
Updating list...
3,105 - 3,110 of 4,254 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2012

What a great boutique hotel in the theater district! The rooms are small but really nicely decorated (and let's face it---you're not living there. It's NYC--get out and take in the city). Everything was clean and in working order. Interesting open bathroom layout but it works well. They do have a very small room for the toilet (with the door closed, it felt a bit claustrophobic). The rooftop bar and lounge is lovely and relaxing. They also have another bar/lounge. They offer a free breakfast in the morning which was a nice added touch. They have no restaurant in the hotel but they are building one. It is close to the theaters, Times Square and tons of great restaurants. I would DEFINITELY stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We really appreciate the feedback and I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay. Our restaurant will be opening this fall, and it will be an exciting addition to the property (along with our recent grand opening of our rooftop bar "Haven").

I hope to have you back soon so that you can experience even more of what the Sanctuary Hotel has to offer.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

İt was very nice hotel. A staff is friendly and helpful. İ recommend everbody . Location is great. The room is very clean and has a new furniture.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ozi1819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2012

Thank you for your feedback.

We hope to have you back soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed there for three nights, the staff were very friendly, found this to be the noisiest hotel we had in our month travel through the states. The housekeeper came into the room 3 times when we were in the room, even after complaining to reception. We were very annoyed when we asked reception to order a taxi for us to the airport, when we got in the taxi (yellow cab, which it was) the meter wasn't switched on, we knew the fare to the airport should be a set rate for a yellow cab $45 plus $6 toll and then a tip. The taxi tried to charge us $61 dollars before tip was added on. We said we wouldn't pay as it should have been a set rate as above. Saw the taxi driver speaking to the door man at the hotel before we set off so we were suspicious. Disappointing end to a month in the states and the first time someone had tried to con us. Very upset but didn't pay any tip in the end. Beware book your own taxi. TV channels very poor choice.

Room Tip: choose another hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neil m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2012

Thank you for providing us with feedback in regards to your stay with us.

I'd like to apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced with your transportation to the airport. Normally, (to JFK only) the rate is $45 plus toll which is $51. However, we are not aware of why the driver would charge you a higher price and I can assure you that we make every effort to be clear with every guest in terms of pricing (which is determined by the taxi driver and not the hotel).

I'd like to further discuss this matter with you and would love if you could contact me (jeremy@sanctuaryhotelnyc.com) in regards to this unpleasant experience.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

This is a lovely boutique hotel in NYC's Time's Square area. Yes it is a small hotel, but it is big in charm, character and an excellent value for the dollar. It's in a perfect location for anyone staying in NY for a play. Tons of great restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. You must take advantage of the hotel's roof top lounge. It's a fantastic place to sit and relax with a cocktail high above the streets of New York. The rooms are small, but you won't mind it. Up to date decor and clean. I would definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2012

We appreciate the feedback and are happy to know that you enjoyed your time with us.

For your next visit, I would love for you to try our Deluxe rooms. I trust that with the additional space and upgraded amenities, it would provide just the right amount of comfort for you.

We hope to have you back soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Sanctuary Hotel is a fantastic hotel in a great location. The breakfast is good and the staff are friendly. The rooms are comfortable, stylish and very clean and tidy. The cleaning staff do an exceptional job. If I could select a rating above excellent I would. We will be staying at Santuary Hotel whenever we return to NYC without a doubt.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clancie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews