We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place for a school reunion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
NH New York Jolly Madison Towers
Ranked #385 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a school reunion”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

In Mid- May, I attended my 50th nursing school reunion. Group rate was obtained for many of our classmates. Room was comfortable but dated. I did not have one of the renovated rooms which were modern with lovely bathrooms. My room faced the street and night time noise was enough to keep us awake. Room was clean and service was excellent. We had a problem with the drain in the tub. This was dealt with immediately by a friendly, helpful and attentive msintenance man. Desk staff were friendly and helpful. The facilities for our evening reception were more than adequate. Room rates were quite good for NYC.

Room Tip: Ask for renovated room on high floor off of the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spengle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    924
    783
    336
    224
See reviews for
325
1,310
121
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Given the reviews, I had serious hesitations about this hotel. But I found it to be a terrific value - we paid less than we would have to stay in a private room in some of the city's hostels. We were on floor 16, which seems to have been renovated, so maybe that's why (I saw some hideous green carpet on other floors). The rooms are modern and - for New York - spacious. The staff was very friendly and helpful. It's also in a great location. Very central to Grand Central, Times Square, etc while being in an immediate area that feels more residential and less chaotic than more tourist-oriented parts of the city. The bed felt a bit like a rock though so that could be a problem for more long-term stays.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mo_virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

If thread bear and raveling towels, card keys which don't work, forgetting to leave a bath mat, air conditioning hard to adjust, a broken ice machine, no mini-refrigerator, no working electrical outlets in the bathroom, stained carpet and lack of a flat screen TV are not things which will make staying here unpleasant for you, then it is decent shelter. The front desk unhesitatingly dispensed incorrect information which wasted some of my vacation hours but it's relatively clean, quiet, my bed was a comfortable double king, there was a pricey but tasty diner near by on Madison, and it was a great location. The staff seemed efficient enough. They need to advertise their best services like a airport car and late Sunday check-outs.
This is not an terrible hotel. I like to relax after a day on the go. There are no creature comforts here but the location makes up somewhat. I liked Thirty-Thirty, which is nearby and cost about the same, better but the Jolly isn't too far off the mark.
The Hotel is for sale and is the only NH group hotel in the U.S. I hope the new management finishes the planned upgrades and makes a few changes, listed earlier, for the better.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArtPawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I gave it a very good vs average bc the beds were soooo comfortable. Better than my brand new mattress at home and the AC was fantastic. The bathroom remodel looked fairly new. The bedroom decor was a bit dated. The front desk staff was nice and helpful. This is the only one of the Jolly hotels in America (Italian based chain) so I think we were the only Americans there! :) We didn't eat in the hotel (it's NYC- too much great food out there). Hotel location was good- walking distance to Grand Central and Herald Square. Stayed four nights.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xtine16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

The hotel is really central, so it's good for a short stay to visit New York. I've stayed here 3 times now and am really thinking about changing hotels for my next visit.

What I like is that the rooms and bathrooms are modern, you have a flatscreen, a hairdryer, a tea-cooker (but do bring your own instant coffee, the Folgers stuff they offer is hideous), in some rooms I was able to open the refrigerator (in others not). When there is a problem the staff does try to help. The doormen and luggage room people are absolutely lovely, also the repairman (one time my airco was broken and I needed to change rooms, which happened quickly and efficiently). The breakfast is ok (apart from the long lines at 8:30 and the fact that the tomatoes are "only for decoration) -- not enough healthy stuff for my taste. Lots of sugary pastries if you like those.

What I don't like: the rooms are only superficially clean. Do not look under the beds or under the desks. Other surfaces still have fingerprints and greasy residue from previous users of the room. The first time I was here was in March -- now it is June. The elevators have not been working properly ever since. I waited for 10 minutes one morning. Try to get a room high up, I think the lines to the elevator are shorter there. The whole hotel is very loud: bring your earplugs! If you take rooms 54-57 you will have a lot of street noise, best noise wise is probably 52-58. 50 and 51 are directly near the elevator so you will hear the elevator at night. The hotel is frequented by Italian travel groups and most of them have not heard about keeping your voices down in a hotel hallway ... the airconditioning is also very loud (for European standards) but efficient. The whole hotel is in a bit of disrepair: things falling off of lamps, furniture with bumps and chips, stains on the carpet and walls, dangerously dangling sockets under the bed. I think it has seen its day.

I don't know if I'd recommend it because I don't know what other hotels in this price range look like in New York, maybe it comes with the territory. If you are really picky about cleanliness, you will proabably not want to go here.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KirstenDierolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#196 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#354 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#302 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#225 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,777 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#188 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,228 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue
Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue
#282 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH New York Jolly Madison Towers? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH New York Jolly Madison Towers

Property: NH New York Jolly Madison Towers
Address: 22 E 38th St, Midtown, New York City, NY 10016-2502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #385 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,980 - ₹ 21,450
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NH New York Jolly Madison Towers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of New York City, the NH New York Jolly Madison Towers combines Italian-inspired elegance with art deco charm and an array of modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH New York Jolly Madison Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly Hotel Nyc
Hotel Jolly Madison New York
Jolly Hotel Madison Towers
Jolly Madison New York
Jolly Hotel New York
Jolly Madison Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing