We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First timers to New York”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
NH New York Jolly Madison Towers
Ranked #380 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Racine, WI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First timers to New York”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

This was our first time in New York so it really is hard to compare the Jolly Madison Towers with any other hotel. We were in town for our 20 year anniversary, a special time and I booked the Deluxe room which was just beautiful in pictures on line and was to also have a view of the Empire State Building. When we got into the room is was far from what the pictures viewed as deluxe and the view was of a brick building. Our room was changed when requested but still far from what they advertise as deluxe on the web site. The room was clean but in real need of updating. The concierge was very friendly and most helpful in helping us back to the airport on check out day. This hotel did have perfect location and in walking distance to so much! Considering it is New York, I would say the price is fare and would consider staying here in the future, not so sure if I would recommend it to others though.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurieRacine_WI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    918
    771
    335
    220
See reviews for
319
1,294
120
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I am pretty familiar with hotels in NYC having been in the city many times on business and pleasure. I stayed at the Jolly Hotel Madison Towers three or four years back, but on returnng recently I found the rooms to have become slightly drap and dreary and in need of a bit of a makeover. Carpets and furnishings generally looked as if they had seen better days and the bed looked and felt liked it could do with a new mattress. I was there in January this time, it was cold and snowing but the in-room heating was very inconsistent and a bit of a mystery. The hotel does not offer free wi-fi which I do find astonishing in a NY hotel in 2012 - surely people expect this and how much would it cost to provide.

On the positive side, the Jolly Hotel Madison Towers does always seem to offer relatively good value (hard to find in this city) and the location is excellent. Oh, and special mention to the concierge who seemed to be on duty for most of my stay (sorry I didn't take a note of his name) and who was friendly and especially helpful in advising me on a rush hour journey back to JFK.

In summary, a good hotel but not as good as I remember - and it really wouldn't take much to bring it back up to standard.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelnut113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Enjoyed a four night family break in New York staying at this hotel. Got an excellent price through LastMinute.com and, like others, arrived with mixed feelings following the very mixed reviews.
Thoroughly enjoyed the stay. The hotel is quite central, although away from the 'city-tour' bus stops, but on the right side of Manhattan for JFK airport. Our rooms on 11th floor were of reasonable size with excellent bathrooms, good storage, individual room cooling / heating (very noisy) TV and mini-bar. We all felt that an in-room safe would be much more useful.
The rooms were in good decorative order, as were the hallways.
As with other contributors, we used the Moonstruck Diner across the road for breakfast. Excellent food, large quantities and free-flowing coffee at very reasonable prices.
Final tip. Happy hour in hotel's bar from 5pm to 7pm every evening!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KRBLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset12
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

Hae just arrived back from New York and the Jolly Madison Towers . I was a single traveller first timd have to the states, and having read some previous reviews i was apprehensive. However being an ex holiday rep. I went there with an open mind. To sum it all up I HAD THE MOST AMAZING TIME !!! :)) The staff were FANTASTIC ,HELPFULL & FRIENDLY !! My room was a little ols but VERY CLEAN , with a fab bathroon . I had seen other reviews and took there advice re Food its far cheaper to eat out. Moonstruck diner just across the street open 6am till 1 am. Mulligans Irish bar on Madison ave 1 min walk was great to even going in there alone the staff were and locals were helpfull and freindly, also pub lunch was great. Had done so much in 4 days i found the grey line hop on and off buses and tours great. Times square only 15 min walk. The Jolly Madison Towers has a great location as not to noisey at night compared to staying in Times square. Looking forward to returning hopefully 2014 :))

Room Tip: Dont pack a hairdryer or travel iron they supply they supply this also free safes. Mini bar expensiv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tractor12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Málaga, Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2012

We´ve just spent six days here and feel the hotel is good value. OK, it´s not five star, and could probably do with a bit of updating, but our bedroom was a good size (fourth floor so a bit noisy but it´s amazing how quickly you get used to the traffic!) with three windows, a view of the Empire State (when the mist lifted!) and 5th Ave junction. The bathroom had been updated and it had a good shower. Fresh towels every day, and the linen was clean and crisp. It´s a great location though, and easy to walk everywhere (which we did!) Staff are not over-friendly, it´s true, but are helpful and efficient when asked. If you want a mini bar, check when you arrive. They don´t provide them in every room, apparently. Well, there was one in our room, but there wasn´t a key that fitted. But the deli next door is great and supplies almost everything you need. We used Moonstruck for a few meals - it´s across the road so convenient and open long hours - and the food was quite good. French restaurant down the road is expensive we found, and don´t bother with the Italian fast-food next door. Lasagne was terrible, although we were the last customers that evening. Make sure you pre-book Ground Zero Memorial Garden - it´s fantastic - and also you MUST go to the Museum Workshop in the Meatpacking District. Take some tissues. It´s extremely emotional. All in all a great trip, but generally more expensive than we had been led to believe.

Room Tip: We were on the corner on the fourth and therefore the room was quite bright. It seemed very noisy w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#199 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Midtown
Mayfair Hotel
Mayfair Hotel
#356 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Upper West Side
Belnord Hotel
Belnord Hotel
#301 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#223 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,735 reviews
Midtown
Pod 39 Hotel
Pod 39 Hotel
#185 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,197 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue
Hotel 373 Fifth Avenue
#291 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH New York Jolly Madison Towers? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH New York Jolly Madison Towers

Property: NH New York Jolly Madison Towers
Address: 22 E 38th St, Midtown, New York City, NY 10016-2502
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #380 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,149 - ₹ 20,621
Hotel Class:3.5 star — NH New York Jolly Madison Towers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of New York City, the NH New York Jolly Madison Towers combines Italian-inspired elegance with art deco charm and an array of modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH New York Jolly Madison Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jolly Madison New York
Jolly Hotel Nyc
Jolly Hotel Madison Towers
Jolly Madison New York
Jolly Hotel New York
Jolly Madison Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing