We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Enough”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New York Marriott Downtown
Ranked #194 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2012

My room, unlike a fellow reviewer's, did have curtains to block out the light. It was a nice Marriott room. The maid on the first day laid out all of my toiletries nicely, and I appreciated that. Other than check-in, I had no contact with any of the staff in the lobby for my five day stay. I had asked for a room away from the Memorial and got it, so it was nice and quiet. No complaints!

Room Tip: Ask to stay away from the 9/11 Memorial and associated construction noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guyinca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,853)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,142 - 1,146 of 1,853 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

Nothing wrong with this Marriott. Standard. I slept like a baby. v close to 9/11 memorial, Century 21. closest subway is Rector Street (1,2,or 3 line), Chambers street not far. I want to say a special thanks to Kevin at the front desk for sending up chocolate covered strawberries and water after he learned of a difficult and frustrating taxi ride to the hotel.
You can close the curtains and block out light. it is past the sheer curtain. You have to look.
Note: no hotel taxi/mini van service to JFK.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HMBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

On business for a few days, great location. A long haul from LGA, next time will fly into Newark. Staff was not really all that nice (but it's New York....) so considering the location, I did get good service (but no smiles). I ran into a cab drive I had met before, and he agreed to come get me the following day; the bell captain was VERY cool in allowing my Taxi to hold curbside while I checked-out...he did not have to do that since there is always a huge taxi line. The property is just a few yards from the 911 memorial visitors entry, so the taxi line for the hotel can get pretty long at times. I will stay here again when in the financial district.

Room Tip: Views of East River has peaks at Statue of Liberty & Ellis Island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BienVago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

The Marriott Downtown is everything you would expect of an NYC Marriott. It's large, clean, without character, and the service is OK, but not great. Although booked off Priceline, my room was larger than one would expect for an NYC room. The view was nothing special (nothing compared to some of the stunning views of the 9/11 memorial at the nearby Millenium Hilton).

The location is really dependent on what you're looking to do. If you're working in the area, the location's fine. If you want to be mobbed by sweaty tourists outside trying to see the nearby 9/11 memorial, it's good for that as well. Otherwise, the Financial District is somewhat limited. That said, there's nearby subway access, and it's not that far to walk to greener pastures in TriBeCa and even the West Village.

Service, as is often the case for Marriotts, was the weak point here. There is no one to open the hotel doors, which makes simply entering the hotel tricky of you have two large suitcases (I know, I'm an idiot). The front desk is overstaffed, but moves glacially. When I ordered food delivery, the delivery man was not permitted to come upstairs, despite there being absolutely no security measures on the elevators, which meant that absolutely anyone could have gone up. Finally, when leaving my bags in the lobby before heading out to brunch, I had to wait over 5 minutes for bell staff to show up. The front desk staff, who were entirely unoccupied, watched as a line formed behind me. Rather than do anything to remedy the situation, they told me someone would be there momentarily (not true), and giggled.

Would I come back? Yes, if the price is right. Would I pay a standard rate? No.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ItinerantNewYorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

I stayed in NY at the downtown Marriott for a week for a work trip. I had a couple of choices about where to stay and chose the Marriott because I've enjoyed their properties elsewhere. I felt envious of colleagues who stayed nearby, as my experience in NY was a total letdown and nothing like I am used to from the brand.
It would be fair to say the approach to staffing and service is 'minimalist' here - there are not a lot of people to help with anything and the lobby lead me to believe the place was a bit tired and careworn. I was given free Wireless access because I am a Marriott Elite member, but it has been spotty at best and non-existent at other times. The coverage keeps dropping out and I could not log on to my laptop one evening at all, which meant I could not work.
The room is a very generous size for NY and the decor is fine, but inexpensive looking. I have struggled a bit with the fact that there are no curtains or blinds to pull at night - fabulous for resetting your circadian rhythms to help with jetlag, but not so good for actually getting to sleep with the light from the building next door shining in my face.
The bathrooms are largish and just ok, but the showerhead in the shower-over-bath hits me at mid-chest height and makes washing my hair a challenge. The hot water has been spotty and 2-3 times I had a cold shower, which was challening in the changable spring temperature.
My room is right by the lift, which means I get to share in the conversations happening outside my door as other guests arrive back at their rooms at varying times through the night.
The other facilities are fine, but the closet is extremely small and I struggled to hang a weeks worth of clothes. The towels are somewhat threadbare, but changed daily and the bed was very comfortable.
The hotel is very close to subways and the World Trade Memorial, plus Century 21 department store, if you're interested in these things.
Overall this seemed like a budget experience and not what I've come to expect from the Marriott brand and certainly not worth the price my company is being charged. I'll stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Financial District
Courtyard New York Downtown Manhattan / World Trade Center Area
Courtyard New York Downtown Manh...
#167 of 469 in New York City
270 reviews
Financial District
W New York - Downtown
W New York - Downtown
#238 of 469 in New York City
1,179 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade Center
Club Quarters Hotel, World Trade...
#105 of 469 in New York City
1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Residence Inn New York Downtown Manhattan/World Trade Center Area
Residence Inn New York Downtown ...
#71 of 469 in New York City
666 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financial District
Holiday Inn Manhattan - Financia...
#226 of 469 in New York City
1,308 reviews
Financial District
Millennium Hilton New York Downtown
Millennium Hilton New York Downt...
#218 of 469 in New York City
4,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New York Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New York Marriott Downtown

Address: 85 West St, at Albany Street, New York City, NY 10006-1532
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#118 Business Hotel in New York City
#141 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#149 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#171 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: ₹ 11,532 - ₹ 37,592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New York Marriott Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 513
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our downtown hotel, features excellent location near Wall Street and Battery Park. Enjoy the elegance and contemporary design of the hotel, simply breathtaking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your New York Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New York Marriott Downtown Hotel New York City
Marriott New York City
New York City Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing