We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it! Key part of our wonderful trip.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #66 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
St Albans
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Loved it! Key part of our wonderful trip.”
Reviewed 3 May 2012 via mobile

The Sanctuary is exactly that - a little oasis of escapism in the heart of NYC. Funky decor, all chandeliers, flickering fires and Marilyn Monroe movies, perfumed air, bonsai trees and eclectic music. We had a Deluxe Queen-sized room. It was big enough, not huge. Good contemporary decor. A bit dark due to no window. The rainfall shower was simply gorgeous. The en-suite worked for us, but might be pretty tight for those who need plenty of space.
We enjoyed the breakfast - plenty of patisserie, boiled eggs, fresh fruit, cereals and good coffee. The restrooms are pretty good to look at, too. Rudy the Barman lived up to the reputation he enjoys here on TA, and I blame him entirely for the shocking hangover I experienced on my last day. :-)) We also enjoyed the small coffee bar (Lavazza) in the lobby, with delicious financiers and those other tiny cakes (sorry, can't remember the names).

In all, I wouldn't bother considering anywhere else in NYC, but would go straight back here. This hotel played a key part in making our first visit to the city a simply fantastic experience.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank lynnandystalbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Sanctuary Hotel.

I am glad that you were able to try our both our bar lounge as well as our Spresso Cafe. Many guests such as yourself, also enjoy the variety of items that we try and provide for our complimentary breakfast.

We hope to see you back soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,547
    1,058
    236
    68
    25
See reviews for
611
2,019
141
395
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (771)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Sanctuary for 5 nights at the end of April to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary based on all the positive reviews on Trip Advisor.

Booked through a travel agent who had it 'new' on their books this year, I emailed Mr Jeremy Poon the Sanctuary Manager to plan some trips when we were there and he offered to upgrade our room free of charge in recognition of our anniversary, before we travelled we exchanged a few more emails all which were answered promptly.

From the moment we arrived the staff couldn't do enough for us from the Manager taking personal interest in our stay and going out of his way to catch up with us whenever he could, the STAR Managers Jacob and Brandon were exceptional in meeting all our requests and the bartenders Rudy and Patty making us feel welcome and ensuring that our glasses never ran dry.

The high point of our trip - besides NYC - was when the Manager Mr Poon upgraded our room to the hotels only Suite (or Sweet) room 901-2 for 4 out of our 5 night stay. What can I say, it was at the front of the hotel on the 9th floor made of two rooms with sliding partition doors separating the large bedroom from the large lounge area, both rooms had flat screen TVs and two separate toilets, a walk in rain shower in the bedroom and in the lounge a Bose surround sound system with multi CD changer and Blu Ray player.

The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in and every afternoon when we got back in the bed was turned down and there was a card left for us telling us what the weather was going to be the next day - a lovely touch.

All in all the holiday was made by the quality of service given by the hotel, if I had one regret it was that we missed the opening of the roof top bar by 2 days - in New York any outdoor space is a premium and this will be a big draw for the hotel.

Would we go back? - Yes

Would we recommend it? - Yes

What was the best part? - The helpful and professional staff

Who would I single out for a mention? - Rudy and Brandon, both worthy of the name STARs

Room Tip: Check before you go if an upgrade is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Newbie57B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Thank you for sharing such a fantastic review about us on tripadvisor.

Knowing that you and your wife had such a wonderful experience is the biggest compliment that we can receive. I was happy to have the opportunity to meet with the both of you and truly appreciate the feedback that you gave our team.

Brandon and Jacob will be delighted to read your comments in regards to the service that they provide.

We hope to see your return soon so that you can experience "Haven" our rooftop lounge at the Sanctuary during your next visit.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We stayed two nights here, and it was great, Perfect, perfect Time Square location, great service, they even have door men... The bar tender Rudy, added the finishing touches to our NY experience, We would now call him our friend from brooklyn! The true boutique Hotel experience.. Rob Popham

Room Tip: The rooms are on the smaller side, ( but it is NYC) But perfect perfect size for a couple in love...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Rudy will be excited to read about your comments!

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we hope to see you back soon.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

A friend and I stayed at this hotel for four nights this past month. Overall, the experience was good and I would stay at the hotel again.

The location of the hotel is excellent - about a block from Times Square and easy walking distance to other attractions, such as Rockefeller Centre, Central Park, and the Empire State Building. If you like walking, you can also walk to the Met or Museum of Natural History in about half an hour.

Our room had two double beds in it. I have to say the bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept in - even more so than my bed at home. The room itself was very nice...although the only window looked at a brick wall, so the room was pretty dark. It was on the small side, but we were okay with that. There was a big flatscreen t.v. The bathroom was also very nice, with a great rainfall shower. We were right next to the elevator and didn't have any problems with noise from it...however, on the first night there, we could hear the bass from the music playing downstairs and that was a little annoying.

The room also had some sort of air unit that was loud and kept on blowing cold air onto us. No matter how much we fiddled with the temperature control in the room we couldn't get it to stop.

The continental breakfast is not very good...the food selection is limited and the coffee was terrible. We only ate it our first morning there and then the rest of the trip ate elsewhere. Also, other than the breakfast, there is no food service at all at the hotel (unless you count the minibar in the rooms).

The one big problem with our stay came when I needed to get a cab downtown. I asked the doorman at the hotel to get me one and a few minutes later he directed me to a towncar. I didn't think much of it until I got downtown and asked how much the ride was...the driver asked me what the hotel told me it would be and I said they didn't tell me anything. The driver then told me that it would be $30. I was shocked because I knew it shouldn't be that much (especially since he'd managed to get lost going downtown)...but didn't have time to argue so just paid. My concern I was overcharged was vindicated when the ride back to the hotel in a taxi cost $12. I went to complain to the front desk about what happened earlier...but the employee seemed indifferent and my request to speak to a manager went unheeded.

Other than that problem, I'd recommend the hotel to anyone...but if the hotel arranges transportation, make sure you specify that you either want a yellow cab or, if you're getting a town car, make sure you know before getting in how much you'll be charged.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WanderlustTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review about your time with us.

I'm happy that you enjoyed your overall stay, however I would like to apologize for the few challenges that you faced. Rest assured that we have already looked into the temperature control system and made the necessary adjustments.

Many reviewers have enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and I'm sorry that it did not fit your needs. We try and provide a variety of pastries, and beverage options, along with cereal and hard boiled eggs (which are always a hit). We appreciate the feedback and will always look into options of providing more.

In regards to your towncar transportation, I'd like to apologize if our staff member was not clear in providing the pricing for you. These fares are determined by the towncar services and not by the hotel. There are certain hours of the day, where our doorman know that hailing a taxi is a great challenge. Since taxi cabs can not be called upon request in NYC, one option is to hail one of the towncar services that might happen to have dropped off a guest to the hotel. Private car services are usually more in terms of pricing when compared to yellow taxi cabs.

However, I am truly sorry that this was not made clear to you and I will surely address my management team in terms of their response efforts.

We appreciate the fact that you would still recommend the Sanctuary Hotel, despite the few hiccups. Should your travels bring you back to NYC, please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will personally make sure that your next experience will be wonderful.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed at the Sanctuary Hotel for 6 nights recently. This was our first trip to New York and one of the best holidays we have ever had. The hotel is beautiful, clean and in a fantastic location. The staff were attentive and so friendly. We spent each evening when we arrived back in the hotel bar with the most charming young man named Rudy. Perfection all round!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank highashes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

I'm happy to know that you enjoyed your 6-night stay with us. Knowing that this experience with us is one of the best holidays you even had, motivates us to do even better.

We hope that you will think of the Sanctuary Hotel, the next time you plan a trip for the holidays.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#51 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,136 reviews
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#21 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,665 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,371 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#80 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Property: Sanctuary Hotel New York
Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036-1502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 16,276 - ₹ 35,329
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanctuary Hotel New York is a boutique luxury lifestyle design hotel conveniently located in Midtown Manhattan Theater District near Times Square and Rockefeller Center. A walking distance to Radio City Music Hall, Fifth Avenue Shopping, Bryant Park, Broadway, Columbus Circle, Central Park and major subway lines. A hidden gem with very own S.T.A.R.™ Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Our S.T.A.R.™ Experienced Concierge Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater tickets, and anything else that your heart may desire. The hotel boasts 113 luxurious rooms decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamor, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Sanctuary Hotel offers: • Free Continental Breakfast Buffet • Free Wi-Fi internet access • Free Gym passes to Equinox Fitness Center nearby • Free local and toll-free calls • Concierge and business services TENDER SPORTS BAR: The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. A polished brass bar anchors the lounge with walnut beaded chandeliers and wood panels, while vintage Parisian table lamps sit atop the silver veined stone top. TENDER STEAK & Sushi Bar and PRIVATE DINING ROOM The chic & Intimate Tender Lounge is ideal for enjoying hand-crafted cocktails in a glamorous and eclectic ambiance created by acclaimed designer Josh Held. Long banquettes with bright turquoise tufted leather line both sides of the lounge and sit against hand-applied murals over original brick walls. HAVEN ROOFTOP LOUNGE AND RESTAURANT – OPEN ALL YEAR ROUND Haven is nothing short of a hot hideaway above the city. The venues feature a French inspired menu created by Chef Madison Belem and an innovative cocktail menu created by mixologist Isaac Grillo. The year-round rooftop transforms its design with each season with the view of Midtown Manhattan Skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing