We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great value and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New York Marriott Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
New York Marriott Downtown
Ranked #194 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Oviedo,FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed at the Marriott Downtown for 4 nights and had a great experience. The staff was kind and helpful; the room clean and comfortable. This hotel is much nicer than anything in midtown for the $$. We will definitely stay here again. The only disappointment was having to pay $12.95 daily for Wi-fi , as most hotels offer this gratis.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    686
    720
    214
    57
    31
See reviews for
456
366
91
431
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beverly, Mass.
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

This hotel is actually a decent value in lower Manhattan. The check-in process, bellboys, concierge and other employees were helpful and attentive.
If you take a cab from in front of this hotel - be careful. There's a chance they will take you a slightly longer route. We took the same trip three times and were charged $9, $12 and $14.
My one HUGE pet peeve - it was $12 a day for Internet in the room. Luckily I have a company-issued aircard, but I would prefer to use the wifi.
For Manhattan, the rooms are actually quite large. Plenty of room.
We were there on a weekend and actually found the neighborhood rather empty. It is so far in lower Manhattan that there isn't a ton going on in the area on weekends. It is right next to the Sept. 11 memorial site, if you want to see that. And it is a block or two walk from the Hudson River and some beautiful waterfront areas and walking/biking paths along the water. But there's not a lot of dining/shopping or bar options nearby. There are subway stops fro most of the major train line within a 5 minute walk, though, and you can get a cab at the front door with almost no wait.

Room Tip: we had a slight view through two buildings to the Hudson River from the 10th floor - room 1010. If y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soxskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

This hotel cannot be faulted at all.
Reception, housekeeping, concierge, restaurant staff, food, drink and rooms were TOP class.
Every request was dealt with perfectly and can honestly say this is the best New York hotel we have ever stayed in - cannot wait to return.
It is brilliantly situated for Ground Zero and the Financial District but the metro system is easy to use so has an easy route back from theatres in the evening.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markstradling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed two nights at the Marriott Downtown for my sister's bachelorette party. Although this isn't the most convenient hotel I've ever stayed at in NYC since its Downtown not Midtown, for the price difference--it was almost $100 less per room per night--it was worth it to take the subway! $100 is a lot of $2.25 trips on the subway! The rooms were super clean--to the point that there was a card on the floor under the bed that said "yes, we clean under here too!"--the beds were comfortable, bathrooms nice, and the staff were friendly and helpful. It was annoying that the internet wasn't free, but we did without.

We were upgraded to the 28th floor when we checked in and said we were celebrating, so don't forget to ask for a nice view! All in all, an excellent stay, and a hotel I will visit again in NYC.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bachaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed in the Marriott from 10th-14th May 2012. We were very pleased when we arrived, lovely foyer,bellboys and very pleasant staff. We were given a room on 11th floor and I asked if we could get a room higher up so we could have a good view. The guy fiddled with the computer and offered us a junior suite on 10th floor at an extra cost of 100$ per night! Not what we were looking for. He said if we came back in the morning,he would hold out our reservation and see what he could do.Come back at 11.00am he said! ( I did say to my husband in the lift that he had forgotten the "Tip" !) When we went to see him in the morning (after hanging around for 2 hours)he didn't remember us and left another young lady to look after us as he walked away yawning! We did not get an upgrade and told the young lady not to worry as our room was lovely.
Yes, the room was lovely,the bed was comfy with proper excellent pillows. Bathroom great with a proper hairdryer. Tea/Coffee making facilities which was great.
We got breakfast included with our booking( there was also another breakfast which you could order) It was fantastic. Fresh fruit, delicious yoghurts, porridge with honey and cream. All sorts of cooked breakie which my husband loved ,various breads,toast and orange juice(the real stuff!)Coffee and Tea.............Set you up for the day!
I would highly recommend this hotel and the girl who booked me a hair appointment and got us the tickets for the bus tour was just wonderful.Couldnt't do enough for us. You are just about 5 minutes from where all the buses/ferries to Statin Is/Statue of Liberty etc leave from and it's a beautiful area. Subways are a couple of minutes away.
Only downside is that you have to travel back up in to midtown if you want to go in to town at night but definitely worth doing as you are in a quiet, peaceful, safe area.
Can't wait to return

Room Tip: Don't know about pool or spas as we were doing more sightseeing and anyway I'm not a spa lad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tenerifegirl1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#240 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Financial District
Courtyard New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Courtyard New York Downtown Manh...
#387 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#61 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Financial District
World Center Hotel
World Center Hotel
#92 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#214 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Downtown

Property: New York Marriott Downtown
Address: 85 West Street, at Albany Street, New York City, NY 10006
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#122 Business Hotel in New York City
#135 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#153 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#176 Family Hotel in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,560 - ₹ 31,924
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ensconced in polished stone in a contemporary design, the lobby of our downtown Manhattan hotel is simply breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your New York Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Downtown Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing