We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A Nice Stay with a Couple of Problems...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanctuary Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Ranked #56 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Nice Stay with a Couple of Problems...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

A friend and I stayed at this hotel for four nights this past month. Overall, the experience was good and I would stay at the hotel again.

The location of the hotel is excellent - about a block from Times Square and easy walking distance to other attractions, such as Rockefeller Centre, Central Park, and the Empire State Building. If you like walking, you can also walk to the Met or Museum of Natural History in about half an hour.

Our room had two double beds in it. I have to say the bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept in - even more so than my bed at home. The room itself was very nice...although the only window looked at a brick wall, so the room was pretty dark. It was on the small side, but we were okay with that. There was a big flatscreen t.v. The bathroom was also very nice, with a great rainfall shower. We were right next to the elevator and didn't have any problems with noise from it...however, on the first night there, we could hear the bass from the music playing downstairs and that was a little annoying.

The room also had some sort of air unit that was loud and kept on blowing cold air onto us. No matter how much we fiddled with the temperature control in the room we couldn't get it to stop.

The continental breakfast is not very good...the food selection is limited and the coffee was terrible. We only ate it our first morning there and then the rest of the trip ate elsewhere. Also, other than the breakfast, there is no food service at all at the hotel (unless you count the minibar in the rooms).

The one big problem with our stay came when I needed to get a cab downtown. I asked the doorman at the hotel to get me one and a few minutes later he directed me to a towncar. I didn't think much of it until I got downtown and asked how much the ride was...the driver asked me what the hotel told me it would be and I said they didn't tell me anything. The driver then told me that it would be $30. I was shocked because I knew it shouldn't be that much (especially since he'd managed to get lost going downtown)...but didn't have time to argue so just paid. My concern I was overcharged was vindicated when the ride back to the hotel in a taxi cost $12. I went to complain to the front desk about what happened earlier...but the employee seemed indifferent and my request to speak to a manager went unheeded.

Other than that problem, I'd recommend the hotel to anyone...but if the hotel arranges transportation, make sure you specify that you either want a yellow cab or, if you're getting a town car, make sure you know before getting in how much you'll be charged.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WanderlustTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review about your time with us.

I'm happy that you enjoyed your overall stay, however I would like to apologize for the few challenges that you faced. Rest assured that we have already looked into the temperature control system and made the necessary adjustments.

Many reviewers have enjoyed our complimentary breakfast and I'm sorry that it did not fit your needs. We try and provide a variety of pastries, and beverage options, along with cereal and hard boiled eggs (which are always a hit). We appreciate the feedback and will always look into options of providing more.

In regards to your towncar transportation, I'd like to apologize if our staff member was not clear in providing the pricing for you. These fares are determined by the towncar services and not by the hotel. There are certain hours of the day, where our doorman know that hailing a taxi is a great challenge. Since taxi cabs can not be called upon request in NYC, one option is to hail one of the towncar services that might happen to have dropped off a guest to the hotel. Private car services are usually more in terms of pricing when compared to yellow taxi cabs.

However, I am truly sorry that this was not made clear to you and I will surely address my management team in terms of their response efforts.

We appreciate the fact that you would still recommend the Sanctuary Hotel, despite the few hiccups. Should your travels bring you back to NYC, please do not hesitate to contact me directly and I will personally make sure that your next experience will be wonderful.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,814 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,481
    1,025
    222
    64
    22
See reviews for
597
1,952
134
382
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (759)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed at the Sanctuary Hotel for 6 nights recently. This was our first trip to New York and one of the best holidays we have ever had. The hotel is beautiful, clean and in a fantastic location. The staff were attentive and so friendly. We spent each evening when we arrived back in the hotel bar with the most charming young man named Rudy. Perfection all round!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank highashes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

I'm happy to know that you enjoyed your 6-night stay with us. Knowing that this experience with us is one of the best holidays you even had, motivates us to do even better.

We hope that you will think of the Sanctuary Hotel, the next time you plan a trip for the holidays.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beachwood, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We just returned from a fantastic 3 night stay at the Sanctuary Hotel! I hadn't been to New York in quite some time, I traveled with my husband and our 8 year old son. We booked 2 rooms, 1 for us and 1 for another son and daughter in law meeting us from CT. We were all very happy with the room size and amenities! We were close to everything, walked mostly everywhere! The Sanctuary team of employees are the best! Everyone flocked to help at every moment! They were knowledgable with dining options/reservations, shows, shopping, directions, etc... Our 8 year old made a new best friend with Freddie one of the S.T.A.R. managers! Freddie gave us many ideas on "secret" points of interests to entertain Jonah. Jimmy the concierge was definitely helpful with hooking us in to the Sanctuary...he answered many phone calls from my husband who had many questions and Jimmy was always pleasant and helpful! We loved the atmosphere of the building, it kept us relaxed at the times we had to rest. The breakfast was a perfect way to start the day! Can't Thank you enough, we'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us.

We are happy to hear that your entire family enjoyed your time with us and especially with your your son Jonah having a connection with Freddie.

Our S.T.A.R. team really focuses on providing everyone with a unique stay and an experience that is unforgettable.

Jimmy will also be pleased to read about your comments.

We hope to have you all back soon.

Warm Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linz, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We spent the days around New years Eve in N.Y. Sanctuary Hotel is.familiar and luxury. About 50 m away from Times Square we were right in the center, close to the major Subway Lines and in the middle of the theater district. The Service is friendly, helpful and is able to provide you with every information necessary for discovering N.Y.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aknierzinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
Hearing from a guest that they felt the Sanctuary was the "best place to stay in Manhattan" is one of the best compliments a guest could give.

We're glad you enjoyed your visit to the Sanctuary Hotel and hope that your next experience will be even better.

Best Regards,

Jeremy Poon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pullman, WA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We spent two nights at The Sanctuary Hotel, just one block east of the Times Square. It is inconspicuous but right in the middle of everything. The staff were incredible from the moment our taxi pulled up. The maitre d'/concierge had us in stitches the whole time - what a fun and friendly man! The entire staff was very attentive, helpful and friendly. Our room on the 6th floor overlooking 47th Street was small but we had plenty of room for our 5 large pieces of luggage (we'd just come off of a 17-day cruise) plus the two of us. Everything throughout the hotel and in our room was very clean and the beds and shower were fantastically comfortable. The lighting in the hotel is quite dark, but this is likely because they are truly working on being a "sanctuary" amidst the hustle and bustle of midtown Manhattan - and they succeed at that. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for quiet time and an extremely convenient, central location.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sundance-aroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeremyPoon, General Manager at Sanctuary Hotel New York, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us.

We are happy to hear that your entire family enjoyed your time with us and especially with your your son Jonah having a connection with Freddie.

Our S.T.A.R. team really focuses on providing everyone with a unique stay and an experience that is unforgettable.

Jimmy will also be pleased to read about your comments.

We hope to have you all back soon.

Warm Regards,

Jeremy Poon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
#48 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,037 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#14 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square
Hyatt Centric Times Square
#49 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
citizenM New York Times Square
citizenM New York Times Square
#22 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,379 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#35 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,106 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanctuary Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanctuary Hotel New York

Property: Sanctuary Hotel New York
Address: 132 West 47th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,059 - ₹ 30,096
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sanctuary Hotel New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sanctuary Hotel New York is located in the heart of midtown and steps away Times Square. This discrete boutique hotel offers highly personalized service with Sanctuary’s very own S.T.A.R.™ Program (Service Tailored to Any Request). Luxurious rooms are decorated with a rich warm palette that includes deep orange, chocolate brown and cognac. Leather headboards and crystal chandeliers add a touch of glamour, with pillow-top mattresses that compliment imported European sheets, duvets and terry. Each room includes iHome stereo systems that supports iPod, iPhone and iPad, HDTVs complete with premium movies, and Eco-friendly organic bath amenities. Sanctuary Hotel features a fireplace-adorned lobby with an energetic bar lounge offering signature cocktails. The hotel provides • Free Continental-style breakfast buffet• Free Wi-Fi• Free access to Equinox gym. S.T.A.R.™ Experience Managers are available to assist you with transportation services, restaurant reservations, theater and event tickets, to spa appointments or anything else that your heart may desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Sanctuary Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing